We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Resort - Stay if on Budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Ranked #113 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greensboro, Nc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Retro Resort - Stay if on Budget”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

If you need a decent place to stay without blowing the budget than I would opt for the Sandcastle Resort. This place has great staff, beautiful oceanfront views and great Pools/Jacuzzis. However, this hotel is quite old and shows its age. I stayed in an efficiency but also spent time in one of the "owned condos" which was a King suite. There really wasn't much difference. I think the appliances were stainless steel in the King suite compared to ours in the efficiency. The kitchen is also very small. While preparing food it was difficult getting everything to fit in the small area, as the only table in the room was across the room by the balcony.

The bathrooms appeared to have updated sinks and tubs. However, this couldn't hide the fact that the bathroom needed major work on the floors and the ceilings. There were cracks all over the resort which had me wondering if the whole place was on the verge of falling down around us.

Didn't have problems with sound - but the hotel was virtually empty, which is why I guess they took my bid online for the weekend. Although I thought the staff was friendly, I didn't like being "required" to check out. Especially, since my bill was paid in advance. They simply "wanted to know" when folks left. Why? Give me a break. I haven't had to physically go to the desk to check out from a hotel in ions. Retro requirements for a retro resort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truezeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    211
    116
    79
    106
See reviews for
348
233
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Mass.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed at the Sandcastle couple weeks ago. The price was very good, got an internet special and stayed for the week for less than one 5 day parkhopper at disney. Staff was very friendly, service from reception to maintenance was exceptional. We booked an executive suite. It was very clean, updated, all the appliances worked nicely. The suite was a little smaller than one of the same type at another nearby resort we had stayed in last April, however, the bedroom was perfect, kitchen efficient, bathroom clean - teenagers loved the TV in the bathroom though with 5 of us using one bathroom had to coax them to move a little faster as they were watching tv putting on makeup etc. The living area minor inconvenience as we used the Murphy Bed and we had to move the chair and end table to be able to pull the murphy bed down but for all the other amenities as I said a minor inconvenience. The pools were clean and outdoor pool was heated but did get cold when weather started to warm up, think the heat was turned off but with the bright sun it heated up by afternoon. Parking convenient, on site which is not the case at some of the resorts. Kitchen sink sprung a leak and maintenance was on site in less than 10 minutes and it was fixed. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe091246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caseville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed 4 days at a fantastic spring rate. The location, view, amenities were everything we could have wanted. We loved sitting on our balcony with our coffee in the morning and a cocktail at night. The staff was friendly, polite and responsive to our every request. The fact that you could park in the garage on the level of your room was a plus. This was our first visit to Myrtle Beach and we will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comet65cyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleversole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Sandcastle 4/21-4/25. We have stayed here many times before and have always had wonderful service and this time was no exception. From the time we checked in, with the help of Suzanne, to checkout with Kevin, everything was absolutely perfect. Until we found this place we had stayed in quite a few others, but never again. Sandcastle is tops at the beach. The location is great, seems less crowded than the north end, even though this is a large resort, the staff seems to be the best we have ever seen down there, reservations, front desk, housekeeping, maintenance. The only one who seemed to be unhappy was the bartender the one night we went in there. There was no one else in there and he didn't act like he cared whether we sat down and got something or not....so we didn't. He just didn't seem to be as friendly as everyone else.

They have three elevators and though we were on the 12th floor, we never had to wait more than a minute or two to get an elevator. The rooms are clean, and big enough.......not huge, but sufficient. Still very nice and the appliances in the efficiency we stayed in appeared to be brand new. If you are looking for a great place, with great staff near enough to everything but far enough to avoid crowds.......STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 months (Jan, Feb, Mar, 2010) This hotel is one of the finest we have had the pleasure to stay since our retirement. The front desk, Amy, Lisa, Kevin, Bob and Mary, are just the nicest people you could ever meet. Al & Fernando in Maintenance and Betty, Aldele & Denise in Housekeeping cannot do enough for you. And the manager, Kitty, is very accommodating to the needs of the guests. We will absolutely return to this fine resort. Thank you to all and we will see you next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed at the Sandcastle South in March, 2010 with a teenager and 5 year old. The purpose of our trip was to attend our teenagers cheerleading competition. The "deluxe suite" was so small we could barely get into the room with our luggage. The galley kitchen was not only impossible to move around in, but had a stove with easily reached by the youngest who had the oven on and stove burners before we knew it. It was not only dangerous, but put parents who were used to a baby safe home on guard the whole time. The exterior door opened to the outside (which was like a wind tunnel) and made it impossible to get to the indoor pool in chilly weather without freezing. The lazy river is a small circle and both the indoor and outdoor pools are extrememly small (5' at its deepest) that could not accommodate guests even on a slow weekend. The parking garage is such that one has to lug your things up steps no matter where you park.

A word to the wise, don't book longer than your expected stay. We had booked 5 days and were ready to go home as soon as the competition was over and were told there were no refunds. There is a $10 fee for a small piece of ethernet cable to access the internet and a claimed $50.00 charge if any of the few dishes they provide are not washed - thus, none of the dishes were sanitized by anyone other than previous guests! There is a claim that there is a $150.00 fee for smoking in the room for "cleaning" but by the smell of the rooms (we went to friends rooms too) they may collect the fee, but not really clean the room.

The one positive is an employee named Mary who is absolutely wonderful with the front desk. The location is excellent - right on the beach which is nice for Myrtle. We paid $77.00 per night with a group rate. It was worth half that - possibly. I wish I had listened to the other negative reviews, but I just thought they were special cases. In short, it is an old run down hotel trying to keep up by advertising way more than what it is. Families with young children should be aware that you will be watching your children constantly and lugging all their gear up stairs. Take your money and stay somewhere decent for half the time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrip1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We have stayed at Sandcastle many times and each time we have been pleased. The ocean front efficiency is not huge but the room and kitchen are both more than adequate for two people. The rates are always reasonsable and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Sandcastle is conveniently located to shopping, attractions and dining. It is one of the best bargins at Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lndebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#153 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle South Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle South Beach Resort

Property: Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Address: 2207 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle South Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle South Beach is located in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. Accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer. Pools, jacuzzi, whirlpools, kiddie pool, and endless river ride offer a wide variety of water sports. Our Sandcastle South Restaurant, Oceans 22 Lounge, and seasonal poolside cabana bar will help to make your vacation a memorable experience. Sun bathe on the oceanfront lawn. Leave your footprints in our sand! Wake to the sound of gentle breezes and breathtaking waves, see the reflection of the sunrise dancing on the blue water. The view from your balcony will take your breath away. Enjoy it all with us. The place to be. The place to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle South Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing