We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining Oceanside”
Review of Cypress Room

Cypress Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #171 of 877 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dining Oceanside”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fine Dining in elegant, but informal dining room ocean side, overlooking a beautifully landscaped
lawn. Servers are knowledgeable, food is prepared by an award- winning chef, with an expansive
menu. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dksigmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    40
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“very good, but expensive for dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

dinner was great, they even came around with a free side dish (ours was pineapple cheese casserole that ended up being the best part of our meal!) but expensive. Breakfast was excellent and we thought was a good value. They give you more than enough food, so if you are a light eater, you would probably be better off ordering a la carte.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoyed the friendly and prompt service at the Cypress Room. The waitstaff and manager were very attentative. The food was well prepared. The appetizers were excellent. Our main courses were very good. The creme bruelle was outstanding. The atmosphere is a bit dated, but the restaurant was very clean and well maintained.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronica48443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Breakfast quality is excellent, as well as the price and service, not to mention the beautiful view of the ocean. Beats going to a waffle house hands down. We did it every day of our stay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Crabtownguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Island Vista... Great place to stay, not so good resturant.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm suprised by the great reviews. I wonder if they always have the same chef. This was the worst meal I've ever had at a resturant. I had 3 other guest with me that could not eat their meal. I loved the condo but will not eat at this resturant again.
The service was great but the food was less than bad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Cypress Room, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I must say that sometimes it is difficult to begin a reply… your review is certainly definite in terms, but I wish I could have more details with regard to why. The Cypress Room has always been a source of pride for the Island Vista family, and Chef Mike has had a central role in making it so. He is often the subject of culinary arts magazine reviews, and there are many high-profile awards for that art that adorn the walls & shelves around the Cypress Room. Tastes do vary, and if one entrée didn't work, another might… in any case, the staff and especially Chef Mike are there for the single purpose of providing the best to our guests. A word to him at that time might have gone a long way toward a more satisfying experience for you.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Room also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cypress Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing