We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have trusted my instincts”

Big Mike's Soul Food
Ranked #32 of 893 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have some of the best soul food in myrtle beach ,our blue plate special is the best deal in town at $ 9.49 A plate.Soul food the way your mama made it!!!!
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Should have trusted my instincts”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Myself, husband and 2 younger children went here for dinner based on TA reviews. I should have trusted my instincts and skipped it. Our waitress was "out there". Forgetful and spacey. Husband said she was high. I don't know, but she was definitely different. We ordered the blue plate special with white meat chicken. She came back after a few mins and said they were out of white meat. It was 5pm on a Monday evening. Not sure why they would be out? We just changed to the fish, no big deal. When she brought our meals, I asked what kind of fish it was. ( I assumed catfish or cod?) Granted, I should have asked before I ordered, I know that. But she said "swai". Ok, I've never heard of it but it was decent...flaky, white filets. But since we had never heard of it, we just ate it cautiously. The sides were ok. Nothing special. If you've ever at a Cracker Barrel, they have better food and the same type of side items. Oh yeah, and better environment and service. And we never got a check, so I went to bar area to pay. I never saw a bill and I'm almost positive the total she gave me was incorrect. But we were just ready to leave. I guess overall it was O.K., but we won't be back. I didn't get that warm, friendly experience others have mentioned. And for some reason, I kept worrying about getting food poisoning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    203
    58
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic, inexpensive and plenty of food!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Make sure you eat here, real food with heaping portions. We ordered the blue plate special which is on meat and three veggies and cornbread for $7.95. Everything was good, but the chicken, cole slaw and peach cobbler were delicious! Atmosphere is a Litle dated and there is limited parking, servers were friendly and efficient. Big mike greets everyone as they come in and out. A really nice change from all the chain restaurants in mb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Big Mike's fried chicken was the best!!!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The fried chicken blue plate special provided me a taste of one of the best pieces of chicken I've ever had.........juicy, delicious, freshly cooked to order. Wife had the fried chicken sandwich......same reaction as mine. The service was friendly and efficient; Big Mike himself came out to speak with the customers and elicit their comments. If you want real, local food done right, then this is the place not to miss........forget the fast food chains. BTW the value is more than good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdofMaineSoCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere! Great Food!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We just left Big Mike's and the food was fantastic we ordered the blue plate dinner with fish, my three sides were collards, rice and gravy and green beans. And I cannot forget the cornbread all very good! We will go back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kassius11739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

went today and sat down, ungreeted...we were seen by the wait staff and big mike said hi. we sat there for over 10 minutes and nobody waited on us...6 other people came in and were served ahead of us. finally someone said we'd be waited on soon. we waited and it didn't happen. so we left, and mike wondered why...and we told him.

i'll never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jxd1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mike's Soul Food also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Mike's Soul Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing