We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Price and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Rider Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wave Rider Resort
Ranked #156 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Dunn, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Price and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great accommodations, price, and location. Management was very helpful in finding things to do with our children.

Will be back. The weather had us locked in but they helped us find things for the kids to do and stay Happy! Happy! Happy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    18
    11
    67
See reviews for
73
26
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I wanted a place on the beach for this weekend and got the waverider which was pretty close to full so i called last week and got a nice small suite for the weekend for the two of us and had the indoor pool to . so we are enjoying it and the weather is getting better did the marathon and feel great no enjoying the rest of i hope good weather weekend the staff is very accommodating to my wants they also had the best price i could find for this weekend being presidents weekend to.cheapest on the beach .

Room Tip: i like higher up rooms so i ask for the top floor when available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigolhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The price was ok but not worth staying here. The room was dirty, smelly and the shower looked like someone died in it. There were tons of cock roaches, the coffee maker, stove and microwave were so gross, so we ended up not using them at all. The bed was so gross that we had to put our own bedding down, we kept the balcony door open day & night because it smelled so bad. We spent most of our time out of the room because it was so.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lil2eo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Guest Relations Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am the manager of the front desk of the Wave Rider Resort, I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at the Wave Rider. Please note that all of our units at the Wave Rider are individually owned. I was unable to find where you had booked your room through the front desk of the Wave Rider so I am to assume that you booked your room directly from one of the homeowners who privately rent their rooms and no not use the services of the front desk.

When booking through a private owner, please know that it is the private owners responsibility to fully disclose to their guests the condition of the room, and that the private owners guests are not entitled to some of the amenities / services that are offered to other guests who choose to rent directly from the front desk of the Resort. For example guest who rent directly from the resort receive maid service, 24 HR emergency assistance, access to a fitness /weight room, access to wireless services, and access to our media center where guests can access the internet, print documents, place / receive long distance calls and receive faxes from the privacy of a private room. Some guests assume that they can save money by renting directly from an owner rather than renting directly from the front desk at the resort, however in many cases rates offered by the resort are actually less than what the private owner is offering and as a bonus when renting directly from the resort guests have the piece of mind that in the event of a emergency they will be taken care of immediately.

The Homeowners Association Board at the Wave Rider share in your concern over the roaches that you mentioned and apologize for the inconveniences it may have caused. We have a professional pest control company who comes out every third Monday of the month to do a preventive spraying for these types of pest. However unfortunately every once in a while we do receive a complaint regarding this type of pest. Our policy is to immediately address any concerns by a guest by having the pest control company come out to spray again however it is ultimately up to the homeowner of the room to give us access to spray for these pests.

Again, I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay. I would love the opportunity to re-earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

wave rider was clean and neat,we had two double beds and a kitchen great room, beach public access right across the road a short walk. staff was friendly and helpful. one outside pool and lazy river and indoor heated pool. nice hotel we have stayed there twice and the price was excellent. easy to find the hotel and will stay there again.loved it.

Room Tip: ground floor room for handicap easy access, large room and bath with a kitchen nice tile floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Front Office Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Wanda, We are so glad that you had such a good time here at the Wave Rider! It is repeat guests such as yourself who help create the family atmosphere we have at the Wave Rider. We all work very hard to ensure that our guests have the best vacation experience possible. Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review and we look forward to having you back with us again. Greg Front Desk Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from our family vacation at Myrtle Beach and stayed at the Wave Rider for 9 days. Our room was nicely decorated and clean. The grounds are nicely kept and the pool is fantastic. Management was very accommodating. Had a very relaxing time. - Chuck R

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Front Office Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Chuck, I want to thank you and your family for staying with us every year. I look forward to seeing you Lynn and the kids again this year and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. As you are aware Our lobby was completely renovated less than 1 ½ years ago. We spent a great deal of time and money to improve this area and have had many complements of the way it looks. Over the past few years we have also worked hard to improve the over all appearance of the resort. In addition to the items already mentioned, we have added a fitness center, added a convenience store, upgraded our guest laundry facilities, and installed a media room where guests who check in via the front desk can view emails. This year when you arrive you will also notice that we now have a Discounted Ticket Center where you will be able to purchase discounted tickets to all of the area attractions. Again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will see you and your family this summer. Thanks Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

At the last moment we decided to go to the beach. Checked everywhere and nothing was available. Called the Wave Rider and yes they have a vacancy! Approximately 87 a night; I'll take it! When we arrived you could tell it was an older building but this was a good thing. Today's construction lets you hear your neighbors two doors down. Not here. Couldn't hear a thing beside, above, or below. Room was very clean, the staff was very courteous and eager to help with any situation.

Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Front Office Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Scott, thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure speaking with your family this past summer. The week you were down was by far the busiest week we had all summer I am happy to know that you were pleased with your stay and that my staff was able to satisfy you. Please tell your boys I said Hello and I hope to see you again this summer. Take Care Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath Springs, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our stay. Very affordable and great location. This is an older building but clean. The service is good and friendly. Not a lot of noise because of thicker walls. The pools weren't crowded. Just overall very relaxing...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Front Office Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Betsy, We are so glad that you had such a good time here at the Wave Rider! We all work very hard to ensure that our guests have the best vacation experience possible. Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review and we look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Strand
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Stra...
#151 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#95 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mid Town Motor Inn
Mid Town Motor Inn
#94 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#134 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#135 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Rider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Rider Resort

Property: Wave Rider Resort
Address: 1600 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4697
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wave Rider Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wave Rider Resort offers plenty of family friendly amenities. The resort is conveniently located directly across the street from the beach along the popular Ocean Blvd strip. The amenities include large outdoor pool, indoor pool, kiddie pool, lazy river, shuffle board deck, kids swing sets, grilling areas, fitness center, convenience store and a media room when guests can access email from the privacy of a private office or wireless internet lobby area only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wave Rider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Rider Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wave Rider Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing