We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy !”

Big Mike's Soul Food
Ranked #27 of 880 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have some of the best soul food in myrtle beach ,our blue plate special is the best deal in town at $ 9.49 A plate.Soul food the way your mama made it!!!!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy !”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read about Big Mike's on tripadvisor and decided to check it out when my husband and I visited Myrtle Beach for our anniversary . Well everything I read was pretty accurate . The food was very good , the restaurant was clean , Big Mike was really nice and hospitable as well as the staff , and the price was right ! I was very surprised at the amount of food we got for $7.95 ! I never had the option of 3 sides but Big Mike gives you 3 sides unless you get the senior citizen plate which comes with 2 . All I can say is if you are in the area , go to Big Mikes........you won't be disappointed .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    198
    58
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Found a new FAVORITE!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Checked trip advisor and found Big Mikes was highly rated. It's hard to find a "home cookin' " restaurant in any town but this is certainly a fresh, home cooked meal. Oooohhh what flavor in the fried pork chop :-). Very friendly staff and fast with the food, not crowded either. We will definitely be back here.
Don't tell Mike his prices are reasonable because he might go up LOL! Three words for ya' : BLUE PLATE SPECIAL

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious fried chicken!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Very simple menu, blue plate specials are $7.95 with your choice of meat (fried chicken, fried fish, fried pork chop, BBQ chicken, or roast chicken). Also included: 3 sides and cornbread! The sides options were: mashed potatoes, rice & gravy, field peas, green beans, mac and cheese, and collards. The portions are large and the food is delicious. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and the service was efficient. There was a steady stream of customers both for dining in and take out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, WV
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best answer I ever had to my usual question....”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

When I eat at a restaurant I have never eaten at before, I always ask the wait staff the following question, "If this is my only visit to this restaurant, what should I have?" I did this tonight at Big Mike's and the waitress said, "Oh, this won't be the only time you eat here." Best answer ever! This restaurant is very good and offers blue plate specials each night. I had fried chicken, mac-n-cheese, green beans, and collard greens. I enjoyed every bite. If you think this is a "greasy spoon", think again. The food was no where near greasy and was very tasty. The one thing I noticed while eating my meal was the diverse ages of diners in the restaurant and all of them appeared to be enjoying their meal. By the way, the waitress was right, I will be back if I'm ever in this area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bloodlinemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Homecooking”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was just good, the service, the food, the price. Will definitely come again. It is not somewhere I would have ever noticed had it not been for the trip advisor reviews, but well worth finding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lor-Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mike's Soul Food also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Mike's Soul Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing