We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hidden gem in Myrtle Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waikiki Village
Save
You added Waikiki Village to your Saves list
Ranked #38 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

OK I LOVE this place, Im actually writing my review while Im still here and everything is fresh in my mind because I am so STOKED, this place is the the best kept secret of Myrtle Beach. Let me say for you hotel snobs that expect & want all modern luxuries, crazy expensive bedding, towels, room service, etc this isnt the place for you run away . Now, if you are looking for a fair priced CLEAN (cant stress this enough) place to stay that is in a great location with fantastic service, thats quiet and safe well this is the place for you. The Waikiki reminds me of a hotel of the 70's from the colors to the bedding you get basics of everything but for some reason the feel of this place makes it more than enough. I lalala LOVE this place!!!!! It is the last Mom n Pop place on the beach, I seriously hope it lasts forever and stays in the family. I am somewhat a local we live about 40 miles from the beach and we have decided to take once a month for ourselves and just get away for a night or two, that being said Im making next months reservation before we leave. There is something about the feel of this place it just draws you in, but seriously, clean is a huge thing with me and this sweet Mom n Pop place has stolen my heart not only for cleanliness, but also friendliness!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thegirlbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Owner at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for witing a honest and fair review. We are a basic no frills motel and we try our best to offer clean rooms at a very fair price. We appreciate your patronage and your very kind words about our property. We look forward to having you here again next month. It is guest like yourself, that makes running a Mom and Pop Motel such a pleasure.

My Best,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    46
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
105
59
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at the Wakki for 2 months because the other hotel GAZEBBO INN decided to put on a new roof while I was there. So I went to the Wakki---evidently they thought I was family because I was harrassed from the moment I walked in until I left. Xmas parties, lobby parties...I was trying to relax...the only asset was the housekeepers...kudos to them for putting up with the garbage...When I stay in a hotel, I do not want to be harrassed or bothered. If I need something I will ask, otherwise, LEAVE ME ALONE.....It is also a very cold place if the weather does not cooperate..cracks between the doors, fans/lights that do not work properly..maintenance did fix the fan but left a mess in the bathroom all over the towels, etc. The old geezer, owner, tried to tell me I had the best room in the house...I would hate to see the worst....blue walls, green bedspreads, bad paint job..he also has a leery eye.......stay there and suffer!!! Spend more money and go to Bluewater.........nice, nice P.S. Wakki has a drug infested hotel beside it..........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Owner at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We have many snowbird monthly rentals in the winter months and they do have many activities. We invite all the monthly guest to attend these functions but this is certainly optional. I am sorry that you felt harrassed by being invited to all these activities. I am the owner and manager and I wish you had made me aware of that. I personally rented the room to you and you did not have advance reservations. You looked at two different rooms and selected the room you rented so you certainly saw the room decor before you paid. It is my policy that we want all guests to be happy so I wish that you had addressd your issues to me. If a guest is unhappy, we do give refunds so you could have checked out without any problems at all.I have just checked the room you rented and the lights and fan are working so I am happy that these were fixed for you. I was also concerned when you checked out so abruptly.You had asked to stay until April at check-in. You had been sick so I was concerned about your health. You left many personal items in the room and did not tell us you would be leaving. I will save these items for you for 2 months. Please call so we can privately discuss your issues. If I am out of the office, please leave a message/phone number with the front desk and I will call you.

Thanks,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am writing this review based on my trip about three four years back. ( yes I know it's been a while ) but I did enjoy it very much. The resort has treated the family well for many years my father whent there when he was a child and he also to me and I intend to take mine when I have some. The service GREAT the rooms were a little small but it's an older place so it's ok. It's also outdated but like I said its and older place. The pool perfect beautiful view nice people. I do think that in the future some renavations should be done I do believe it will help your amount of costomers increase

Would I come back ummmm possibly a yes. But I do know for one thing the Waikiki Sure has made some great memories.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your Waikiki vacation experiences. We enjoy seeing our families return each year and hope that you will be back again very soon. We now offer wireless internet in each room which has many of our guests very happy. Vacations are all about making family memories and I am very happy to hear that we have been part of yours !!! Many thanks !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012 for the Harley Bike Week..or what's left of Bike Week. This place was recommended to me by a friend of a friend. I really enjoyed the family feel of the motel. It is across the street from the ocean, but it was very enjoyable. Loved the pool although the hot tub was small and inside a glass shed where the chlorine was very strong, made my eyes burn like crazy - but at least you know it's clean! I had room 108 - it was spacious and I enjoyed my balcony overlooking the pool. I even had a small view of the ocean! There is lots of parking here and they also had grills in the back of you wanted to grill a steak or burger during your stay.

Room Tip: I don't think you can wrong with any of the rooms that overlook the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 01Sporty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We keep our hot tub chlorine levels at the state required setting but if you have this issue again, please let us know ASAP. It helps a lot to open both doors of the hot tub building. I hope that we will be seeing you again very soon and remember that your feedback is important to us.

My Best,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Lets just be honest. If you are staying here its probably bc all the other places are full. As was the case when I stayed here. However, it wasn't too bad. It is old as dirt. This place has been around since David Hasselhoff was just a gleam in his daddy's eye. But despite its age it was somewhat clean. If you are looking for a Hilton, this ain't it! If you are looking for a motel 6 this is for you. Born and raised in Sc and coming to MB every summer for years. I've stayed at better, but I've stayed at much worse also! Good Times!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moorhead3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We appreciate hearing from all our guests and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We try very hard to offer clean accommdations at a dated property so if you are looking for new and shiny Waikiki is not what you want. Our web site show this and our prices as well. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you enjoyed your visit to Myrtle Beach. Myrtle Beach is a wonderful place to vacation.

My Best,
Nancy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in Room 136 for 7 days it was a Big room and very Clean.The owners are fabulous,the staff is very friendly. The only thing we didn't like about it was the Beds was Very Hard We did not sleep good at all but other then that we Loved it there and it is only a little walk to the beach but from our room you could see the Ocean and the Pool and Jacuzzi was Nice!! We will be back Next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for spending your vacation at Waikiki Village and for writing this review.We do appreciate hearing from our guests because we want to strive to do better. We regret that you were not satisfied with the beds in your room. Unfortunately for you, we do purchase firm mattresses. The next time you stay with us, please let us know if you are not happy with the mattresses. We will be more than happy to switch your bedding to ones less firm. We appreciate your kind comments about our clean property and staff. We hope to see you here soon !!!!

My Best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Let me first off say that we decided three years ago that we would try this hotel because of all the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. Three years later and this is the ONLY place to stay in Myrtle Beach! We return every year several times a year and we always request a room in the little tiki hut. The owners are fabulous,the staff is very friendly, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Every time we stay here it always feels like coming home. My husband and I never have to decide where we will stay during our vacations at Myrtle, it is a given that we are going to the Waikiki!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmemory2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Just a note to say thank you for writing this review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy staying in our Hawaiian style building. These rooms are very small but are very convenient because of the close parking. You are also very close to the beach !!!! We are definitely looking forward to seeing you here again. We do strive for customer satisfaction so please let us know if you need any assistance when you vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#160 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
#45 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#16 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Village

Property: Waikiki Village
Address: 1500 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Waikiki Village Myrtle Beach
Waikiki Village Motel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing