We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL THEATRE”
Review of The Carolina Opry

The Carolina Opry
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.40*
and up
The Carolina Opry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you only see one show... this is the one! "Top Attraction in Myrtle Beach" according to CNBC! The Carolina Opry has won every major South Carolina tourism award including Most Outstanding Attraction and the prestigious Governor's Cup. And it's the only show that has been featured on NBC Nightly News, CNN, TNN, and USA Today, which called it "A Big Hit". The New York Post called it "A Hot Ticket".Entertainer and entrepreneur Calvin Gilmore launched The Carolina Opry on South Carolina's Grand Strand in 1986. His live music variety show features a cast of 36 of the nation's top singers, dancers, comedians and musicians in its own 2200-seat show palace with state-of-the-art sound and lighting and three giant video screens. The show, which is continually updated with new music and comedy, is two hours of high energy entertainment that blends humor and dancing with everything from rock 'n roll, Broadway and country to classic hits, pop melodies and gospel.Young and old are counted among its fans who are sure to include a performance in their visit to Myrtle Beach.In November and December the theater is transformed into a winter wonderland where the magic of the season comes alive in The Carolina Opry Christmas Special a wonderfully dazzling, jolly and sentimental musical celebration of America's best-loved holiday..
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL THEATRE”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very professional, great, comfortable seating. The quality of a Las Vegas show. GREAT! Would love to come back and see other shows available at different times of the year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    279
    113
    30
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Too Loud, Too many flashing lights!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I thought I was going to get a migraine from the flashing lights. And most inappropriate during God Bless America. It was like 2 separate shows. The first half was LOUD and all country. Could hardly understand the words in the songs. The second half was calmer and understandable. Can't help but compare it to The One show as there is no comparison. I will bring my guests to Alabama Theatre in the future.
As for the talent, they are very good. The comedian needs some work. His stories were so long I fogot where he started so I hardly laughed. The dancers are not needed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Baefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Atheist friendly, I'd say”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My daughter and myself went here for the Christmas show. After the show the actors/dancers/singers were accessible as they came down to the people to avail themselves for photos and questions. We were here on a week night in November. The crowd was mostly senior citizens. My daughter and I were pleased with the Christmas decorations and the light show, singing, personalities, and there was something for everyone. As a minister I do not believe in god, but the Christian/Christmas/Holiday mix was just fine. We were impressed with the talent. The tickets are not cheap, but if you only come once a year I think it's a real treat. We had not seen a show before, so we were very pleased. My TomTom did not want to find this location and kept taking me in a circle, but sometimes you have to look out the window and say, "There it is!" and pull on in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Her Grace Olivi... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Extremely entertaining night. Great variety”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The singers, musicians and dancers are first class. Really nice backgrounds and laser effects add to the show. The two comedians are really enjoyable and have changed their material from our last visit, as have all of the singers.
This is a show we would see again on any future visits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fun ”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

A great show. The singing is professional. The musicians are creative and play some very good variety of music. The dancing adds to the performances. The light show and the visuals are very nice. And the comedy adds to the variety show atmosphere. A lot of fun for the whole family.

Helpful?
1 Thank what99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carolina Opry also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Carolina Opry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing