We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Okay for the value price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
Ranked #69 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay for the value price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Travelled to CIS in Myrtle Beach while working @ the oceanfront. The hotel is beside a strip club, which gave us a few jokes, but we didn't hear any noise from it. The rooms are typical for CIS, but did have way too much carpet freshner. The view from our window was a tree which was fine. Glad we remembered to ask for an upper floor, wood frame building, and you could hear lots of foot traffic. Also could hear all the neighboring rooms until about 11pm and thankfully everyone quieted enough that the a/c fan could drown out the rest of the noise.

Room Tip: Always stay on top floor @ Country Inn & Suites or you will not get any rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneFreemanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    78
    59
    30
    30
See reviews for
183
54
19
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLeansville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I came to Myrtle Beach for my son to play in the Triple Crown Summer National baseball tournament. I wanted a hotel with breakfast, a pool, and a convenient location to get me in and out to the ballfields. I also wanted comfort since I was going to be there for a week. I could not have had a better hotel. Staff was wonderful and friendly. The pool being indoors and open until midnight was a plus. My son could play ball all day, and still had a chance to swim and cool off in the evening. The breakfast had everything you could want. Our room was spacious and very clean. You do have to drive by a gentleman's club to get to the hotel, but once in the parking lot you can't see the club. I never heard one bit of noise from the club either. We had a fantastic trip, and next year I will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Wendy,

We look forward to having you back as our guest.again.
THANK YOU,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Where to start about this property. We arrived in town early around noon. Check-in time was 3:00, but we thought we would stop by and just see if we could check-in. Well, the room was not ready so we had to leave and come back. It would have been nice if there would have been a place to store our luggage, but that was not offered.

We had a two room suite at the hotel. When you walked in there was a family type sitting room with a couch, chair, and a desk table with two chairs. Then as you walked towards the bedroom the bathroom was on the left, and an area with a coffee pot, microwave and fridge was on the left. A little farther back was the bedroom with two queen beds.

The couch was very uncomfortable to sit on, and the bathroom had such poor ventaliation that it would be steamed up for 12-20 mins after your shower. The room was always damp, and your cloths felt like they had not gotten dry before you put them on. After my 6 year old daughter took a shower and got out and danced around in the room her feet were so black from the dirt on the floor. Overall, the room left a lot to be desired.

The breakfast at the hotel was not good at all. On our second morning they served scrambled eggs that were cold and watery. The waffles were good, that you made yourself. The oatmeal was lukewarm to cold, and the potatoes were kind of tough. One night around 11:00 I went to the lobby to get coffee, and the desk clerk told me there was no coffee and he was not going to make any. Keep in mind, every other night I went down to the lobby and got coffee, this was the first time it had happened.

Finally, I wanted to mention the indoor pool. It was a ncie pool, 5 ft deep and heated. However, the water was so cloudy you could not even see your feet in the deep end of the pool. I'm not sure if it is because of the number of chemicals in the water, or if it was just dirty.

I have stayed at other Country Inn and Suites and had very positive experiences. This location was by far the worst I had ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattW0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us. As we do try to have rooms available when possible prior to the 3:00 check in time, it is sometime beyond our control.. We do not always have availability for bags during busy times as we want a secure area for our guest to store luggage and we have limited space available. We will be discuss your housekeeping issue with our staff. The pool was not able to keep up with the usage and we did have to order a part. I do want to assure you that we were checking the chemical balance during that weekend. Please except our apologies as it always are intent to give the best service and hospitality that we can..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here one night before heading over to our ocean front hotel at myrtle beach. It was very quiet in our room. The matress was very nice and the room was clean. I felt safe and really enjoyed the stay here. The staff was very nice and pleasant. The only complaint would be I think the entire hotel decided to go to breakfast at the same time. Through the week the breakfast only runs until 9:30 instead of 10:30 as on the weekend. They didn't have enough room for everyone to sit in the dining area. The staff was very helpful and had people eating at the pool area. Overall not a huge issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Disney4meandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
I thank you so very much for your kind words. We do try hard to meet and hopefully exceed our guests needs, We look forward to having you as our guest in the future .

Kindest of Regards,
Sandra
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here to attend a college orientation for CCU. I have never stayed at a Country Inn and Suites but have heard many people speaking positively about the friendly atmosphere, cozy lobbies and free cookies, so I was happy to be trying one out. From the very start, this hotel was a disappointment. First of all, the location leaves a lot to be desired - there is a strip club right next door, as well as one across the street. On the other side of the hotel is a budget motel and it is right beside a busy highway, so I am not sure about the safety of the area. The lobby was small and cramped, with no country home feeling at all. We went up to our rooms and noticed lots of strange odors in the elevator and in the hallways. Mostly, it smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. As we approached our rooms, the smell became stronger and stronger. The cleaning staff was in the hallway and we asked about the cigarette smell. We were told that although it is a non-smoking hotel, lots of people smoke in the rooms anyway and that they would spray our room with air freshener if we wanted. The rooms were average, nothing special, and smelt of smoke. The TV was the old fashioned type, and the remote did not work. Several calls to the front desk to report the remote problem went unanswered. When we came back the following evening, I found that the cleaning staff had left some cleanser in the bathroom - it appeared that they had left the job of cleaning the room half completed. My sister's room had towels left in the bathroom, one with large writing in permanent marker on it, the other with visible stains on it. Also, one of the beds was made up, the other left unmade. Strange. We did not use the pool or hot tub because they looked so cloudy and dirty.
Breakfast was typical of these types of places, nothing that great, and seating on both mornings was tight. There were never cookies available during our visit.
On a positive note, front desk staff was friendly.
I would never stay here again - the daily rate of over $100 is much too high for the caliber of the hotel, and its location is far from ideal. With all the great options in this area, I would search elsewhere for accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caymanfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
I understand from your letter that we did not met your expectation during your stay. I am sorry that the remote issue was not resolved and your housekeeping issues were not met. It is our policy not to remove any items left on the bed and that sometimes means a bed may not be made up. If this was not your case please except our apologies on that matter. I do want to assure you that we have never had any safety issuers at the hotel, We are not a large hotel and do have limited rooms so we do not have a large lobby area, however our breakfast room is left open for this purpose. With July being the high tourist season are hotel does run close to full during that time and sometimes those great cookies do not get made, and we get so busy that we sometimes fall short of our customers needs. As some of your matters we can not resolve we will certainly work on the ones we can.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Only a short 10 minute drive and you are at the Beach. Only 25 minutes from the North Myrtle Beaches as well. Very convenient to a multitude of area shopping and restaurants. Felt very safe throughout our 3 night stay. Breakfast at Country Inns and Suites is always great and this location did not disappoint. The entire Front Desk Staff was excellent and Lori Beth was exceptional. I totally recommend this Hotel if you are going to Myrtle Beach, you'll love it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Suite, especially if you are staying more than 2 nights. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lori Beth & the rest of the staff could not possibly be more friendly & accommodating. The hotel stayed neat & clean and breakfast is as good as you can get at any chain restaurant in town. A little bit of a drive to the beach, but otherwise an Awsome experience

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog6852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#61 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#87 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#59 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
#30 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
Address: 3516 Waccamaw Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-9428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Country Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach
Country Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing