We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Tradition”
Review of Springmaid Pier

Springmaid Pier
Ranked #21 of 117 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Springmaid Beach Resort, the Springmaid Pier stretches 1,060 feet into the ocean. The pier holds the state record for Spanish Mackerel and hosts numerous fishing tournaments. The pier's BARnacles Bar & Grille offers tasty food and drinks in a casual atmosphere. The kids will especially enjoy the hand-dipped ice cream!
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A New Tradition”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My family and I visited last year for the very first time. It was an awesome before dinner activity! We loved walking up and down the pier, watching the latest catch, and just enjoying the sites! It costs $1.00 to get a wrist band that gets you access to the pier. Parking can be a hassle, but it is worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovecows16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    131
    64
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit during your stay.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Springmaid Pier was a lovely surprise we found during a long walk on the beach. The pier itself is interesting, with fishermen to watch, and plenty of seating to gave out over the ocean. My favorite spot was the old-fashioned porch swing. The pier also includes a gift shop and a restaurant/pub. I had a very good salad for lunch there one day, and tried the Nutty Monkey, one of their frozen drinks. The view is great, though the windows were not as clear as I would have liked -- maybe a film of sea salt? Despite that, this became a favorite destination during my beach walks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Sunset walks”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great way to end an evening. Hit the Pier at sunset and you won't be disappointed. The view is wonderful and the pinks and oranges shining on the water is very calming. At that time of day, there are fewer people on the Pier.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MNtravelbugs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Barnacles”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

While the pier is beautiful there certainly are others along the boardwalk that are pretty spectacular as well - but don't even think about eating at Barnacles. Its dirty. The food is sub par to say the least. If your hanging out on the beach and need a quick hot dog or burger - fine. But, expect to pay a lot for a little and lousy at that. I'll sum it up quickly "tourist trap for those trapped there at the hotel"

Helpful?
3 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
436 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The pier is at the end of South Ocean Blvd. located behind the Springmaid Hotel. Unlike other piers in Myrtle Beach this one is free. Plenty of people were fishing off the pier as we walked along. It provided a nice view of the water front.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springmaid Pier also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Springmaid Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing