We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
Ranked #93 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Looking for a new place to stay on Myrtle Beach and thought this hotel looked very nice on a recent trip. The room was just okay and nothing special. Since it was during the winter the room was very cheap, but it wouldn't have been worth much more than we paid. The advertised free breakfast was nothing more and a continental breakfast with scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Tryt to get an Oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We strive to make each guest feel welcome. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us or the Full Free Breakfast. We wish you luck on your next hotel selection in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    366
    208
    144
    174
See reviews for
691
279
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am family of 5 people we have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last year in Myrtle Beach,SC we have 3 young kids that always have a blast here from the lazy river to the rooftop pool. All pools are heated so you can come here year around plus the prices are awesome. We always book a Oceanfront view since the price is always right and the room is always very clean when we arrive. One the biggest perks with booking at Monterey Bay Suites is the free hot breakfest that comes with your room the next morning plus the breakfest menu changes from day to day for people that are staying even longer then one night. I would recommand this hotel for everyone !!!

Room Tip: Book Oceanfront View makes your experiance a blast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a long weekend trip and Monterey Bay had no vacancies - in January - which should tell you a lot about the resort. Our ocean front room was clean and well appointed - not luxurious or brand new, but more than adequate (and I'm very picky). Our room was on the top floor and the view was spectacular. We were most impressed with the staff and customer service - which was extremely helpful and very pleasant each time we encountered various different staff. Our only problem was that our room was right next to the engine room for the elevators, which was loud during the day and evening (not fun if someone wants to take a nap). We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKY79GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Monterey Bay Suites for your time in Myrtle Beach. We do appreciate your comments and hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supply, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

LOVED IT!! staff is friendly. breakfast was awesome. room was great as well. kids loved it too! price of room couldn't be beat! this was my 2nd time here and everyone had a great time we cant wait go again! Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinabutterfly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Monterey Bay Suites for your time in Myrtle Beach. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I often stay at one of our very favorite places, the Monterey Bay Suites. The accomodations are a great value especially with the free hot breakfast. During my last visit, I became ill, but with our ocean front suite, recuperating in our room wasn't so bad. I could still enjoy watching the ocean and folks on the beach. The staff is spectacular and very accommodating to their visitors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REBECCA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Monterey Bay Suites and we do appreciate your continued patronage. We are sorry that you became ill while here but you are correct, the view is great for healing. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friend and I met in Myrtle Beach for the weekend and stayed at Monterey Bay. Yes, the decor is a little dated and yes, the rooms are a little narrow, but it was a great value for the price. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The room was clean and our room had AMAZING water pressure. I am contemplating coming back with my family in a few months. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherryaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is worth every penny. The rooms are nicely kept but a little narrow for a large family, but there are other options. The front desk personnel are awesome, always friendly and willing to assist you. Repairs are done in a timely fashion and breakfast is hot and good. Just get up early to avoid the long line.
The only downside to the hotel is that it looses water pressure when you are taking a shower.
Overall awesome hotel with excellent customer service and don't forget to see Ms. Bunnie to the left of the desk for coupons... :)

Room Tip: Rooms on south side the bedroom view is building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
81 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Property: Monterey Bay Suites
Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3313
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing