We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families to Stay who are on a budget.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #19 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, NC
1 review
“Great Place for Families to Stay who are on a budget.”
Reviewed June 24, 2009

As a mother of 6 children all under 12 years old, my husband and I have a hard time finding accommodations that cater to a larger family on a budget. This summer we decided Myrtle Beach, SC would be a great place to visit. We booked at the Best Western b/c of price and room size. We all wanted to stay in one room and the Queen Suite was perfect. Upon entering there is one queen size bed, tv and dresser. The middle of the room moving towards the rear had a kitchen area. Refrigerator, stove, small sink and microwave. Silverware was provided, as well as plates and bowls. There was also a small table with chairs. Off the kitchen was one bathroom that did work well for the family. Past the kitchen was another room with its own tv and dresser and 2 more queen sized beds. We put three kids per bed, shut the door and they all slept well.

We were also excited b/c this hotel has 2 pools, 2 hot tubs and a lazy river. The outdoor pool, lazy river and hot tub are across the street from the beach in the main building. We stayed here b/c it was cheaper, but easy access to the kids favorite part of the trip (the pool) was great. When we wanted to get to the beach we just drove 2 seconds across the street to the hotel's beachfront building. We parked for free, had access to that buildings indoor pool and hot tub, and they had their own beach access ramp complete with outdoor wash off the sand showers.

The greatest part was that everyone was so friendly and helpful. This hotel has a free continental breakfast. You can choose to eat in the lobby area, complete with tables and chairs. For a small fee you can fill out a card and get breakfast delivered to your room. For free (and what we did) was fill out our breakfast order nightly and filled out what time we wanted to pick it up. Then my husband would go down and they would have it ready for him to bring back to the room. Choices included belgian waffles, bagels, cereal, hard boiled egg, oatmeal, danish, muffins, fruit cups, and an assortment of juices, coffee, milk and tea.

They also had coin operated laundry room available if you needed it. Electronic safes were also in every room to store valuables. Since it is a family hotel guests under 21 had to be with parent or guardian and quiet hours are observed from 11p to 8a each night.

We had a wonderful time at the hotel and will definitely stay there again when we go to Myrtle Beach. It may not have a lot of bells and whistles, but if you are looking for a family friendly hotel with great staff then we recommend trying this one. They also have several cottages and an apartment available for those looking for something more homey.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingoRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    539
    175
    79
    38
See reviews for
796
667
63
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This place was GREAT! The rooms were clean. The pillows were to die for! AWESOME! Very comfortable. The place was huge with even a full size refridegerator, stove and fully equipped with dishes, silverware and detergent. I was Shocked at all of the things we received. The staff were very accommodating. We arrived extremely late, like in the AM, but the staff greeted us as if we arrived at the normal check in time.

The only problem I had was that I thought this was an ocean front hotel, which it is, but part of this hotel is across the street from the beach, which is the one we stayed out. So, make sure if you want your hotel to be on the beach to indicate so because they have two sets of buildings.

This was a good trip. I would go back again! Oh, and the kids would love the pool with the lazy river and tubes to ride around it..... Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonforDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2009

My family and I were first attracted to Best Western Grand Strand Inn and Suites because they offer an ocean-front non-smoking building. Even if other hotels offer non-smoking rooms, we've found that the buildings in general still smell like old cigarette smoke. But this one does not! The only problem that we encountered was a broken in-room coffee maker, but when we called guest services to report it, they brought us a brand new one within minutes! And with a great attitude, as well! Every employee that we came into contact with, from the front desk, to the nice lady helping us to make our waffles at the free continental breakfast, to the nice housekeeping personnel, all displayed a friendly, courteous manner. We"ve chosen this hotel when vacationing in Myrtle Beach for our last three visits, and will not hesitate to do so again! It may not be one of the fancy resorts, but it is a nice, clean, and smoke-free place to stay for a family with a limited budget!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaconGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

With all the high-rise hotels popping up along Myrtle Beaches Grand Strand, the Best Western is a welcome alternative. With both a beach front property and another building across the street from the beach, you can chose a room style and price that suits you best. I've stayed here several times over the past few years and I my experiences have alway been pleasant. The rooms are nicely decorated and are clean and comfortable, the property is well maintained, and the staff is friendly and welcoming. It's a laid back sort of place, not too big or crowded, with an atmosphere reminiscent of the old mom and pop hotels but with the modern up-to-date amenities you find at newer resorts. This is a great vacation choice for couples or an entire famiily.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_Cameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2009

be careful when you book your room. There are two buildings, a bigger one whose rooms are most probably rather noisy because they are close to a busy boulevard; a smaller building is acrosss that boulevard, on the beach and the 25 caeanview rooms do have all a balcony with two rocking chairs where you can sit and watch the ocean and the beach.these room are all equipped with a full kitchen and a big fridge.
Housekeeping was not always satisfactory, as the room was not hovered every day and sometimes we ran out of cups. Complimentary breakfast in the main building is OK, there is a business centre, too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rennieHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Just wanted we have been coming to this hotel for about 15 years. The staff is great. Always willing to help you with whatever you need during your stay. The pools are wonderful, the rooms are always clean and comfortable, and is right across from the beach. We come here atleast once a year and can never wait to come back. The Best Western is our "home away from home". We would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2girls9704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, Va
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My family and I stayed there on our to AND from Walt Disney World and both times, even though they were one night each, were very nice. We stayed across the street from the Ocean and that was just fine. This "Main" Building has the pool, hottub and the lazy river so it was perfect. In the morning, we just walked to the lobby for breakfast. The entire staff seemed happy to be there. The desk clerk Wayne was helpful with everything, The ladies at breakfast (Teresa and Miryam) were always smiling and willing to do everything for us and even the Housekeepers (Charla and Crystal) would smile and say Hi as we walked by. We even got to speak to the Manager Fred and the Owner Jack who both made sure that we were OK and welcomed us back on our return trip. This place just makes you feel welcome and that is what counts the most

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,960 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing