We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
Ranked #91 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I often stay at one of our very favorite places, the Monterey Bay Suites. The accomodations are a great value especially with the free hot breakfast. During my last visit, I became ill, but with our ocean front suite, recuperating in our room wasn't so bad. I could still enjoy watching the ocean and folks on the beach. The staff is spectacular and very accommodating to their visitors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REBECCA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Monterey Bay Suites and we do appreciate your continued patronage. We are sorry that you became ill while here but you are correct, the view is great for healing. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    338
    180
    135
    153
See reviews for
612
254
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friend and I met in Myrtle Beach for the weekend and stayed at Monterey Bay. Yes, the decor is a little dated and yes, the rooms are a little narrow, but it was a great value for the price. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The room was clean and our room had AMAZING water pressure. I am contemplating coming back with my family in a few months. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherryaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is worth every penny. The rooms are nicely kept but a little narrow for a large family, but there are other options. The front desk personnel are awesome, always friendly and willing to assist you. Repairs are done in a timely fashion and breakfast is hot and good. Just get up early to avoid the long line.
The only downside to the hotel is that it looses water pressure when you are taking a shower.
Overall awesome hotel with excellent customer service and don't forget to see Ms. Bunnie to the left of the desk for coupons... :)

Room Tip: Rooms on south side the bedroom view is building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Monterey bay for the first time . We normally stay at different places in Myrtle Beach SC. Monterey Bay was as nice as any place we have stayed. The breakfast was something special. not a continental breakfast, a complete meal. The room rates were great. The kids will love the pool. The parking deck is a little close to get in and out, however I have seen smaller places. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosalind950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Full breakfast and away from the busy boardwalk! Staff was very friendly and we had no complaints until check-out. When my husband checked us out we found our room was not under our name. We came in a group (three rooms) I checked in first handed our keys to my husband then helped my mother in law check in. My husband stuck the key in his pocket and we even asked what room we were in and what room my mother in law was in. Some how we got her room and parking pass. Front desk said we swapped keys. This was an honest mistake but Im not thrilled. I called to be sure a note was added to say our rooms where switched. I don't want a fee for a room I wasn't in. They said everything was fine but it bothered me. Different credit cards and last names so how the lady who checked us in got it mixed up I don't know. We'd love to come back again and would hate to ruin our reputation with this hotel over a computer mistake. We visit twice a year and this hotel is very family friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm_am_52307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We apologize for the confusion with your other room. Unfortunately, we are only human and do make mistakes. We do have your reservation noted of the issue. If any issues do arise, we will contact you before we make any charges to your credit card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a great hotel that is in a great location. It has heated pools for the winter months and complimentary breakfast food that was so good! Friendly and helpful staff members. Clean rooms and facility. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lnd1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Monterey Bay Suites and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We still love this hotel! This year the out door pools we heated to a more tolerable temperature. We go straight from the pool to the hot tub...nice!!! Wifi is in each room now so reception is great! Get to breakfast early, the lines get long after 9am.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th floor if you like to be near the heated outdoor pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltadawn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Monterey Bay Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#73 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Property: Monterey Bay Suites
Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3313
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing