We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”

Big Mike's Soul Food
Ranked #26 of 869 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have some of the best soul food in myrtle beach ,our blue plate special is the best deal in town at $ 9.49 A plate.Soul food the way your mama made it!!!!
Poultney, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing! Whole family loved it. Get the blue plate special! Fried chicken was the best we ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    190
    56
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Institution in the making!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner after hearing from a local chef that this place was excellent, if a professional chef doesn't know good food then we are in trouble! We arrived and had a table in seconds, the server presented the menus and explained the specials, we both ordered sweet tea, best I've had in this State and don't forget this is the Offial State beverage. I had the blue plate special fried pork chops with greens, Mac n cheese and rice with gravy, I know your thinking a small portion of each since there are so many items, nope, plates mounded with food. When it came I said " you might as well bring a box, but after I started chowing down there was no stopping.
I could go on but I will do this as fast as possible. Collard greens; oh my God! Best I've ever had, pork chops; tender moist slices of pig heaven, Mac n cheese homemade and beyond stupidly great , rice n gravy; awesome, oh yeah they even put corn bread in there to , sorry mom! Big mikes gotcha slapped down. Ok here's the kicker both meals, drinks everything, under $18.00....
This place will be a Myrtle Beach icon when word gets out, so go today.
Someone notify the food network, we got us a rising star in the South,,, thanks Big Mike, see you soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at the best price in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food was wonderful. Good Southern Soul food. Large portions and great quality. I almost didn't rate Big Mikes go to keep everyone from going. We paid less for dinner (family of 4) than we did for breakfast. If you are looking for tofu or a bland meal, don't go, if you like fried pork chops, chicken, meatloaf, greens, Mac & Cheese then this is the place. We will visit several times while we are here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slider20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moseley, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food was very good. The portions were hefty. The fried chicken was very good. For dessert get the peach cobbler!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhollow216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Soul food to feed your soul...mmmm mmmm good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My mom and I went to Big Mike's today after reading about it on Tripadvisor. What a great find! If you're looking for real southern comfort food done perfectly, give it a try and bring your friends and family. You can't beat the blue plate price at $7.95 for your choice of fried chicken, pork chops or fish and 3 sides and cornbread. Mom loved her fish chowder and we had the fried chicken and fried fish and we each had mashed with gravy, cooked cabbage and baked mac and cheese. The cornbread was sweet and moist. The plates came out loaded and everything was seasoned perfectly and delicious. Our waitress was friendly, fun and attentive. Don't miss out...go now!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank harleygirlCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mike's Soul Food also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Mike's Soul Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing