We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Dark and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Room Dark and noisy”
Reviewed July 17, 2007

After reading many good reviews, my Mother, daughter and I decided to stay a night before heading to the airport for our flight home. Bad Decision! Our King room was dark and very noisy due to being on the lower floor .Many people were yelling, and the room itself although clean was run down. I expected better of a Best Western . I suspect that the good reviews may be for the rooms across the street on the ocean. Also, way over priced! They had better motels up the street that looked better, and they were only $50.00 . Don't stay here if your looking for anything better then a run down motel. My 8 year old daughter explained it perfectly by saying the place should be called the worst western not the best!

Hamilton, Canada

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamilton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    543
    180
    81
    41
See reviews for
808
675
64
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Waiting time to check in and out---Long. The wireless high speed internet access was non existent. The room was decent though, but a little pricey for what else was available while we were down there.

  • Liked — Near water
  • Disliked — Wait times at front desk
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hondojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We are a 3 generational family and this is our 6th visit. We really like the rooms, the friendly staff, the clean pool and lazy river, and the slower pace of this end of Myrtle Beach. We are very close to the ocean and that is nice. We spend 51 weeks each year in eager anticipation of our next vacation week here.

  • Liked — Pool and breakfast
  • Disliked — Not enough bath towels
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PaMissPriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Noisy. Two stars. THe place was low class. There was parking in front of the door and in the back of the room too. THere was noise and yelling in both places. Not a good night sleep.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank miniNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed with my Wife and 2 kids (7 and 9) in June for 4 nights in the non ocean front section of the hotel. We had a great time. The pools are clean and well kept. The rooms are nice and clean, nothing extravagant, but well worth the price. We had a private balcony overlooking the pool that provided a nice spot for morning coffee.

The hotel is on the quiet end of Mrytle Beach and the owner does not seem to tolerate loudness or parties, etc. As a matter of fact, I saw him every day and he never failed to ask how things were. So, if you had an issue in this hotel I feel confident he would listen - and make it right.

Overall, this is a nice hotel in a nice location with a friendly and helpful staff. We had no issues getting breakfast, parking, or with any services.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleplain, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Stayed here after investigating many beach front rooms. Chose this one because it was reasonably priced, and included a plentiful continental breakfast, daily newspaper and coffee machine in the room.

The front desk was knowledgeable and friendly. Our room housekeeper did a nice job. Maps, directions and printing of our boarding passes were some courtesies given to us by the staff!

The hotel is right across the street from the beach and when you tire of the sand, relax in the very clean pool area. Enjoy an ice cream bar you can purchase from the cart. Nice to relax and leave the work schedule!

Breakfast was good. Cold cereal, assorted juices, milk, fruit cups, bagels, danish and of course coffee and tea! A lady makes homemade waffles for you. The sitting area is very limited but we enjoyed breakfast outside on wrought iron tables or the pool area had tables.

Lots of families rented but noise is kept to a minimum at night. Glad we made this choice and they will see a return customer!

  • Liked — Across the street from the beach, good price, continental breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — Not enough inside table space for eating breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylAnnRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We just returned from a week's stay at the Best Western Grand Strand in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. We traveled with my parents, who are in their eighties. Sometimes it is difficult to travel with senior citizens, but the Best Western went out of their way to treat us like royalty. The Best Western put us in "The Cottage". A three berdroom, 2 bathroom house on the hotel grounds. We had total privacy and all the services that are provided in the hotel itself. The Cottage is beautifully decorated and clean would be an understatement. It was great having front door parking. We had our own house!! We had a two minute walk to the pool and a four minute walk to the beach. We probably had 40 restaurants to choose from within a 2 mile radius. Myrtle Beach, SC is a great vacation destination which attracts people from around the world and the hotel was fully booked. At no time did we feel that the hotel staff was too busy to fulfill our needs. Anything we needed, we got it. I strongly recommend The Cottage at the Best Western Grand Strand in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Quiet, private, and a very attentive hotel staff. Southern hospitality at its' finest with genuine people who truly want you to be their guest. You will not regret a stay at The Cottage at the Best Western Grand Strand in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

  • Liked — we were in the privacy of "our own home"
  • Disliked — honestly, nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dustman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,223 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#11 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing