We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Ranked #114 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty, Don't stay here!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I just spent 3 days here, had no choice we already paid in advance. the whole place was dirty! the service was bad, the maid came in to clean only once during our stay, and can you believe she only made 1 bed! She left the other bed unmade, have no clue why.
all of the elevators were gross, have not been cleaned in ages. One was out of order for 2 days..
1/2 of the pools were closed. The hot tubs were dirty. We could not get a luggage cart in the lobby. the tvs in the rooms were old.
The lazy river was ok. the location of the hotel was good, but overall our stay here was very unpleasant! We will never go back here again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Kimberly S,
I am very upset that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. Our Housekeeping department has been very consistent with providing great service this yearl. In regards to only one bed being made, if there are personal items on the bed they are trained to not disturb the bed. I do remember elevator being down for a couple days, they had to order a part but we did call them as soon as we had an issue. I dont want to sound like I am making excuses but we do have 1,000s of repeat guests that are exrtemely satisfied with our resort and I am truly sorry you were not happy. I really hope you decide to give us another chance and join the Sandcastle Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    211
    117
    79
    106
See reviews for
349
233
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Sandcastle was a great place for my family and I , because we took two teenage boys with us 16 and 17. Even at that age you still don't feel confortable allowing them to go to the beach without supervision, and even sitting on the balcony watching. At the sandcastle there are many pools that are around the facility that gives you a extra piece of mind knowing that they are enjoying themselves on site in a safe environment. My husband and I can relax at a pool and the boys be at another pool without them thinking we are watching them. The staff was very helpful and intentive to your needs, upon requesting anything. We travel alot and finding a facility that the staff,actually seem to enjoy working at there place of employments makes your vacation more enjoyable. We definatly would recommend staying at Sandcastle and we definatly will be returning.

Room Tip: There were 4 of us and we had the two room facing the ocean. It had large tv's two of them and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It wasn't exactly as advertised. It was supposed to have a cabana bar, a lounge, and a restaurant. NONE of these were open. If they are closed, you don't have them. The lounge was being remodeled, the cabana bar was boarded up and if there was a restaurant open for breakfast we were not made aware of it. The room was adequate even though the decor is a bit cheesy. The view is nice. It's probably nicer a bit higher up (we were on the third floor). There is no air conditioning in the elevator. Even from the third floor I felt pretty wilted by the time I got to the ground floor. The "kitchenette" is micro-mini size. No counter space at all and the closet is tiny. In fact it looks like there was once a good size closet but it was confiscated to create the kitchen. I'd suggest a shorter refrigerator with a top that could be used as a counter. We tried using the hand crank can opener in the kitchen and had to call the front desk to bring another one three times before we got one that worked. I rather suspect that we may have overpaid since we booked in advance and nothing open. But it was great to turn off the AC and open the balcony doors at night to let in the sea breezes and fall asleep to the sound of the waves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very Clean Hotel with an awesome lazy river, outdoor pool and indoor too in case it rains. Poolside movies at night as the sun goes down and then some two piece accousticals for the later evening. Poolside Tiki hut, well groomed grounds makes it a very enjoyable stay. My son and I look forward to our next vacation at Myrtle Beach and staying at Sandcstle South.

Room Tip: The efficientcy works well for us. A quick stop at the market to fill the fridge helps save a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

While it doesn't boast the most modern amenities, this hotel offers cleanliness and good service. We stayed in the oceanfront suite and had 2 queen beds plus a queen sized Murphy bed that pulled down from the wall. While slightly dated everything was clean. The kitchen had a full sized fridge and oven plus dishes and silverware. The pool and lawn area is a great way to enjoy the beach and escape the mess of sand.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acutencrazygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family of 5 stayed in this hotel during a timeshare tour. I'd have to say I was skeptical upon reading the reviews, however for $249 for a 4 day stay I was ready for just ok. The first room we recieved was on the 13th floor and I don't like to be that high but the lady said just Check it out anyway. I did and found the room
to not be appealing with mold on the lights. So they gave me another room on the 4th floor. We booked a suite and it had a full kitchen with a oven! Wow! But no oven tray, but we sufficed and went out for aluminum foil. The room was clean and spacious enough had a nice leather couch in the living room. No where close to modern but good enough. The bathrooms were nice and a pull down Murphy bed added more sleeping space for the kids. They have a little bar cabana whichis expensive and the bartender has no control of the alcohol, your better off going to the liquor store on 13th st on 17th ave. They have an outdoor pool in which they played movies at night, and a lazy river and also 2 hot tubs. The beach is a few steps away and is awesome! The front desk offers pool and beach towels. Overall it was a good hotel. No complaints. Close to malls and new attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDavistoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week over the summer.Price was good but after checking in and after the first night I felt as I came to the conclusion you get what you pay for. After long drive and arriving late was looking forward to a good long sleep. With the 'do not disturb' sign on the door the housekeeper decided she was going to knock on the door at 9:00 in the morning so I can sign a paper denying maid service for the day. So needless to say my room was never cleaned and I had to go to front desk for more towels.The room needed MAJOR updating and we found the staff extremely unfriendly and unhelpful when we notified them of our complaints. I love to travel with my family and without a doubt this was by far the worst place I had ever stayed. We love our vacation time andwhen i asked my family if they wanted too leave a day early it was all answered with a loud YES! If you plan on going to Myrtle Beach I highly recommend you to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biggie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#156 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#92 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
957 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle South Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle South Beach Resort

Property: Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Address: 2207 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle South Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle South Beach is located in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. Accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer. Pools, jacuzzi, whirlpools, kiddie pool, and endless river ride offer a wide variety of water sports. Our Sandcastle South Restaurant, Oceans 22 Lounge, and seasonal poolside cabana bar will help to make your vacation a memorable experience. Sun bathe on the oceanfront lawn. Leave your footprints in our sand! Wake to the sound of gentle breezes and breathtaking waves, see the reflection of the sunrise dancing on the blue water. The view from your balcony will take your breath away. Enjoy it all with us. The place to be. The place to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle South Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing