We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time with the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Ranked #117 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a great time with the family”
Reviewed March 22, 2009

we stayed at the sand castle and had a great time, It's location is great, staff is friendly, Our family had a great time in the pools and the kids loved the lazy river, and it's right on the beach. loved it and will stay again next time.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAPPER2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    213
    117
    82
    109
See reviews for
356
233
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I stayed one night in this hotel and had my cell phone, wallet and a pair of earrings stolen. Then the hotel decided to charge me $100 for a cleaning fee. I stayed in the room alone, and only brought one bag. They were of no help in locating my missing valuables, and insisted that the maid who cleaned the room would never steal anything as she had been working there since they opened. I phoned again to ask about the charge and the GM was very rude. About the stealing maid, she had been working there 6 years now, and not since they opened. So he is changing his fabricated story. He also said that he had photos of the mess that had to be cleaned up. I asked him to email me those photos, he never did.

Never stay here, leave this place to the high school trash they allow to stay here and let them steal from them.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncsuwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

myrtle beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

I booked a night in this hotel as a get away with my husband prior to having major surgery. When we went to ck in the staff was beyond rude and refused to rent us a room as we were Myrtle Beach locals, even though they accepted our reservations and already had our money!!!! Nor would they refund our money. Apprarently they have a no locals rule which no one ever informed us of. I was so mad I refused to leave without my money being refunded. They actually threatened to have us arrested for refusing to leave without our money being refunded. What was supposed to be a quiet get away before serious surgery was a horribly stressful event. What is even more ironic is that we actually live 1/10 of a mile from the cut off where our address would be Conway, SC and then they would have rented to us!!!! CRAZY, RUDE, DISCRIMINATING,
UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF AND MANAGEMENT

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockey13MyrtleBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigboss7myrtlebeach, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2009
Because of more than one past occurrence, many hotels choose not to rent to locals. Locals in the past have utilized facilities to have social events in their guest rooms resulting in damage and disturbance to other guests. We wish to protect the quality stays of all our guests and therefore do not rent to local or anyone under 21 years of age. As many others follow these practices in the area, we are not alone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stay in your room at all times! The illegals they have cleaning the rooms steal your stuff if you go out. NEVER COME HERE AGAIN!

  • Liked — Ocean view
  • Disliked — Romm be robbed by staff while we ate dinner out,never be back to Myrtle Beach!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neverbeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlegm, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2009
I am glad to report as in most other cases, that the items that were indeed reported to us as stolen, were found by the guest. In well over 90% of the missing items ever reported, the guest finds them but never clarrifies this to the public. We are a very safe property with many happy and returning customers every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,N.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Let me start by saying, this was the by far the most upsetting getaway my family and I have ever experienced. Sandcastle resort was booked through RCI and it was nothing but headaches from the beginning. We were told our room would sleep six, because we were bringing the children with us. When we arrived, to our dismay we were put into a studio. Our complaint went on deaf ears, and we were told to get in touch with RCI to make any type of changes. Well it was a holiday and there is no one to speak to. Very disappointing. We were told we needed to have a special cable to use internet in our room which would cost us $10 deposit. Come to find out the building isn't wireless and one can only use laptops in the lobby. We proptly returned the cord. We called to housekeeper to bring us up clean towels on the 3rd day of our visit. We left property about 9:15 Saturday morning to enjoy the day. Returned about 6:30 that evening to find our towels were dropped off, but our laptop was now gone. A police and incident report were both done, but the reaction of management was truly amazing to us. They questioned housekeeping and left it at that. So be very carefull if you ever decide to visit this property. P.S. Everything there was sub par as well.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — theft of property
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jenjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigboss7myrtlebeach, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2009
As in several locations on the beach, Interval ownership or Timeshare is involved in either a part or as a whole. Such is the case here. Because of this relationship, RCI books reservations for stays. They are not a part of our management, but just like so many other 3sd party sites, make statements that we have no control over. We have contacted RCI in the hopes that they can update their information to be more in line with our guidelines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haw River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. The website view of the rooms is nothing like the actual rooms. The room smelled of pancakes and even after leaving the sliding door open for a few hours it never got better. The place was entirely too small for our family so we requested another room. There wasn't one available so we decided to make do. For a family of five we had to request towels everyday. After telling them there were 5 people in the room they still only left enough for 3. This takes the cake. My family was lying around the pool and someone on the 5th floor shot a firecracker off the balcony that flew down and hit my husband in the left. Burned a hole through the bathing suit and beach towel and burned his leg. People sitting around knew exactly where it was shot from. My husband had to go find management but was told there was nothing they could do. We got the police involved who suggested the people be kicked out of the room. MANAGEMENT again did nothing. Even though pot and a pipe was found in the room. We requested our money back and ended up getting one night free. The MANAGEMENT at this place is so slack. I will never recommend this place to anyone. I sent a email to the owner requesting our money back but never got a response. Stay away from this place.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank frumpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

to make a long story short, this Resort was touted to be much more than we found it. The carpet in the outdoor hallways reeked of mildew, the room was not exactly clean (debris was on the floor) and their was visible mold/mildew in the bathroom. The bathroom opens directly into the walkthrough kitchen, yuck! The front desk staff was pretty useless in area info. We were told on Friday night @9pm that nothing was open except a few carryout pizza/chinese places. We found out the next morning about several restaurants that were open until 11 or 12pm within 2 miles. The Oceania staff (selling the timeshare units) were relentless. The maintenance staff was non-exisitent with water bottles, beer cans and debris in the pool area for 2 days before being picked up. We will not stay here again, not a great experience.

  • Liked — beach proximity
  • Disliked — not very clean
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5kidscallmemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#160 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle South Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle South Beach Resort

Property: Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Address: 2207 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle South Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle South Beach is located in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. Accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer. Pools, jacuzzi, whirlpools, kiddie pool, and endless river ride offer a wide variety of water sports. Our Sandcastle South Restaurant, Oceans 22 Lounge, and seasonal poolside cabana bar will help to make your vacation a memorable experience. Sun bathe on the oceanfront lawn. Leave your footprints in our sand! Wake to the sound of gentle breezes and breathtaking waves, see the reflection of the sunrise dancing on the blue water. The view from your balcony will take your breath away. Enjoy it all with us. The place to be. The place to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle South Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing