We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it. Very reasonable cost”
Review of Palace Theatre - CLOSED

Palace Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Performance theater that seats 2,700 offering live musicals, broadway style productions, celebrity performances. Current home of "Hot Jersey Nights" and "Illusions of Magic".
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kids loved it. Very reasonable cost”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not sure what everyone providing poor feedback is expecting. The matinee show for two adults and our three children was $100. The show was highly entertaining and professionally done. The magic was decent, the dancing was good, and the special guest Ben Blaque was incredible. The concessions and the plastic kids light up toys were extremely reasonably priced. The people working there were amazingly happy to be there. It was a great way to spend 2 hours while at Myrtle Beach and my kids and myself as well thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceMB, Manager at Palace Theatre, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for you review! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the performance and felt that it was well worth it! We take great pride in our shows and strive to make it something that you will remember!
We hope to see you back at the Palace Theatre for one of our other amazing shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    175
    77
    35
    51
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Illusions of Magic? Try Delusions of Grandeur....”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My parents and I booked this show after seeing it touted as, "Direct from Las Vegas" and "The World's Best Magic Show". We were so disappointed. As countless reviewers have already stated, the tricks are ones we've all seen for years; the magician is practically begging for applause and reassurances from the audience; and there is a sense of desperation in general.

The one saving grace was the guest performance of Ben Blaque ---- he's the guy who was a semi-finalist on America's Got Talent last year with his crossbow routine. He was AMAZING!!! The problem, though, is that he is not a magician. His act is a danger act. We really enjoyed his 20 minute portion of the show.

Overall, this was the biggest rip-off in Myrtle Beach...........and that is saying a LOT!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie37601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceMB, Manager at Palace Theatre, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We strive to produce shows that are suited for everybody. All of our shows have many elements, so as to add a variety to our performances that have been seen all over the world. Ben Blaque has an amazing talent that we are so excited to be able to bring to Myrtle Beach. We hope that you come back and see one of our other amazing shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magician Went Above and Beyond For My Daughter”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The show and additional acts were fun to watch. My daughter and I attended this as part of our Myrtle Beach Girls week out trip. I loved the fact that the magician, his wife and Ben Blaque were all in the lobby after the show to meet and greet guests. Everyone was very kind. The magician went above and beyond after the show to help my daughter get her own magic rope and we are extremely grateful. Thank You!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDivaMom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceMB, Manager at Palace Theatre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the Palace Theatre and Illusions of Magic! What a great weekend for you and your daughter! We take pride in our staff, cast, crew and show and are thrilled you enjoyed the show and your experience with us! Thank you for your review and please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Illusions of Magic was a fun show for the family”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family really enjoyed the Illusions of Magic show which provided very good entertainment for the value (2 hour show). Good variety of magic, singing, comedy and audience participation made for a fun evening. Some of the tricks left us in amazement and some others, while familiar, were done very well. Total cost for us for 4 tickets was about $120 using discount codes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Piedpiper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceMB, Manager at Palace Theatre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We always strive to provide quality shows with a variety of entertainment so we are very happy you enjoyed the show and your time with us at Illusions of Magic! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great show, concessions not too expensive. Staff was VERY nice. Gift shop was cheesy, but again, the show was great. We will definitely check them out agin when we're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceMB, Manager at Palace Theatre, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We take pride in our staff, theatre and shows and are so excited you and your family enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Theatre also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing