We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable...”
Review of Wave Rider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wave Rider Resort
Ranked #142 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
North c
1 review
“Very Comfortable...”
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Very comfortable with a home away from home type feel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garcia_vega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    17
    11
    67
See reviews for
72
28
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I would like to start by saying I have been staying here for 4 years now. We fell in love with this place and the employees when we first stayed here. This year was not the same for us. The worse part was how rude the staff was with us. I raise my kids to respect people and when they see people dis-respecting their parents like the staff here did it really doesn't say much. The guy who does maintenance on the pool was very rude to my 9 year old son and he really didn't understand why. The office workers and some of the house keeping staff with the exception of the young lady who worked during the week was very rude to us. That was such a disappointment to us. We totally love the hotel but cannot stay where people treat their CUSTOMERS,the reason you are able to remain open may I add, so rude. I know the staff probably doesn't care about this review because there will be someone else to take my place if I never stay here again. I just wanted people who have morals to know this before they book their room.

so very disappointed with your staff???

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

What a dump. The staff are rude, the room has not been remodeled in yrs. Sheets were stained. Comforter was threadbaren and ripped dated. Furniture sofa and chair were really old and worn out. Rug had not been vacumed in a long time. Stove was questionable at best. Refrigator had dents and would not close properly. This place is stuck in the 70's. I booked it on Myrtle beach rooms for rent. I now know why they get the money up front. You would not stay if you could get out of it. It is suppose to be non-smoking however all the quest are smoking on the baloncy so if you don't go outside you can avoid smoke. Business center fax and printer are broken. Breakfast consists of waffles, one cereal, few donuts and this is on a good day. Would never stay here again..... Wireless was not available in room.... False amenties at best

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElginTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, property manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2009
Unfortunately we cannot please everyone, but over the past few years we have made a good many upgrades to the property in an attempt to satisfy most of the guests. As the property manager of the Wave Rider, it concerns me when I read a review like this. It seems sometimes that no matter what upgrades we do and discounts we offer, some guests simply are not satisfied. Many guests come to us with Champaign tastes but on a beer budget. Even though the Wave Rider is an older property, I believe that our guests receive a great value for their money. As the reviewer mentioned we do have a media center available to our guests where they can check their email and browse the internet from the comfort of a private room (we do not offer free faxes or printing due to the cost involved with the ink and long distance charges). We also have additional seating available located in our office for guests with laptops equipped with wireless capabilities, so they can browse the internet wirelessly (unfortunately due to the building being made of concrete and steel the wireless signals will not pick up in the rooms). We have also added a continental breakfast, which includes 2 types of cereal, 2 types of doughnuts, breakfast granola bars, Belgium Waffles, coffee, orange juice, and milk. We also offer free popcorn anytime after 12 noon. The resort also features a lazy river, an indoor and outdoor pool, kiddie pool, kiddie playground, shuffleboard deck, and a grilling area. As I stated earlier the Wave Rider is an older property and is priced as a budget motel, with that said most of the guests who stay with us do not expect it to be as fancy as the Ritz Carlton and are pleased with the accommodations and amenities that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

concord, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Don't stay here! It's a terrible value for your money. We were double charged for our room on our credit card, the room was not all that clean. We thought we were getting ocean front, from the third party reservation group we booked through. It was NOT oceanfront. It was a dump! The staff was not nice and they were totally unprofessional. DO not stay here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, property manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2009
As the guest mentioned, they booked their room through an online travel agent rather than contacting us directly. When a guest books through one of these online travel agents, we do not have any direct communication with the guest until the date of their arrival. Typically we receive an email from the online travel agent providing us the guests name (no other contact information) the type of room they requested and the dates of their arrival / departure and the confirmed price the guest agreed to. All of the documentation that we received showed that the guests asked for a 1-BR pool view suite at the Wave Rider (which is located across the street from the Beach). Our records also show that the guest was charged the advertised rate for which they agreed to. We in no way double charged the guest for anything.
With more and more people going to the internet to make their reservations, many guests have the impression that they will receive a much lower rate from one of these online travel agents as compared to booking directly with the hotel. This simply is not the case, in most cases booking directly with the hotel will provide the guest with the cheapest rate due to most third party agents collect some type of booking fee upfront from the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richburg,SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My family and I checked in on Saturday and paid for the room before we saw it. (We usually do). Once inside the room it was ugly. The table was broken, the fabric of the chair arm was ripped, the sliding door lock was very flimsy, carpet was filthy. That room was room 134. We talked to the lady at the front desk and she was unwilling to change rooms or change Hotels or accommodate us in any way. We checked out within 20 minutes of checking in and she still tried to charge me for one night's stay. I am disputing that with my credit card now. I would advise anyone that is going to stay in Myrtle Beach to just find somewhere else to stay. This place is a little cheaper but you get what you pay for. This place is no bargain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peanutbutter20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, property manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2009
During our peak summer months of June, July, and August, the Wave Rider is frequently completely booked especially on the weekends. When the guest approached our front desk reservationist, she offered to assist by having our maintenance staff as well as our cleaning staff help the guest with any issues they were having with the room. The guest declined any help and asked to be moved to a different room. We were not able to move the guest because all of our other rooms had already been rented.
Suite 134 is one of the most requested rooms at this resort because it is on the gound floor just infront of our pool. A good many of the guests who request this room are ones who stay with us each and every year. We frequently steam clean the carpets in each of our rooms, however during the summer months when there is only a couple of hours between the guest checkout and checking in, shampooing carpet and expecting it to be dry before the guests arrival is almost impossible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

my boyfriend and i made reservations to stay in this hotel based on good reviews from my parents. after arriving there i was not pleased at all with the way things were. the floor was filthy, the dishes were still dirty, there was a blood stain on the shower curtain that most certainly did not come from either my boyfriend or myself, the toilet only flushed completely every now and then, the lock for the balcony door came out of the wall, the ceiling leaked when it rained, and the manager hung up on me on two different occasions after i called down to the front desk to ask a question.
also, the water stopped working the day before we left, so we decided to spend the day out and hoped it would be working again when we got back. it was but when whoever came in the fix it left they didn't clean up after themselves. the toilet seat was put down and when it was lifted up water was all over it there was dirt inside the toilet bowl, they left the bathroom light on and threw all of our clothes in the bathtub after getting them completely soaking wet.
i will never stay at the waverider again. the only positive thing i have to say about the place is that it is in a great location, other than that the place is a [--] hole.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traumaticsex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Better not say their names but they know their stuff and take hospitality seriously (and personally). The suites are upgraded according to a schedule and I noticed the last time I stayed at the Wave Rider, we were provided hospitality packs with a few samples of useful things, money savers that turned out to be more than 'ol coupon pack when I checked the wallet. You can't beat the price for a family get a way or a solo trip to the sand and waves.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfinderCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
682 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#95 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#138 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
149 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#136 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#154 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Rider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Rider Resort

Property: Wave Rider Resort
Address: 1600 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4697
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wave Rider Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wave Rider Resort offers plenty of family friendly amenities. The resort is conveniently located directly across the street from the beach along the popular Ocean Blvd strip. The amenities include large outdoor pool, indoor pool, kiddie pool, lazy river, shuffle board deck, kids swing sets, grilling areas, fitness center, convenience store and a media room when guests can access email from the privacy of a private office or wireless internet lobby area only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Wave Rider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Rider Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wave Rider Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing