We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is WOW!!”

Big Mike's Soul Food
Ranked #28 of 886 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have some of the best soul food in myrtle beach ,our blue plate special is the best deal in town at $ 9.49 A plate.Soul food the way your mama made it!!!!
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After reading reviews on trip advisor, we decided to give Big Mike's a try. We are certainly glad we did. We went there for lunch on a Friday and it was pretty busy, hard to find a parking spot in the small lot out front. To look at the building you would never expect the food and service that was foudn inside. We've learned to never judge a book by it's cover though and this is definitely one of those places that, that rule applies. Upon entering we were greeted by several waitresses and told to pick a seat. Most of the tables were already occupied and there were several people waiting on takeout at the bar. We found a seat and ordered the blue plate special based on the reviews and pictures on here and the value! $7.95 for a meat, 3 sides, cornbread, and a drink!! You can't eat fast food for that price. We each had the fried fish which was great along with sides of mashed potatoes, mac n cheese, green beans, and cole slaw. Everything was wonderful!! The cornbread was amazing as well!! I really cannot say enough good things about how great this experience was!! We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank knottsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    202
    58
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like they've said”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went there for a late lunch this week. I'd second what recent reviews have said. The fried chicken was very good, the portions were quite large, and the senior meal was very reasonably priced.

Big Mike was there to greet us and he was very friendly.

About the only minus I can think of was that, with only a few tables occupied, the service was a little slow. But what the heck, we were on vacation, so no worries.

Go there. Good home cooking at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angryurbandaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy !”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read about Big Mike's on tripadvisor and decided to check it out when my husband and I visited Myrtle Beach for our anniversary . Well everything I read was pretty accurate . The food was very good , the restaurant was clean , Big Mike was really nice and hospitable as well as the staff , and the price was right ! I was very surprised at the amount of food we got for $7.95 ! I never had the option of 3 sides but Big Mike gives you 3 sides unless you get the senior citizen plate which comes with 2 . All I can say is if you are in the area , go to Big Mikes........you won't be disappointed .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Found a new FAVORITE!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Checked trip advisor and found Big Mikes was highly rated. It's hard to find a "home cookin' " restaurant in any town but this is certainly a fresh, home cooked meal. Oooohhh what flavor in the fried pork chop :-). Very friendly staff and fast with the food, not crowded either. We will definitely be back here.
Don't tell Mike his prices are reasonable because he might go up LOL! Three words for ya' : BLUE PLATE SPECIAL

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious fried chicken!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Very simple menu, blue plate specials are $7.95 with your choice of meat (fried chicken, fried fish, fried pork chop, BBQ chicken, or roast chicken). Also included: 3 sides and cornbread! The sides options were: mashed potatoes, rice & gravy, field peas, green beans, mac and cheese, and collards. The portions are large and the food is delicious. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and the service was efficient. There was a steady stream of customers both for dining in and take out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mike's Soul Food also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Mike's Soul Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing