We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
Review of Springmaid Pier

Springmaid Pier
Ranked #26 of 119 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Springmaid Beach Resort, the Springmaid Pier stretches 1,060 feet into the ocean. The pier holds the state record for Spanish Mackerel and hosts numerous fishing tournaments. The pier's BARnacles Bar & Grille offers tasty food and drinks in a casual atmosphere. The kids will especially enjoy the hand-dipped ice cream!
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The pier is at the end of South Ocean Blvd. located behind the Springmaid Hotel. Unlike other piers in Myrtle Beach this one is free. Plenty of people were fishing off the pier as we walked along. It provided a nice view of the water front.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    132
    66
    9
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always part of my trip to the beach”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

An old favorite. I've fished here, but even when I'm not fishing it's worth a buck to walk out and watch what's going on, smell the sea air, and relax. We always have breakfast at the café at least once. While I was there a teenager had what must have been a shark on his line. Fought it for about 20 minutes, the dang thing swam from one side to the other. There was a collective "awwww" when the line broke. Really wanted to see that puppy. I will say that parking used to be better before they built the new tower.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John_S49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice if you can get there”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You have to park on the other side of the hotel as they have guest only parking up close. The attendant is on the lookout for violators and ready to call in the tow truck in a moments notice. You have to park on the street by the trailer park better than a 1/4 mile away. Not worth the effort.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fmattship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishing”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I don't like that you have to pay to go on this pier
Nice place for fishing
Great views
Sometimes you see the jelly fish and sharks
My main complaint is parking and paying for the pier

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 843motherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“slow and simple”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

a good pier to talk a walk , sit and soak up the salt air or do a little fishing to see what you may get.great way to slow things down and relax awhile...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springmaid Pier also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Springmaid Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing