We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised- Met the Owner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised- Met the Owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

So we had a horrible experience with the first hotel we booked so left that hotel and started searching for another one. Anything economical was pretty much booked for the weekend and although I had seen the hotel from a previous visit to MB I was not overly impressed. However, the price was right and we got one of the last rooms left b4 there was no vacancies. Anyhoo, about our room. It was located across the street from the ocean but our balcony view had a beautiful view of the ocean so I still felt like it was an oceanview room. The room was clean and smelled good, which is always a good sign that the facility is well kept, although the property was a bit older. My rule of thumb is to go to only newer hotels, but if I had to choose an older hotel, this would be the one. The beds and bed sheets/tv was updated and you could tell. Now it was a bit like fort knox with the room key deposit (cash), arm bands for breakfast, had to use key to get ice (which is outside and exposed so understandable). One of the best experiences was meeting the owner who just happened to be still working at 8pm in evening. He mentioned they will continue to do upgrades and improve upon the facility and you can tell by just speaking to him he cares enought to put money back into the facility. Very nice guy and down to earth. Good breakfast, healthful and pastrie dishes available. And the pool, THE cleanest I have encountered at ANY myrtle beach property. Very family oriented facility and it was nice to be able to sit on the balcony and watch the people walk by at night. All and all enjoyable stay especially for those with young ones or on a budget.

  • Liked — service, price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ginams00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    496
    153
    63
    29
See reviews for
729
625
57
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

I am a single adult male who stayed on the first floor of the North Building located on Ocean Boulevard. I stayed at the Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites during the weeked of July 11th to July 13th, 2008.

The other reviews are correct the North, Center and South Buildings are located on Ocean Boulevard while the Beachfront Building is located across Ocean Boulevard on Myrtle Beach. If you are staying in either the North, Center and South Buildings, you will have to cross Ocean Boulevard which can be very busy at times. So, in the meantime, try not to get hit by any cars while crossing the street.

I have to admit that this is a clean hotel but the North, Center and South Buildings are in need of another remodel. When I say remodel, I mean that these buildings could use some new paint, carpeting, and other amenities to look like a modern hotel. This is truly a family oriented motel and the constant coming and goings of familys have taken it's toll on the motel. For the record, I did not go into the Beachfront Building so I cannot rate the condition of that building but, I have to admit that it did look very nice and clean on the outside.

My room was very nice and clean however, it just looked old and "run-down". I noticed that I was missing some washclothes but, that was not a problem, the staff promptly brought them at my request.

PROS: family oriented hotel; continental breakfast; friendly and helpfull staff; it is very quiet from 11 PM to 7 AM; complementary internet access; plenty of parking; and it is located extremely close to 17th Ave S. which makes getting to Myrtle Beach Airport very easy.

CONS: hotel is located far from all of the main attractions and restaurants that Myrtle Beach has to offer; have to cross Ocean Ocean Boulevard to get to the beach; and the hotel is in a very clean but "run- down" condition.

OTHER INFO: if you book this hotel ahead of time on Best Western.com they will immediately charge you for the first night; you have to wear an arm bracelet (supplied by hotel) in order to access the continental breakfast; if you drive a car to the hotel, you have to register your vehicle (give make, model, and license plate number) with the hotel to avoid having it towed if you park there.

  • Liked — It was a quiet hotel.
  • Disliked — The "run-down" condition of the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SRX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

I travel quite often but have never written a review. I have stayed in nice hotels throughout the Caribbean, Central America, Europe and Australia. We decided last minute to take a trip to Myrtle Beach for the 4th of July. We had very few options and ended up staying at the Best Western Grand Strand Inn and Suites and could only be accommodated in the Penthouse Suite located on the top (6th floor) of the property. While spending more money that I had hope to on the trip, the stay was well worth the price. The penthouse has 3 large bedrooms and is decorated for the rich and famous. My 3 kids enjoyed watching movies at night on one of the four TVs with DVDs (one in each BR plus one in the den). My wife and I enjoyed hanging out on the wrap around balcony with panoramic ocean views. Parking just a few steps from the elevator to the 6th floor or to family friendly, lightly crowded beach, free breakfast, clean indoor pool and hot tub, great friendly service, and excellent location to MB's hottest attractions just capped things off. If you're going to MB with a large family or a few of your friends, strongly consider the Penthouse at the Best Western GSI, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Quality of the room
  • Disliked — Rest of the hotel facilities were average.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

We have just returned from a vacation in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina and could not have picked a better hotel to stay at. The front desk was so friendly and gave us plenty of advice on what to do and where to eat. We stayed in an oceanfront room complete with a full kitchen and balcony. The room was clean and comfortable the entire time we were there; we truly could not have asked for more. The beach in front of the hotel was beautiful and not too crowded as far as beaches go.
We never used the pools but they have both an indoor and outdoor and they were always full of people.
Overall, the stay was amazing, the staff was great, and we are already planning a return trip!!

  • Liked — The clean rooms and the beautiful view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wife08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

You have to walk across a busy Ocean Blvd to get to the beach. This review is from a family of 6, ages 5-13. The hotel is suitable for a low frill family weekend vacation.

I agree with the previous review that the rooms are clean and suitable, but the walk across the street to the beach from the main hotel is difficult. The main hotel is old school motor inn style (three floor building facing the parking lot and pool) and has the 2-3 bed "suites" with a kitchen. The outdoor pool and small lazy river is located here. The hotel website is a bit misleading that it makes it look like the entire complex is oceanside when actually it is in two parts. The newer, ocean front building have only 1 bed units, I was told. It looks nice though.

The continental breakfast area was cramped but had waffle makers which are always a hit with my kids.

The management was friendly and helpful. The guests were well behaved and the hotel was quiet at night.

We could see the ocean and beach from our room, but we were on the 3rd floor facing the ocean. Most rooms would not have that bonus.

  • Liked — price, multi bedroom "suite" with kitchen plus free breakfast
  • Disliked — transit to the beach difficult, old hotel, free amenities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank opihiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymom07
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

Ok, so I wanted to stay at a hotel on the beach. Looked around and stumbled upon this particular Best Western. Saw the great reviews and the pics of the hotel building and rooms. Confirmed that the building appeared to be right on the beach and the rooms appeared to be fairly recently updated. Thought the price was great ($90 a night) for a hotel on the beach in June. All these reasons prompted me to book it. Well, the website did state that there were 2 buildings for this hotel but it wasn't explained on the website that the other building (the one not pictured on their website) was actually behind the pictured one ACROSS a busy street. Not a far walk to the beach when you don't have much gear or small children. But having to cross the street with an infant when not expecting to have to was a little frustrating. Also, the rooms in the building not on the beach weren't as nice as the ones pictured on their website. Also, the building on the beach had internal corridors while the other one did not. Needless to say I got stuck in the one across the street. The room was clean and the bed was comfy enough but there was a gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. So outside noise filtered in more easily. Staff was friendly though and the indoor and outdoor pools were nice. They also let us keep our car parked in their lot after we checked out so we could hang out at the beach and told us we could hang out in their outdoor pool all day if we wanted. So there were definitely some pros to go with the cons. I was really wanting to stay in a hotel on the beach with internal corridors so that was disappointing but at least the staff made me feel like it wasn't a total waste. Would stay again but next time I'll make sure to stay in the other building.

  • Liked — good customer service, close to the beach, clean room
  • Disliked — thought both buildings of hotel was on the beach but only one was and I wasn't in it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank emilymom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

There were four people in our outing. Myself, my sister, niece, and grand-niece. We were skeptical about going to a hotel we had not previously visited, but our experience far exceeded our expectations. When we signed in and meet Wayne Cribb, we realized that our vacation had offically begun! Wayne was so helpful and very pleasant to talk with. We wanted a beachfront room, but realized after checking prices all over Myrtle Beach that our budget would not allow it. We booked at Best Western across the street from the ocean. To our great surprise when we entered our room we could look out the window onto our private patio (with rocking chairs) overlooking Ocean Blvd., and low 'n' behold, across the street we had a direct view of the ocean. WE HAD IT ALL! Our room was very clean and accommodating. Continenal breakfast was very tasty and filling. Very family friendly hotel! The pool, lazy river, and hot spa where very clean and enjoyable. To say the least, WE HAD A BLAST and the best time that we could ever remember while visiting Myrtle Beach! No one wanted to head home. We were close to shopping, restaurants, ocean, and parking was no problem. We felt very safe and secure in our room. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice clean place. If you want action, there is plenty, but if you desire peace, quite and solitude you can have that also. We are already planning out next two outings to Myrtle Beach and you can just guess where we will be staying! Hope to see you there, you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, convenience, and location.
  • Disliked — Very low lighting and slow internet service.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spanky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing