We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but LOTS to do”

Children's Museum of South Carolina
Ranked #51 of 118 things to do in Myrtle Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive exhibits and programs where visitors can touch, explore, and play while learning about their world. Located directly across from the Myrtle Beach Convention Center in the same building as Office Depot.Admission is $8/person, children ages 1 and younger are FREE
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small but LOTS to do”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't let the tiny look building turn you away. There is so much to do for your $8! It's small, well kept, lots of the activities look like they were made by hand. I loved it.

We went on a very rainy day and it was CROWDED. But there are so many stations that we were never at a loss for something to do.

My kids' favorite activities were the big lite brite, craft room, and big felt board. My husband loved the hurricane simulator which fits up to 4 people for a $2 "ride".

I highly recommend leaving the stroller in the car. Not much room for it. Also, if you can help it, don't go on a rainy day! I wish we could have done every activity, We will definitely go back next time we visit.

The gift shop is really just a corner at the front of the museum. It's probably the most reasonable gift shop you'll ever be in. Small trinkets for as low as $.50, museum magnets for $2.50-ish, water bottles, drink coozies, that kind of thing. No $30 stuffed animals or junkie jewelry to distract the kids!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KJFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    63
    40
    18
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great deal if you buy a membership”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Grandparents live in MB so we bought a family membership. Gets us in free here and at a whole network of other kids' museums. They also have a lot of local events with discounts.
Been several times over a few yrs with kids aged 1-7. Best suited for ages 2-5. Some exhibits getting worn out. Love the travelling exhibits. $2 hurricane is awesome. Free science activities at 11 each day, but only suited to ages 2-4. Should provide 1-2 hours of entertainment.

Helpful?
1 Thank virginiatravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Diversion”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We found this to be a very appropriate and entertaining side trip for our three year old, especially on rainy days. They have lots of interactive exhibits for young children, including a huge Lite-Brite type display, a circuit builder, play fossil excavation, a bubble station, and tons more things. We spent over an hour in there and my son was thoroughly entertained. Good entertainment for small children and even some immature adults like us :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
“Best Day in Myrtle Beach”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was one of the best days we had in Myrtle Beach. It was raining on the day we went but we had planned to visit the museum anyhow so it was an extra bonus. After spending 2 1/2 hrs here with our 2 year old. We will definitely put this on a must do every year.

From the outside it doesn't look like much but when you get inside it is a HUGE facility.
Very very clean. So much do to for children age 1-12. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Had a great time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best bargain in Myrtle Beach!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

All of our grandchildren LOVED this place. They made tee-shirts for $5 and panned for treasures. They stood inside a giant soap bubble and played dentist! The only downside is trying to keep track of more thatn one child...there is too much to do!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cjval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of South Carolina also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Children's Museum of South Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing