We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and well worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
Ranked #88 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Kannapolis, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and well worth it!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'm sorry others have not had good experiences here. I've been here three times and each time has been wonderful. The rroms have been clean and well-cared for, and I've never had to wait too long for an elevator. I love the roof-top pool and the breakfast is nice. The staff has always been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booboo616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    366
    203
    144
    169
See reviews for
682
279
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

First time staying on the beach Monterey Bay was perfect for our family we had a great time staff very friendly and helpful the free breakfast was great and loved the access to the beach and was not over crowded cant wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were scheduled to stay six nights at this hotel, but checked out after the first night. Parking garage is horribly small and not enough spaces available. Exterior of hotel is old and not appealing--cockroaches in garage, but luckily none in room!! Should've never checked in!!! Got to room and upon entering it had an odor, beds were disgusting and blood stain on comforter. Carpet old, greasy and stained. Cabinets in kitchen filled with dust and crumbs, stove streaked with grease stains, furniture stained and old! Very small room, nothing close to what it appears to be in photos. Bathroom so, so small! When I went to get a refund the staff refused. Very rude. Called front desk manager at home and she hung up on me, refusing to refund my first night's stay, so we stayed the first night. One great amenity was the breakfast in the morning---it was hot and well-seasoned. All I have to say is buyer beware!!!! Don't do it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a rip off. Dont believe the pictures on the site. Lies. It is fairly cheap, but not worth it. For the negatives : The free breakfast - not like your every day breakfast. The food was not good and always crowded and dirty tables. And those elevators. Expect a good half hour wait for one. Next, the staff gave you a weird vibe, like they just didn't want to be there. Also room service, or "housekeeping", never got done or did a good job. One day we were left with no towels until 5 PM. The rooms were very small and tight. Not for familes with more than 3 people. The wall bed was discusting and smelled of mold. Lastly, that parking garage. Re-dic-u-lous. Absolutely horrible. Especially if youre driving a minivan. For the positives: the view is pretty good, and the activites for children they had mondays, Tuesdays, thursdays and Fridays. It is more of a kids resort. Lots for them to do. Lastly, the pools were fairly clean. In my opinion, I would not stay here ever again, even if I was paid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilyshakro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We vacationed here with family. The location was great and the room was adequate for our group. The parking garage is tight as others have stated. We found the staff to be very friendly, courteous and helpful during our stay. The breakfast was pretty good (included for the price). The younger ones loved the pools. The access to the beach was okay - did not like having to walk through crowded pool areas to get to the beach - would recommend a ramp for those who may have handicaps. We would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Every floor has a beautiful view. For less noise, choose a room closer to the end of a hall and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumerduck, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I got a room for our daughter and her fiance at this hotel and we stayed at the beach cover resort. I figured that this would give them and us some privacy and we could plan our time together. (fail) They entered the hotel stayed one night which was paid for in advance for 4 days. The rest of the week they stayed with us. Said it was dirty, the staff (especially the front desk clerk) was rude, elevators were horrible. The location was mediocre. When it's free and the adult kids refuse to stay in it...what does that say? Next time all of us will be booked in at the beach cove resort. Hands down...no comparison.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We planned this trip months before and my husband had a heart attack the day before i was ready to leave i was unable to call the hotel with all that was going on. So i sent an email an they stated we had an emergency and wasnt able to make it. the hotel kept the deposit took it as a no show which was not in the confirmation for cancellation. maybe one day you will experience what i went through this past week with my husband and maybe your heart will grow. you can keep the $165.00. I pray you all never go bankrupt over it.
be blessed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank cozetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#80 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
81 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Property: Monterey Bay Suites
Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3313
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing