We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Our Waikiki Family !”
Review of Waikiki Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waikiki Village
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love Our Waikiki Family !”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I returned for our 15th vacation to M.B. and Waikiki Village - the only place we've ever stayed. We normally travel to Waikiki Village in the Spring and Fall each year. Last fall we were unable to make the trip - so we were really looking forward to this spring trip.

As ALWAYS we were greeted by our Waikiki Family and Friends ... the greatest staff; who always remember you and make you feel right at home.

Tried some new restaurants and attractions recommended by the staff at Waikiki - we always get a good tip from them whether you are looking for a good place to eat, somewhere to go as a group for a evening out, a product you're hoping to buy or a spa day ! Anything you're looking for - they can lead you in the right direction.

I can't finish this review without saying how satisfying it is to come back each trip to smiling faces and great friendships and memories.

Enjoyed some new upgrades this trip ... WI-FI and some nice room updates.

Thank you Nancy & Sandra and allllll the Waikiki family ---

Special shout out to Harry, Larry, Mike, Vena & Sam !! Thank you for always making our trip a good one !

Room Tip: We have stayed in a few different rooms over the years - in our opinion each has it's perks. Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyBerryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Owner at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I appreciate you sharing your comments and I will pass along your kind words to our staff. The real thank you goes out to you for selecting Waikiki for your Myrtle Beach vacation. Many Thanks !!!!

My Best,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    49
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
118
66
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived before checkin time but the room was ready so we were able to get in it early. Checkin was easy. Was given some coupon books. Room is ok. The room and the bathroom were clean. Does have a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, iron board and iron. Overall it is a good value for the money paid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhunt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Owner at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am happy to hear that you found our property to be clean and affordable. We look forward to seeing you here in the future.

My Best,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been staying at the Waikiki Village for several years. The accommodations are immaculate. This is an excellent get away spot for a family or couple. The advantage of a smaller motel is immeasurable. The staff treats guests like family and knows the names of their guests. The cost can't be beat! Nancy is making improvements on a yearly basis, I'm sure as finances are available. We have recommended the motel to friends and meet another couple every year. We have made many friends that we correspond with. We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance_V_1354359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for your many kind words. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Waikiki. Vacations are all about making memories and relaxing. I am so happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us.
Many Thanks !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixfield, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second year my wife and I have stayed @ Waikiki Village and the second time I have reviewed it.
Things have not changed. This is a wonderful place for a couple just wanting to relax and feel at home.
This is a 1960's style motel so don't expect everything the larger "resorts" offer but Nancy, her staff and the long term guests are far superior to any resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frostysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review.Our goal is to ensure that every guest has a relaxing and enjoyable stay. I am so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Waikiki. We very much appreciate our repeat guest. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I began staying at Waikiki Village in the early '80's and continue until today. The friendliness of the owner and staff, as well as the personalized service, keep me returning 20 or more times each year. They know their guests by name. Recently stayed at Waikiki a couple of days prior to a job conference at the Mariott. Simply put, I would much rather have paid to stay at Waikiki than spent the weekend at the Mariott for free; honestly. Can't wait for the summer!

Room Tip: I've never occupied a room that I wasn't completely satisfied with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again and we do appreciate your loyalty and patronage. I am also happy that you find our staff to be very helpful and friendly. i will pass your kind words to the staff. Many Thanks !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went her knowing it wasn't fancy and was cheap. If you're looking for a cheap clean basic place, this is it. No frills. It's an OOOOLLLLLDDDDD place that has not been updated for quite a while. Went on the cheap this time, but next time will probably spend a little more for a more modern atmosphere. An easy walk to the beach was a plus. While we personally had no problems, we agreed with Sue S. on several points. There does appear to be a drug infested place across the street. The color scheme was 'ucky' - but it WAS clean! You could see daylight along side the door and the jam. After checking in the older gentleman stopped us as we were walking away and asked if we had his copy of the receipt because he could not find it. We searched ourselves and belongings and did not have it, yet we felt accused. We suggested several times that maybe it fell on the floor behind the desk, but it took another employee to follow our suggestion and VIOLA - it was there. Didn't offer an apology to us for the accusation. It was a pain lugging large luggage up the steps to the 2nd floor - no elevators. The room attendants were very friendly and excellent! Sad to say, but the ownership needs updated along with the rooms. All in all - great for the $$$.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canamm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review. I am happy to hear that you found our property to be economical, clean and the housekeepers helpful and friendly. As our web site shows, we are a dated property built in the 1963.We take pride in offering a clean and safe environment for our guests. We do have WIFI and we are gradually replacing our TVs.
I am very sorry that you felt accused about the missing credit card receipt. I was the employee that found the receipt and I thought that we did apologize.
I do hope that we will be seeing you here again. Many thanks for selecting us.

My Best,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

For over 25 years we have returned to Waikiki Village Motel...because it is our home away from home near the ocean with clean rooms and great prices. We originally started staying there because that is where our parents decided to spend their winters once they became "snow birds". We are hoping that we will be able to do the same for the next 20 years!!!
Yes, there are more modern hotels in Myrtle Beach but they are not for us. This place is just what we want...it is clean, safe and very friendly. We have looked at many other hotels in the area BUT NONE have the atmosphere of Waikiki. We love the fact that there is a patio with gas grills and tables, a shuffle board and putting green,a hot tub, an outdoor pool and a laundry room. The office is a warm and friendly place where guests gather to visit, watch TV, work on puzzles, use the computer, read the newspaper or have a cup of coffee.
We have made many friends (owners, staff and other guests) and look forward to returning each year to catch up with what they have done since our last visit. We have a Myrtle Beach photo album that consists of many sunrises BUT many more of the people who have been lucky enough to have found out what a GREAT place Waikiki Village Motel is to spend time.
Here's hoping that the Hall family will be in business for many more years...and continue to offer us a VERY special place to stay. We LOVE you and are counting days until we return for our 2014 visit !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dansanmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for writing this review and coming back to stay with us again.We certainly appreciate your loyalty over the years. We strive to ensure that all guests have a positive experience so I am very happy to hear that you find our small motel to be very warm and friendly. It is families like yours that makes this business such a pleasure. MANY THANKS !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#92 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vancouver Motel
Vancouver Motel
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Admiral Motor Inn
Admiral Motor Inn
#49 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#10 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Village

Property: Waikiki Village
Address: 1500 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4596
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Waikiki Village Myrtle Beach
Waikiki Village Motel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing