We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Experience”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is actually my 3rd review of Sandy Beach. We had a terrible experience last year but with some discussion with the management, we decided to try it again this year. this would make or break us. We arived and were checked in immediately. I do not know the lady at the desks name, but she was very nice.
Our experience this year was much better. We had issues with the room next to us smoking on the balcony and management did nothing to fix it. This year, management is definitely trying to fix this error. We still seen a handful of people smoking on balcony's and some by the pool, but it was much better than before.
Our room was clean as always. We again stayed in the 1 bedroom on the Palmetto side. Our favorite room.
IF I had to suggest anything at all to management, it would be to actually have someone in the pool area watching for smokers around the pool and on balcony's. I believe they would pay for themselves after catching smokers.
The other suggestion would be to update the kids playing pool. We have been there 4 years in a row and the spraying sehorses have never sprayed, the artificial palm trees are missing leaves. One is almost bald. Just starting to show its wear and tear.
Lastly, put a foot wash area by the garage. There are so many people that go to the beach to walk and watch the sunsrise and they can not enter the pool area until 8am. This would give them a place to wash their feet before getting in the elevator and going to the rooms.
Thank you Sandy Beach for giving us our great vacation. See you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Michael W,

We glad you made it back after last year and gave us another try. More importantly, YOU HAD A GREAT TIME THIS TIME!!!!!

We do our best with preventing people from smoking as you can see in some of our previous reviews.

We luckily now have a pool attendant that cleans the pools, makes sure everyone has bands and that no one is smoking.

We will definately take the suggestion about the kiddie pool and think about doing something this winter to spruce up the pools!

We are glad that you had a great 3rd stay and a great overall stay. See you Next YEAR

Cheers!
Sandy Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

For the price I was pleasantly surprised by Sandy Beach. Location was very convenient, hotel staff were welcoming and room was better than expected. Room was clean spacious and comfortable. My only complaint would be the pool area seems a little small, but that would be nitpicking. Very pleased overall.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the new building (Palmetto side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Michael J,

Yes, we do have great rooms for GREAT prices. We have a great location right near both the Boardwalk and the Family Kingdom. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks!
Sandy Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Here are the negatives I can come up with. Internet was spotty and slow often. Elevators, bathrooms and some other public areas were dirty with water and sand. There were rarely pool towels. The price during the last night of biker weeks was too high. I wish someone had called us out of courtesy and helped us understand why the rate was so high and what was going on in Myrtle Beach when we had scheduled to arrive.

Pools were nice and warm. The pool deck was cleaned each morning. Our housekeeper was considerate and always got us fresh towels and dishwasher detergent. She did a great job cleaning. The room made us feel right at home - being so updated and clean was very nice. The large bedroom and king bed were fantastic. AC worked great. The views of the ocean were fantastic - we saw a whale and sting rays right from our balcony. Very relaxing to sit outside in the morning and afternoon. Kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. Our kids loved the pull down bed. I appreciated seeing security taking care of matters like the broken Exit signs. I would definitely come back here again.

We had planned our trip at the end of biker week without knowing and hotel staff said that things are crazy during this time. There was a noticeable amount of people around the hotel that were not wearing much clothes and sometimes using language we didn't want our family to hear. During the week this went away but on the following weekend, there was more of this kind of behavior. If you're sensitive to this kind of thing, stay away from the generic souvenir shops around the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Michael H,

Thanks for staying with us. We apologize about the internet and will continue to make internet faster and more reliable for our guests. We will also continue to make sure all the common area's stay cleaner.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool and that the room made you feel like you were at home. You are right, the views at Sandy Beach are the best and whales have been around the last couple weeks.

See you again soon!

Sandy Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

if you smoke cigarettes or drink do not stay at this hotel you will be harrassed the entire vacation by security. I have never stayed at a place where security is in every corner even shining lights up on the balconies no privacy what so ever. Ridiculous. As for housekeeping we didnt see them for three days had to call the office and request towels and a mop and broom because i was going to do it myself. The office clerk did in fact come and do it himself which was nice but not his job. Woke up one morning to the fire alarm going off saying there was a fire evacuate scared everyone to death there where children crying on the steet the fire department was called needless to say a bag of popcorn burnt. Very unecessary. Will NEVER stay here again.




  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessikarhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

jessikarhat,

Sandy Beach Resort is a ALL NON SMOKING RESORT. We let guests know before arrival and at arrival that the resort does not allow smoking except for in designated area's.

We apologize about the inconvenience with the popcorn causing the fire alarm to go off but we take every fire alarm seriously to ensure the safety of all of our guests.

We hope you give us another chance and apologize that your stay was not satisfactory for you.

Cheers,
Sandy Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed 5/17/2014 - 5/24/2014, Great location , great weather , and Myrtle Beach never disappoints but my room or should I say my bed disappointed me. I stayed in the old part of the building room 518 and the bed was far from being anything I wanted to sleep on. I ended up sleeping on the bed that my friend gave up to sleep on the couch. I did however enjoy my stay and have really no other complaints other than the hard bed that leaned, it's time for some updating in that room. Great oceanfront view , nice pool accomadations and like I said great location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Sheila F,

We appreciate you staying with us this May and choosing Sandy Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed you stay overall and had no other complaints but the bed. We will be sure to address this issue and hope that your return to Sandy Beach Resort!

Thanks
Sandy Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Let me first say that I recommended over ten families to this newly renovated hotel. I had the best expectations of my stay as I have stayed here for years! My family pulled up and expected that this stay would be wonderful per usual. However, we were greeted with looks of disgust and felt very unwelcome as they saw our family pull up already stereotyping us for trouble. The security guards acted as if they had to watch our every move and did you know... You can't even stand outside the hotel where you paid your hard earned money to stay at? According to the very RUDE MANAGER, "we accumulated too many ppl" what does that even mean? ...and if you have a large family ...don't even think about it..according to the staff ... Your family should be on a private beach in a beach house as to not "disturb" the young, blonde whose daughter takes naps as if we don't have a family with children as well. What kind of vacation is that? Where they place handwritten notes on your door that states, "no visitors and no company after 11 pm" where there are educated, hard working, grown mothers and grandmothers staying. It's ridiculous! Do not, I repeat, Do NOT stay at the newly renovated Sandy Beach. You won't be viewed as a guest with your family on vacation, but more of the unwanted guest already pinned as a problem

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vacaylady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

vacalady6,

First of all no one is unwelcome at the Sandy Beach Resort. As you can tell with the reviews left by other travelers, this is a isolated incident that only occurred during your stay.

Sandy Beach strives to ensure that once a visitor checks in to the hotel that their stay is relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. You are correct that Sandy Beach does not allow late night partying or loud noise late at night. In short, we promote guests being respectful of other guests while they are staying here so people can relax while on their vacation. When a guest chooses Sandy Beach and pays us for their vacation, we want to ensure they get just that!

Sandy Beach is and has always been a family resort and will continue to be that way. If you are coming to Myrtle Beach to have a fun, relaxing, and enjoyable stay then Sandy Beach Resort is 100% the spot for you!

Thanks,
Sandy Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Overall it was a good stay, plenty of swimming pools and right on the beach for easy access to the ocean. Minor complaints.....only 3 elevators for this massive building making the way in and out very timely. Check in is horrible because everyone arrives at 4 to check in at 5 so prepare to waste an hour in line. Noone oversees the pools very well....lots of kids without swim diapers and lots of non guests sharing the pools. Only 1 security guard and we had to report a "wanderer" for looking through peoples belongings in the pool area but by the time we actually tracked down the guard...the wanderer moved on. Parking is across the street from the hotel( so is most of the hotel parking in the area....it is well lit, but easy target for thrives (lock up!) I think Myrtle beach is trying to clean up...they have a ways to go but overall fun place to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandtmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

mandtmommy,

Thanks for leaving your review of Sandy Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you had a great overall stay and found us a affordable and clean option for travelers coming to stay in Myrtle Beach. We apologize about it being crowded at check-in time. There are 2 other elevators (5 in all) on the south side of the building but it does get very busy at certain times of the day.

We do have a full time pool attendant now and also have wrist bands that are required to ensure only hotel guests are at the pool. We hope to see you again soon at the Sandy Beach!

Thanks again for staying with us,

Sandy Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,297 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,472 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#12 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $78 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing