We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2009

After spending the past few nights in a run down hotel, my husband and I were relieved that this was everything that the Best Western website quoted and more! Very nice hotel for the money!!:) We really enjoyed the pool, hot tub and lazy river as well as the option of take out continental breakfast! Access to the beach was a short walk across the street and the rooms were extremely nice, modern and clean. I'm sorry that I did not book my entire stay here, but there is always next time. We did encounter one problem. After we shut the lights off and went to bed, someone tried to open our door 2 times which was freaky. The chain lock was suspended and my husband opened the door part way. There was a man/women standing outside our room and they stated that they must have the wrong room and was possibly the next level up?? Not sure if it was true but as far as we know they did not return. It kind of disturbed our sleep, but around 2am we heard a man and women yelling at each other, sounded drunk, maybe the same couple who tried to enter our room?, not sure. That disrupted our sleep as well. Other than that, the hotel was great, a lot of hotel for the money!!:)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,810 - 1,816 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

We Stayed for three nights with our four kids (6, 8, 14, 17) during a road trip around the south. The hotel is very near the beach and far enough away from the amusements, but you need to drive to restaurants. The pool area is small but nice and well kept our children liked it a lot. The accomodation is basically motel style and the rooms are old, small and a little shabby. The breakfast is below average and served in a tiny area with nowhere near enough seating resulting in ridiculous queues, making it not worth bothering. Housekeeping missed us out completely on the first day. I pointed out a missing blanket to reception who said they would send one up on day two but didn't bother. If you go with low expectations the Best Western will live up to them for a couple of days, but having seen their trip advisor rating we expected a little more.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScouseWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This was a great hotel. My wife and I wanted to get away for some alone time. We booked our reservation on-line and weren't sure what we would find once we got to the hotel. Upon our arrival, the staff was friendly, and helpful. The gentleman at the desk advised me that we had a large room, and how to adjust the room temp when we got there. My wife and I were very surprised to find a king size room with 3 beds, on the first floor right in front of the pool. The room was very clean and well kept. We were across the street from the beach as the property has two buildings one on the beach and one across the street, but that was in no way an inconvience. With ample parking and being close to everything, we will definitely return in the near future, and maybe bring the kids next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlmurr30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Location was close to the ocean and all other points of interest. Good clientle and a great General Manager.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkyclaytonnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Upon arriving to MB without reservations, it took us 1 1/2 hour to find a room. We had our mind set out on staying in a hotel directly on the beach which we couldn't find. We ended up at the Best Western Grand Strand because it was close to the Palace where my brother-in-law was staying.

The room we were given was of a very nice size for our family of 5. Breakfast that you could order and bring up to your room without any additional fee was definitely a plus. The pool (which was 9 feet at its deepest end) was opened until midnight which was great to go to after having gone shopping or done other activities. Rooms were clean and staff always kindly responded to any needs we had. Many thanks to Wayne who helped us navigate around the city and had us visit an excellent seafood buffet. I can't remember the name of the nice lady who had us visit the different types of room but she was very nice too!

Overall, I would definitely choose Best Western Grand Strand for our future trip to MB... 'cause we'll surely be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuebecMom_of_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Being a Best Western employee, I decided to stick with my own chain while staying in Myrtle Beach with my family despite the fact that the hotel did not offer an employee rate. The hotel was okay with the exception of the hotel's staff.

When we arrived, we were very surprised by how rude the staff was. Most of them seemed genuinely annoyed with people in general. There were a few front desk clerks, however, who were very polite and eager to assist us.

Upon entering our diminutive room, we were content. However, twenty minutes into our stay, we found that the carpet surrounding our air conditioner was entirely drenched; it was leaking. Initially, we were not exceptionally bothered by this because we thought that the staff would surely be more than happy to move us into a near-by room in order to rectify their inconvenience, as this is what any good hotel staff would do. To our surprise, however, they instead sent their maintanence man into our room at eleven o'clock at night. I will go ahead and say that he was at least more polite than the rest of the staff, but it was still inconvenient, considering that the problem did not cease to exist; our floor remained wet until check out three days later. When we asked for a room change, they would not grant it, and there was a sign at the front desk which stated that they did not give refunds for early check-outs. I would assume that the reason behind this policy is that they charge hundreds a night for a beachfront room, when many surrounding hotels charged as little as seventy nine dollars a night for one.

One thing I can say for this hotel is that the housekeeping staff was very kind to us, and we were certain to thank them for it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Thank you for a great trip with my family. The staff was the most friendly and accommodating. The lazy river and pools were a big highlight with the kids. Clean rooms and happy times! Keep up the good job.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goatislandlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Address: S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $59 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing