We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceanfront Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Oceanfront Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

We just returned from a terrific week at the Best Western Grand Strand's oceanfront building. The building has been recently renovated and construction is ongoing (they were installing the pool last week). Our oceanfront suite was clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. The private balcony with rockers gave us a wonderful view of the ocean and beautiful beach - very tranquil and relaxing.

Just to add my 2 cents to some of the previous comments, yes, the breakfast lines and elevators are slow. But you are on vacation, so what's the hurry? This is nitpicking IMHO.

The front desk folks were very nice and helpful. The owner should be commended for putting money and work into improving the hotel. My only suggestions for improvement are 1) add a laundry to the oceanfront building, since it is inconvenient to haul laundry back and forth across the street and 2) enlarge the pool's kiddie area beyond the tiny portion sectioned off. My 4-year old doesn't swim yet and was very uncomfortable in the pool.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel, especially the oceanfront building. Thanks for a great vacation!!

  • Liked — Lovely oceanfront suites
  • Disliked — Crossing busy street to reach other facility
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in the beachfront building!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    496
    153
    63
    29
See reviews for
729
625
57
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

OK, well, we stayed at the Best Western based on the online reviews. They were right, the rooms were clean and newly renovated, the staff was nice, check in/out was very smooth, but this is not what I would consider a hotel that should rate as number 4 in popularity. The rooms were small, the parking was difficult, and the hotel facilities were not easy to get to. The guest laundry was on the third floor in a separate building, so in order to use it, I had to go down the stairs and back up three flights of stairs only to relaize that there was no detergent in the veding machine up there. I then go back down the three flights of stairs and over to the main lobby and use the vending machines and then go back up three flights of stairs to start the laundry..then over and over again to put them in the dryer and then to take them back to the room.

The breakfast area was small and inconvenient. The pools were nice and overall I felt safe and relatively happy. I will not stay here again because of the size of the rooms and the inconveniences of the chopped up layout of the buildings. Yes, you get what you pay for, but the difference may mean there will be room to move around in the room.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

Our family went for the 4th of July weekend. That could have been our first mistake. When we arrived we did not have a room reserved for us-although we had already payed one night's rate. Customer service was not helpful at all and actually told us we could get our money back and look for somewhere else to stay. With two small kids ready to have a great weekend that was not acceptable. Finally they booked our room for 2 nights but for the 3rd night we had to move to another room, on another floor, and minus one bed we had originally asked for upon making reservations. The staff was not friendly, the rooms were somewhat dated, and we did not bother to go for the continental breakfast located directly in the lobby where the reservations are made and 5feet from the restrooms. The staff was not epithatic at all & showed no concern nor compassion for any of our needs. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day/3 night stay. Picked the Best Western Grand Strand based on Trip Advisor reviews. While the reviews were generally accurate (decent location, accomodating staff, renovated, construction but not too annoying), some other things detracted. The main hotel on one side of the street and oceanside on the other (where we stayed) meant we had no on-site security or service. Room service failed to show up our second day and repeated calls got promises but no correction. We finally settled for clean towels at 8:00 pm. The continental breakfast so highly rated by some was just OK. Not a bad place, but not as good as the reviews I read suggested. I will stay somewhere else next time, but would return if I couldn't find anything better. Hence my description - only adequate.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

We just got back from staying at the Best Western Grand Strand Inn And Suites during the July 4th weekend. We stayed in the oceanfront suites. The mattresses impressed my wife, they are very comfortable. The room was small but very nice with tile floors and up to date electronics. The check-in went very smooth and the nite clerk and security guard were very helpful. Our baby jammed the remote control and maintainance promptly replaced it.

The only things that we would like improved is better parking (which may be due to the construction of the new indoor pool area), a larger breakfast area (it got very crowded) and we couldn't find a lugague carrier in the building.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

I would just like to say we enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites in Myrtle Beach, SC this past week. We enjoyed a good breakfast, free newspaper, clean spacious room and great TV (according to my husband for golf), rocking chairs on the balcony, security on the grounds, lazy river/pool/spa, and quick access to the beach. I/we strongly suggest you check out this motel for you family vacation.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2006

This is a great hotel and the whole staff was awesome. I would refer anybody to this hotel. They have two facilities, one which is beachside and one just across the street. The rooms are both clean and beautifully decorated. They are always willing to go the extra mile. There is a continental breakfast like no other I have seen. They have waffles, all types of muffins and anything that might make you morning mean a pleasure. They have very clean facilities throughout. The staff was both helpful and courteous. I will definitely refer family and friends to this hotel. It was a great vacation and part of it was because of the hotel itself. They have many different units to chose from based on your needs and this is a great thing. You can have a kitchen in your room or just a regular room. You have the option of oceanside or not. There is a lazy river, pool and hot tub facility as the main location. It was well maintained. This is a great family oriented hotel. Kids and adults alike will greatly enjoy this hotel. I cannot say enough positive about this facility. I have stayed in many hotels in Myrtle Beach and this by far has rated highest for price, quality and staff friendliness as well as the added additions that you do not see at most hotels.

All tourists should check into this hotel when traveling to the Myrtle Beach area. It will definitely be worth your time and effort.

Helpful?
5 Thank stickyfingerspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing