We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
Ranked #88 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good time”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights over the march break, March 8-15. We got lucky with the weather as we were in the mid to low 20s most of the week. This is an average hotel, I would say a 3 out of 5. It was mostly clean, nothing too fancy. The maids were great, always gave clean towels and made your bed everyday. The breakfast was okay, nothing to rave about. The pools were good, one was not heated but the other 2 were so that was good. One thing to say about the pools/hot tub is that they are highly chlorinated, ruined 2 of my bathing suits and turned my daughters blond highlights green. If you are looking for an average hotel then this is it....served our purpose an had a great ocean front view. If you are only booking this for the free breakfast aspect then go elsewhere, it really is nothing too special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDennison, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that overallyou enjoyed your stay here at Monterey Bay Suites. We do hope you will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    366
    203
    144
    169
See reviews for
682
279
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I came here to get away for the weekend. The room was ok, but nothing fancy. The sink continually dripped; I tried to get it to stop and it would not. The bed was comfortable. The view in our room that had an angled ocean view it was ok but not exactly what I expected. While we were there we saw people being thrown out of a room after multiple visits from security.

Note we stayed on the 10th floor within a short distance to the pool and hot tub outside. The pool was fine and we spent a lot of time in the hot tub. But, this hot tub only half of the jets were working in it. The lazy river, and indoor pool on the ground level were nice, in addition the hot tub was nice too. While there we saw someone cleaning the pools and checking ph levels, etc each day. This is a positive note. Also the outdoor space right beyond the pool was very nice with corn hole, swings, areas you could eat outside, lounge around, etc.

The breakfast was all right and you are limited to one trip to the hot buffet items. I had not known this before booking. There was some fruit, cereal, toast, and other items. My main focus was the hot items though (eggs, waffles, grits, sausage, bacon, etc). The staff was all very polite and helpful.

My wife and I got stuck in the elevator nearest to the parking garage. I will say that after buzzing the alarm and help button and talking with staff. A staff member did come up and help us pretty quickly. It was great to see his hand come around the elevator door to pull it open. We had been stuck on the 10th floor and were more afraid of the elevator dropping us down 10 floors. Also, about an hour or so later we went down to the lobby to ask for suggestions for dinner. During that time I heard the man behind the desk on the intercom asking if the people in the elevator were ok multiple times. Then about 20minutes later (while still talking with the Wyndham lady) a person came down mentioning that an elevator was stuck and not opening the door. This is a major concern that after the issues the elevator was not shutdown or signs put up so no one would use it. Also, this may have happened on more than just the one elevator but it does not sound good in terms of possible maintenance. So we took the stairs as much as possible after the elevator incident.

The lady from Wyndham also was making comments pointing out negatives or putting down items in comparison to some of their fancy new Wyndham hotels. I thought that was not in the best taste.

Also, the icemaker on our floor did not work and I had to go down two floors to get ice. Despite all in my review I would stay there again; had it Not been for the elevator issues. The elevator issues are enough for me to not want to go back to this establishment again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trckn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDennison, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your recent stay with us here at the Monterey Bay Suites. We are happy to hear that overall your trip went well and we do want to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred with the elevator during your stay with us. These types of issues are promptly looked into and the elevator company has since been out to the property and addressed those issues.

We do hope that this won't deter you from a future stay with us and please feel free to give me a call at any time if you would like to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Our third March week here and the unit we got had a few problems that were fixed promptly by the house staff. Family friendly place to
stay. The tenth floor heated pool and hot tub
are our favorite. Free breakfast was always worth getting up for. Myrtle beach sand beats west coast Florida sand by a mile!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDennison, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to come and leave a few positive words about your recent stay with us at the Monterey Bay Suites. We are glad to hear that your room issues were taken care of in a prompt manner and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a great hotel resort if you have a young family, or are a senior. We have stayed at the Monterey Bay and Suites for four years in a row in February. While the carpets and comforters are not super fancy or new, they are clean and neat. When we checked in, our first room was a bit smelling of cleaning products, and so they upgraded us to a bigger, better room for the same price! The breakfast buffet is excellent, and the kids really enjoyed it. The new outdoor playground is a nice touch for our youngest. The seven pools are fantastic, and we spent a lot of time in all of them. It is right on the beach - very convienent. Parking is always great. We will definately go again.

Room Tip: Pick an angle suite on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDennison, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We are so happy to hear that we are your home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review for us here at the Monterey Bay Suites.

We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

people where very nice and helpful . would recommend this property to all. We stay in room 1031 right across front of the roof top pool and hot tub. there was always a fresh supply of towels there for your use. staff was very friendly and would recommend for all. especially people with kids the pool is there right next to your room .

Room Tip: we stayed in 1031 right across from the roof top pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDennison, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review for us here at the Monterey Bay Suites. We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to the next time that we get to see you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

When we turned on to Ocean Blvd and saw the building I heard "Home at last" from the car. That says it all. The front desk is great and will turn flips to make your stay enjoyable. Adrian, Lee, and Mark are at th4e front desk and don't forget to see Miss Bunny at the concierge desk. Breakfast is served daily, which adds a great value to to the already reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDennison, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you sir for taking the time to leave such a positive review for us here at the Monterey Bay Suites!!!!!!!!! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!!! And make sure that you keep an eye out for those firey red heads!!!!!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Took my GF here for a peaceful weekend. This is my 4th visit here, my first three came with my kids and ex-wife, so I'm seeing things from a different perspective this time. (By the way, great for kids, they loved this place). No onsite restaurant (other than breakfast) or bar.

The bad - The garage is as tight as many of the reviews claim. But nothing about that is going to change. Go slow, make wide turns to get onto the ramps, and prepare for relatively tight parking spots. I drove a Ford Escape, and had no problems, but an Expediton or Suburban.... No way.

Other Bad - The surface on the bottom fo the indoor pool and hot tub is extremely rough. I suppose it's for non-slip, but I was bleeding when I left the pool, and I'm a strong, thick skinned person. Maybe just an annoyance, but who wants to cut their feet IN the pool?

The Good - Comfortable room. Nice angle view of ocean. Clean. No funky odors. Plenty of towels, place was well cleaned, public areas in good condition, staff at desk and breakfast were very helpful and friendly. A minor problem (only one of two card keys worked) was quickly fixed. WIFI was easy to use and reasonably fast (I didn't try streaming videos, just basic web use).

This place is a good value. My 5 star rating is "for the price"... Don't expect a luxury hotel, but if you expect a clean, roomy, suite with an ocean view, indoor/outdoor pools, which doesn't try to nickle and dime you to death with resort charges, pay WIFI, etc.... This is a good choice.

NOTE: In this price range, the hot breakfast really differentiates this place from the competition. Only drawback is you need to be there by 9:00 am or so.

Room Tip: 10th floor and above gets larger ocean view from angle view suites. The building next door is about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDennison, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Monterey Bay Suites.

We do hope see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#80 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
81 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Property: Monterey Bay Suites
Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3313
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing