We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ocean View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Ocean View”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very nice hotel, great staff, large rooms - we had a 1 bedroom suite, separate bedroom and sitting room, loved the set up but was sad that I couldn't hear the ocean at night from the bedroom however, there was plenty of room for the 2 of us. The price was very reasonable. Would go back again but next time I'll sleep in the pull-out bed in the sitting room so I can hear the waves while sleeping.

Room Tip: If you're interested in ocean view make sure to ask for 2nd or 3 floor or higher to get above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandysambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Sandysambo,

Thanks for staying us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay! We are sorry that your room didn't have the bedroom on the oceanfront. Luckily, we do have other units (2 and 3 bedrooms) that have beds located right on the ocean! We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    375
    126
    81
    47
See reviews for
799
340
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Me and my wife travel to the Beach a minimal of twice this year. The Sandy Beach has been our choice twice last year and once this year. If your money is fixed and you want to take the family to a nice location then this is the place. We always stay in the Palmetto Tower in a Ocean Front Suite with full kitchen. The room is always immaculate and views have always been breath taking. We ensure we stay in a mid-level room between the 9th-11th floor and have always been accommodated. The staff has always been receptive and the access to the beach is just a few steps away. The only issue we have faced is the lighting. The lighting in the bedrooms are dim and do not provide the best lighting. The balcony furniture could use replacing and the carpeting is getting a little worn. The do need to invest in better lighting/security in the parking area across the street. I felt I needed to be in extra protective mode when walking from parking area to resort. But, for the price, this is one of the best hidden gems at the beach.

Room Tip: Choose the Palmetto Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUSTICE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
JUSTICE50,

We agree Sandy Beach is the best value on the beach. Our rooms are clean and comfortable for any size family. We try and accommodate all of our guests requests at the resort. We do have a full time security guard that is here on the property all day/night that patrols the hotel and the parking areas. We appreciate all the feedback and will get to work on correcting these problems right away. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a three King Bedroom Suite with two bath. This room 1911 was great right off the elevator. The room was clean and spacious. The kitchen was fully stocked with pot and pans. Washer and dryer.
There were 6 adults and 2 children and a service dog. We had a blast.

Room Tip: 1911 Was the best and will be or only choice from here forward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte28128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Charlotte28128,

Thanks so much for staying with us! Our 3 bedroom King Oceanfront with 2 baths is one of our best selling rooms. It has a great living room area for all of our guests to enjoy and spacious bedrooms! It is one of our best sellers because it accommodate larger parties with its size and its washer and dryers. Thanks for staying and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at this resort for a family reunion weekend getaway. I enjoyed the stay and didn't have much contact with any staff other than security who told you where to park to unload and the front desk for check-in. They both were extremely nice and I had no problems. I enjoyed the fact that the rooms were all ocean front but they need a few upgrades. My room versus my other family members room was old and needs a facelift. The appliances in the kitchen were old and the bathroom with the jacuzzi was also. The carpet needs to be replaced as in the room due to shredding and being worn but the beds were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the newer appliances
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheShe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
SheShe25,

Thanks for your stay here with us! We are happy that you found all of the staff that you encountered as helpful and friendly. All of our rooms are oceanfront and provide great views of the ocean. We do have two different wings of the building which have different furnishings which are reflected in the price of your room. We appreciate your feedback and will work on fixing everything that you have pointed out. Thanks again,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent sept 14th thru Sept 24th at Sandy Beach. Had 17th floor -view lovely.There were no windows in the bedrooms making it very confining. Bulbs in lamps were so dim that we had to share hall mirror to apply makeup-porch furniture so filthy that I wouldn't set my cup down-they did however ,replace it.No overflow parking and we had noplace to park one evening after returning home from dinner.Stain on bedspread very disgusting-certain front desk personnel not helpful and a little rude. Would not stay again-price too high for amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17luckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
17luckie,

We apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. However, Sandy Beach Resort has great rooms and have plenty of parking for everyone. Our room types differ depending on which room that you choose to reserve. Each 1, 2, and 3 bedroom offers our guests a different view, a different price, and can all be found on our website. Our housekeeping does a great job and provides great service to all of our guests. Thank you for you comments and we will make sure to fix all of the problems that you pointed out. We hope to see you again,

Thanks,
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is third year we have stayed at Sandy Beach Resort and I can honestly say the jury is still out on whether we will return there when we next visit Myrtle Beach. For the past two years, I have requested room on the lower half of the building and both years we were placed higher (14th and 12th floors) while our receipt showed we were originally placed on the 4th and 6th and then changed prior to arrival. Both times I asked and was told flatly "we don't guarantee that".

The rooms are clean for the most part, although the carpet could have used a good cleaning (I understand sand from the beach, but it was matted in places). Beds are comfortable. Kitchen was adequate, as was washer/dryer.

There were very few quiet moments because if it wasn't the noise in the hallway, we were listening to vibration/clanging sounds from the balcony railing, although we couldn't see who was tapping on them.

Pools are nice for the children, but we encountered MANY unsupervised,rowdy children (we go in off seasons to try to avoid this), which made it difficult. I took my children out of the lazy river on two occasions due to other children running on the middle concrete area and splashing everywhere.

Although we enjoy the area - close to Family Kingdom, I will be thinking long and hard before I book this again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KYRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
KYRoses,

First of all thank you for your comments and staying with us at Sandy Beach Resort. We appreciate all feedback so we can make our resort better. First, I apologize about being placed on a higher floor than you would have liked. Although we wish we could guarantee room floors, you are correct that we cannot guarantee a room floor due to many circumstances out of our control. However, we will do better in listening to our guests requests. We will also look into and fix your comment about the carpet and we apologize for than inconvenience.

This year we have instituted wrist bands on our pool decks which to help ensure anyone on the pool deck is in fact staying there. This has been very effective and provides a great safe atmosphere for our guests.

We do have a great location next to the Family Kingdom and all the shops. We hope you will come once again to the Sandy Beach Resort. We strive to improve daily!

Thanks,
Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed on the 5th floor and had an oceanfront private balcony. Hot tubs, pools, beach, lazy river and descent prices made this place a great time. Would definitely go back. Staff was on point and very informative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Orions777,

Thanks for staying with us! Sandy Beach Resort does have everything! Our rooms are on the ocean and are equipped with washer/dryer units, full kitchens and all for a great rate. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to you return!

Thanks again,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,044 reviews
4.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,153 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing