We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Have Booked again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Have Booked again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My sister and a friend and I was booked at Sandy Beach Resort last year in Sept. It was excellent for us. We were next to an elevator because of our ailments. We stayed on the 5th floor and could see everything. Such a close walk to the beach and all the pools available. This was a wonderful time for us , now we are booked in May of this year when the rates are down and its not so crowded. Parking was a little problem as we had to walk across the street to park and it was usually full. We would not think of staying anywhere else. You are a 10

Room Tip: I think the 4th or 5th floor was good to view everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    365
    126
    76
    46
See reviews for
773
332
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We love the Sandy Beach for our family Weekend Getaway. The kids love the pool and being oceanfront is excellent as well. Plenty of attractions within walking distance. The rooms were clean and love the Suite style where the kids can have their own bed and bath. Great value for the accomodations and ammenities that they offer. Will definitely make a trip back here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipboy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great value, service and location! Upgraded to the 3 bedroom this time and was very impressed. Front desk is always very accommodating for any needs my wife and kids have. Pools and jacuzzis very clean. My kids loved the lazy river - especially since it was heated! Keep up the great work...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlcoplen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had a nice stay. The rooms look very nice (in the Palmetto tower). However, I could not get a good internet connection (despite being plugged into the wall). I also noticed several maintenance issues and wonder if things are being fixed or if it will just look worse next time I stay there. The hot tub was dirty all 5 days. Security always seemed to be on the computer in the business center.

Room Tip: the bathroom isn't connected to bedroom in one bedroom. Two bedroom is very roomy. Three bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Sandy Beach Resort twice, both times electing to stay in the newer units. These units are in the north tower with beautiful turquois tinted privacy windows. Both stays were enjoyable; helpful service was good, the units were beautiful, the early morning breakfast adequate, and the beach clean and inviting.

The property maintains a "drive-under" loading/unloading area, that is well-staffed with courteous personnel that are always smiling and eager to help with luggage transfer to the elevators.

Our one-bedroom unit consisted of a sleeping area, a living-dining area, full bath, and a lanai that affords breathtaking views. Cleaning services were provided on a daily basis, and their efforts make you want to leave a nice tip.

Parking at the immediate hotel is limited, and the hotel maintains a paved parking lot across the street from the hotel. This, I would say, is the only down side to this lovely property.

Room Tip: Units in the north tower are newer than other parts of the adjoined complex. This is the nicest, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed here for years and enjoy it everytime. It;s a good place for adults but maybe not for small children. Not all the waterparks and stuff to keep kids busy..It is straight across from the Family Kingdom and thats great. You can walk the new boardwalk to the pavallion and back.Easy and carefree walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilbert27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

i'm sad to say the pot heads and smokers dont care one bit that this place is a smoke free resort. my wife and i & the kids stayed last year mothers day week and the smell of pot and cigarettes stank up our room/balcony to the point we could not sit and injoy are view from the balcony, we had to keep our door closed most of the time, the previous years stay was the best *this was before the bike week thing joined the week we stay* now they jacked the rate up $20+ per night in one days time as we were just looking at rates this 2nd week in jan, last year we booked in march and no rate change due to bike week??? i called the front desk after thinking we would just deal with the rule breakers and reserve our room for the week, the rep said that the rates are now higher due to it being closer to bike week and the smoking is what you get with the bikers ??? oh really so why did the rates stay the same last year as late as march??? what a joke if you ask me, we as a family that follow the rules have to pay higher rates at a so called family resort and suffer all the noise,rule breaking pot smokers/cigarette smokers, the lack of parking with all the bike trailers taklng up the better parking places and loust wi-fi. dont bother complaining to management about the smoking they dont care but they make you think they do SMH this was a great place to stay mothers day and the whole week after, that was before the biker bunch came back or it was in our case. the value was the best on the beach front but it looks like our MB days are over at sandy beach resort, now we are trying to find a new place far away from MB and the biker bunch ) : oh btw we checked out other places and the rates have not gone up as of yet, just saying.

Room Tip: the 10th floor 1 bedroom deluxe is just about right our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank devemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing