We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
20
48
48
33
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
48
48
33
116
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 265 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2011

i am a loyal customer me & my family come to your hotel every year for the last 7 yearsi was supposed to stay 3 days instead i stay 2 days forgot what date i was supposed to come got there a day later.took my money for the day i missed i felt like i should have least got half price or stay another day. this year door on handle was broke & lights out in bathroom. i love the hotel and i dont want your to loose my bussiness however i feel next year if i decide to come back, i should get half price or a extra day. thank you mrs. bessie moore.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 4evermoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Despite all the bad reviews this motel has, we were very pleased with it. We had a room facing the ocean with a small kitchette with it. We were able to cook some of meals in our room, which helped with our budget. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and housekeeping cleaned the room everyday we were there. The only downside were the teenagers playing outside in the pool at all hours and the time the elevator was not working, of course that had to be the day we were leaving, had to haul our suitcases down 2 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza. I am glad to hear that overall you were able to enjoy your stay. We would love to have you as a guest again with us next time you are in the Myrtle Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Do not stay at this motel. The room was so dirty we had to go buy sheets, antiseptic and Lysol before even thinking about touching anything. All night long you were awoken by noisy rowdy teenagers banging the doors, windows, ceiling and floors. The manager screwed our reservation with another at the sister hotel and then part way into the stay banged on our door in the morning accusing us of getting into a fight with other people and showed us dried blood on the backside of a curtain as their supposed "truth". They called the police who didn't ever even mention pressing charges but told us we needed to leave. We had only stayed two nights when we paid in advance through Hotels.com for 3. They didn't offer a refund and said we had to call Hotels.com

This place is disgusting! do not stay here

Room Tip: Stay somwhere else!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mailstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polymgr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Please accept my sincere apologies if your room number got mixed up for the one at the property next door. We do have two properties side by side with some same room numbers. We have limited accessibility to changes, cancellations, or refunds of reservations booked through a third party company such as Hotels.com. If you had made front desk aware that the cleanliness of the room did not meet your standards after check-in they would have been happy to assist you at that time. Again, my sincere apologies for any mix-ups.
Thank you,
Brenna Gahagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We have stayed here on 4 different occasions but this was the worst by far! My purse was stolen and not only did they not offer to comp the room, they told me for a fee they would mail it back if maintenance found it somewhere else in the building! No amount of money could compensate for the 5+ hours on the phone cancelling cards!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momof122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My male friend booked online with Traveloity and of course the pictures told a different story. This place was sooooo nasty, out dated and just not taken care of. We had to go next door to pay and get ther key because the office was closed ( what a jip) then once at the room, it was horrible, we were not satified at all. The bed may as well been on the floor it was so low, the cover was so worned out, the kitchen carpets were barely hanging on and the bathroom was stacky. Once back to the hotel next door to return the room key, the policy is that if u cancel you will have to pay for one night anyway. This is a SCAM....they also charge a 6.00 resort fee, but this aint no resort looks like a hotel from "A time forgotten".

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews