We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average hotel with a high price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way home from Florida and I can't say that I was either disappointed or impressed. It was pretty much what I expected especially for a resort area hotel at the beach. We stayed in one of the suites and it was pretty spacious and very clean. Our room faced the pool and we never had any issues with outside noise. It was very convenient to the beach, just a quick walk across the street and it also had a decent pool. I do however feel I paid too much, but as I said it is common for any beach resort hotels that are clean and convenient. The breakfast area is tiny as well as the parking lot, if we had our truck I'm not sure what we would have done, very tight especially when people leave their cars to check in.

We live in a resort area ourselves and pretty much know there is alot of traffic (cars & people) roaming around the main strip, it just comes with the territory. We never felt unsafe and my husband and kids even walked to the store at night. I would stay again for a better rate, a big plus is they have a great variety of rooms for everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was our all American beach experience and our R & R, before flying up to Philadelphia, and we were sadly disappointed with the beach.However on the plus side and located on the far side of the highway along South Ocean Boulevard is Best Western Pluswhich faces its sister building with its ocean views and frontage. We had arrived at Myrtle Beach without pre-booking and had spent a friutless hour trying to get reasonably priced accomodation. Those on the beach frontage were either too big and expensive; too dirty and horrible rooms or let out to youngsters (18-25) who were intent on partying all night.

The Best Western came up trumps on all counts, reasonably priced ($149 per night for the room), helpful and intelligent staff who previewed the rooms available, good sized pool and tube stream adjacent to the lobby and an excellent complementary breakfast.The rooms were of a good standard, bed comfortable and the shower great. There is free access to the internet both in the rooms and in the lobby. There was a noteably emphasis on cleanliness both with the hotel and the pool.

We had selected Murtle Beach as it was marketed as a "world-class vacation destination". Well we have been to a few of those and Myrtel Beach comes no where close! It has the ocean, sandy beach and a yarwning sprall of high and low rise beach front hotel. It lacks any real character or charm. At $30 for a chair and brolley, payable to the lifeguard, it also has a feel of ripping the tourist off. I should have used Tripadvisor better and then I might have found Pawleys Island at the southern-most section of Myrtle Beach and enjoyed the laid-back, unspoiled vibe of one of the oldest summer resorts on the East coast.

Room Tip: Check it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepostie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

First of all, we booked through another online website, because TripAdvisor didn't even show it in the results for Myrtle Beach, which I find odd as it's clearly listed here.
We made a reservation for 3 nights but only stayed one.
I had booked there based on reviews and, mostly, the map, as we wanted an oceanfront property.
Thing is, that hotel has 2 buildings, and only a few suites, the indoor pool and few facilities are in the oceanfront building. The rest is across the street and looks like a very cheap motel.
The outdoor pool is stuck in the middle of the parking lot and very close to the busy street (and it's pretty small).
We got there late, past 11pm, and I must say the area didn't feel safe. Bumped into shady-looking and drunk people going to the lobby to checkin.
The desk clerk was courteous and accepted to remove the 2 extra nights we had booked.

The room was clean, but had a weird smell, like they just had shot for bugs or painted.
The bath was very old and chips of enamel were coming off.
It's the smallest hotel room I ever saw. The door just about hits the fridge when you come in and you barely have the space to bring your luggage in!
Of course the kitchenette, even small, is very valuable for many people, but it wasn't enough to make us stay in that place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danshowbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravidaagain, Owner at Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review; by giving us input on those things with which you were disappointed, we can better serve our future guests. I am deeply sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. I apologize that the room did not smell clean, that you felt unsafe in this area, and that you were unhappy with the size of your unit. For future reference, however, we are always willing to work with you on finding a different room for your stay; we do, in fact, have 19 different room types, many of which are suites. Furthermore, our hotel is constantly being renovated- several different room types have been totally updated this summer, and we fully repainted the entire exterior of the hotel this past month. We are high on TripAdvisor because we are consistently recognized as a clean, high-quality property with excellent customer service. I would love for you to return sometime and give us another try; we would be happy to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Terribly overpriced when compared with other hotels just across the street. Many of them (with numerous pools, right on the beach, same or better amentities) charge only half of what this Best Western charges. Just walk across the street and enquire about other hotels' rates first before booking a room at this Best Western. Nothing spectacular at this hotel. Although Best Western is our favorite hotel brand, this establishment was rather an exception. When we asked for a quieter room because we were with our small children, the manager on duty assured us that this is going to be the most quiet room. There were plenty of rooms available at the hotel on that day, the parking lot was almost empty through the night. They gave us the worst possible location- a room with windows within a few meters to the main road so we could not sleep well because of the traffic noise. Mind you that we are seasoned travelers, unspoilt by luxury accommodations, but even when we stayed in a hotel in the center of such a busy city of Damascus, Syria it was not so uncomfortably noisy like here at Grand Strand. Their complimentary breakfast was a joke- a few boiled eggs and cereal with milk. The rooms was OK, but nothing great, it showed its age. We expected to get a much better service, food, and room for $120 that they charged us. The only good thing that the hotel hs is their lazy river, and a swimming pool. While the lazy river was heated, the pool was not, so we could not use it anyway. Go across the street and get same or better amentities for under $60!

Room Tip: Do not take rooms facing the pool or main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravidaagain, Owner at Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for your review; we appreciate that you took the time to give us input regarding your stay. Primarily, I apologize that you were disappointed with our accommodations, and I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by exterior noises during the night. We strive to make each guests' experience excellent, and so we will certainly take your words into account.

However, I would like to address a few of your concerns regarding our property. First, though there may have been empty rooms in the hotel during your stay, we have numerous room types; there may have been no units that would been a fit for your party. Regarding your comment about our breakfast selections, you failed to mentioned our made-to-order Belgian waffles, hot biscuits with sausage gravy, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, and other meal options. Furthermore, we are constantly updating our rooms- we just renovated 25 units, adding updated furniture, new 37" flat screen TVs with DVD players, and Kingdown Pillow Top mattresses. In addition, both our outdoor and indoor pool were heated at the time of your stay; if there was an issue with the temperature, I wish you would have brought it to our attention. We do our best to fix any problems that arise for our guests.

We hope that next time you travel to the Myrtle Beach area, you give us another opportunity to serve you. Thanks again, and have a wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We left a awful hotel in myrtle beach, we came down to this one, and the staff was so helpful and nice! They made us feel better after our vacation had gotten of to such a awful start! The clerk up front , madison, was one of the best front desk people I have ever encountered!!!! The rooms were amazing, view was great, and its close to everything!!!! I would reccomend this hotel to everybody who is in the area!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikholmes2634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Our family stays here every year and it is always clean and the people are nice/helpful. It can accommodate any size group and various room styles to make it comfortable. Of special note this year is that I accidentally left my room safe open one day, and what could have been a disaster was averted by an honest staff. I'm very proud to say that nothing was missing and I reported this good deed to the front desk when I checked out. In a world where we often hear about the "bad", I definitely wanted to be sure this "good" was reported as well. Great stay and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: 1103 has a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Standard roadside hotel masquerading as the Ritz at thse prices. Don't complain about anything though - the staff and manager will go blue in the face explaining how no one else has an issue, and that it must all be your fault.
If you're unlucky enough to have a room on the north side, don't expect to be able to use the advertised WiFi - a transformer is blocking the signal, not that they will admit that. Instead, back to telling you that you're the only one that has a problem.
Rubbish service, average hotel, insane prices. Skip this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravidaagain, Owner at Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us input regarding your stay; we are continuously seeking out ways to improve our guests' experience and will certainly take your words into the highest consideration. Most importantly, I would like to apologize that you felt frustration with the way our staff interacted with you when you brought up the issues with connecting to the Internet. It is important that you know that we always want to hear guests' complaints so that we have an opportunity to fix them. We're incredibly sorry that you felt otherwise. Furthermore, I'd like for you to know that since you left, we have reconfirmed that the free wireless internet is currently working in the North building. Future guests can be confident in the services we provide. Again, thank you for taking the time, and I hope that you give us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,941 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,064 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Address: S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $59 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing