We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for what it is”
Review of Ocean Plaza Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Plaza Motel
Ranked #156 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine for what it is”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is not a five, four, or even a three star hotel. This hotel is fine for what it is. I needed a last minute hotel on our way down to Florida. This popped up and I took it. The rooms are clean, in decent shape and there was plenty of hot water. On the other hand, the towels were pathetic, I had to get toilet paper from the front desk and I felt like I took my life in my own hands every time I used the elevator. With that said, it was right on the ocean and it was perfectly fine for one night. I certainly wouldn't consider staying any longer than a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. We are an older property, and we do cater to an economy traveler offering the lowest rates we possibly can. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    47
    32
    111
See reviews for
81
64
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My stay was horrible from day one of going to the hotel...I had reserved 2 rooms one for me,my husband and kids and the other for my in laws...my in laws were staying july 19 - 21st but me and my husband stayed through the 24th of july...we go to check in and they had both rooms leaving out on the 21st so they had to fix the problem..on the 21st my husbands goes to check out his parents and was told that we were leaving on the 23th which was supposed to be the 24th... i talked to a manager and she told me that the whole mix up was my fault because other members of my family had called to make reservations ( rooms that were not in me nor my husbands name) she was very rude and i have never heard a manager speak to a customer like she was talking to me....i will never stay here again the front desk are horrible..they are very rude and need to learn how to talk to people and respect their customers and the maid service was horrible i had no toliet paper or towels..i had to go to the office bathroom just to get toliet paper...never have i been to a place to where the manager had me in tears from being so furious and frustrated!!! they need to get a new manager and employees that can get reservations right the 1st time! and who can show some respect to their customers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I came here for valentines day and it was a great place to stay. We loved it. It wasnt the prettiest place to stay but it was cheap and worth it. We stayed here for two nights and it was 80 dollars. The bathroom was great. Had enough towels for us. They also let you do this thing where you check in your room and make sure everything is good. The tv was great. They had all good channels. Had a great oceanfront view. The only thing i disliked about this place was the silverware, plates and pots were so dirty so bring your own or buy a dish soap to clean it. Our room didnt smell at all. The bed was comfortable. We saw a roach which we didnt like so they should fix that. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. We would love to come again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessahra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked this hotel thru a service called "Book It." I was staying here July 16 thru July 20, 2013. I had requested a 1st floor room because of my handicap. Upon checking in I was told that my room for two adults was on the 7th floor the top floor. I decided to go take a look at the room and upon getting on a smelly elevator with no ventalltion I noticed that the elevator only went to the 6th floor, not knowing you had to get off and walk up two flights of steps. The room too was smelly but nothing Lysol and Febreze could not handle, room rated a 7 out of 10. It did have an ocean view but the balcony did not look safe. I could not stay at this hotel because of my health. My daughter and niece did stay. I exchange rooms with my niece, to a really nice resort. During their stay the linen was never changed, beds were never made up, room was never vaccumed or clean in any way. They called the front desk on several occasions and never got a answer. Only got towels twice the entire stay there. Me, myself would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. Unfortunately, we are unable to gurantee floor levels or room numbers. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Where should I start? One of the worse motels/hotels on Myrtle Beach is a starter. I wanted to check out when we got there but hubby didn't want too. How in the world does this place pass inspection is beyond my imagination and belief. The maid never showed up to clean our room or replace the towels. The keys don't work and are so outdated. There was mildew/mold or in the room and bathroom. This place needs to be knocked down and a wrecking crew needs to come as rebuild it. The only good thing was the ocean view. 4 starts my butt LMFAO. If I shared photos on here they probably would feel embarrassed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had to write this review because of all the reviews I read about this hotel when planning our vacation. I was weary about choosing this hotel because of all the bad things that were said about it but it was fine! Is it a 4 star hotel, no, but you aren't paying for a 4 star resort! The ocean view was beautiful, the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, what else could you need! Was the room spotless, no but the maid came every day was very friendly. The hotel is right on the ocean which in itself causes a musty order you would have that in any hotel on the ocean! also the dampness from the ocean causes moisture in your room witch does give it a "icky" feeling but that is not because the room itself is dirty because it is not! I also want to say that we found the staff very friendly and helpful! Kim you were awesome!!! I had read what people said about the " rude" staff, and it simply isn't true. If they were rude I would have to say you should look at how you acted towards them! If you want to stay at a decent hotel with a great price do not be afraid to stay here. We were completely happy with our choice and plan to return!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a beautiful View worth the little extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I can't imagine this motel would pass a health inspection in the room we stayed in. The cabinet doors in the kitchen were falling off the hinges. The only lights available were a small lamp on the nightstand and a tall one. Both lampshades were cracked, and the electrical part of the tall lamp was so loose we were afraid to use it much. The towels were as rough as sandpaper, and had hairs on them. The toilet wouldn't flush everything down, the shower curtain was disgusting, and the water pressure was almost non-existent. The motel still uses actual keys instead of cards, and the deadbolt key wouldn't hardly turn. We were on the seventh floor, but the elevator only went to the sixth floor-we were told nothing of this until we checked in! There was only one elevator for all the guests to use AND the poor housekeepers, so it took forever waiting around and good luck finding a luggage cart. The elevator even broke down while we were there with someone inside, and trust me that elevator didn't have enough ventilation or air conditioning so hopefully they were okay. I would have happily paid a little more for a decent place to stay if I'd known how bad this one was going to be.

Room Tip: Side view rooms do not have private balcony! You share one with the rest of the people on that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
694 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#93 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#130 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Strand
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Stra...
#157 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
997 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Property: Ocean Plaza Motel
Address: 1005 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing