We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“needs upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle South Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Ranked #90 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“needs upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

hotel was very clean, however i had to look at 3 rooms to find the brightess one. needs to be more modern. tv's are the old style, needs flat screen tv and at least min 32 inches. service every day and was excellent. staff very friendly and most helpful. was on ocean front and on 7th floor. elevators very quick so being up higher would not have been a problem for sure. could hear the neighbors very clearly when walls were struck from other side so sound proofing would help and if you want ultimate quiet then this needs some attention.

Room Tip: room on ocean front. noise could be a problem if small children or active parties next door in these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triplets554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    200
    109
    68
    92
See reviews for
326
215
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I have two small children and they absolutely loved this hotel. We loved the view of the sunset outside our door and the sunrise from the patio. We all loved the lazy river and the various indoor and outdoor pools. We can't wait to go back! We look forward to the many family memories we will create at Sandcastle in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randleman, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I ALWAYS stay at Sandcastle South, Myrtle Beach when we can get away for a few days. It is always clean and the staff is always friendly and helpful. We love the atmosphere there and will continue to stay there in the future as well as recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We always request a room near the elevators and on floor six or above to avoid street noise. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sand Castle South is one of the most enjoyable places that my wife and I have ever visited. We have traveled to Hawaii, Jamaica, England via air and cruises. We have yet to experience a better place than Sand Castle South. It is close to home. The service is excellent. The view is the BEST. The value for my money is without blemish!

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped with ovens, etc. Just in case you want to pop popcorn, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLumberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wanting to surprise my wife for our anniversary to booked a long weekend at the Sandcastle South.I could not have been happier with my choice of hotels.The rooms were spacious and well appointed with a unparalleled view of the Atlantic. The location of the Resort was also an unexpected bonus.A short five minute drive and we were at The Market Commons,which is an upscale dining and shopping destination.I would not hesitate referring this property to family and friends.A great value with a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C21MISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recently stayed for a week. Check in was long. Room not made up twice in the week. When we complained front desk staff not very receptive to our concerns. Hotel rooms are small and not well appointed. They have small fridge and microwave with no dishes or cutlery. Would not be my choice on next visit. One member of our party found cockroaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Paul D,
First of all, thank you for your review. Guest feedback is vital to maintaining our standards of excellence that keep our guests coming back year after year. In regards to checkin, we do have limited staff this time of year,do to the drastic change in visitors, so if you came in with several people it can be a little longer than usual. I do apoligize that it took longer than expected. Our standard units are advertised as having a small refridgerator and mircowave but not a fully stocked kitchen as our efficiencies and suites are equipped. I am very concerned about your last comment. There are palmetto bugs here that live on the beach and in the palm trees, people commonly mistake them for cockroaches. A frequent practice for a lot of our guests is to leave their balcony doors open to enjoy that ocean air, cool breeze, and calming sound of the Atlanitic. On rare occasions one of those guys may find that open door. We do have regular service from a large pest elimination service to ensure our guest a clean environment. I truly hope you decide to give us another chance and join the Sandcastle Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sandcastle back in September. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay there again the first of November. The rooms were clean. Maid service was great. Employee's were friendly. It was quite and very peaceful. With my husband having a lot of his mind and needing a get away for the week-end, we could not have chosen a better place. We are planning to go back for another visit before the year is out. We did not ask about a fitness center because we had a full week end planned outside the hotel. When we go back for our summer vacation we will be sure to ask about the fitness center.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know what you want and what you expect when you make your reservations and they will w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#134 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#149 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,985 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle South Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle South Beach Resort

Property: Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Address: 2207 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle South Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle South Beach is located in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. Accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer. Pools, jacuzzi, whirlpools, kiddie pool, and endless river ride offer a wide variety of water sports. Our Sandcastle South Restaurant, Oceans 22 Lounge, and seasonal poolside cabana bar will help to make your vacation a memorable experience. Sun bathe on the oceanfront lawn. Leave your footprints in our sand! Wake to the sound of gentle breezes and breathtaking waves, see the reflection of the sunrise dancing on the blue water. The view from your balcony will take your breath away. Enjoy it all with us. The place to be. The place to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandcastle South Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing