We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great price for oceanfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location and great price for oceanfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is our 3rd year staying here and just love it. We stay in the newer part of the hotel but you cannot beat the price for what you get. The folks at the front desk were very helpful this year only wish the weather was a little warmer but still had a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    346
    118
    73
    44
See reviews for
744
310
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our rooms were very dirty.
The bath tub looked like it had not been cleaned in a month.
Bring your own coffee, otherwise you will have to walk down to the 2nd floor for a cup.
The wi-fi did not work well...patchy at best.
No chairs on the balcony, and if you have a smoker...they are not allowed to smoke on it, you will be fined if you do.
My son was upset (I wasn't) his video game could not plug into the TV. The kid at the counter suggested we buy an adapter for $30 at a near-by store.
The maid treated me like a criminal when I asked for fresh sheets for the sofa bed. The ones already on it were filthy. We left after a few days without our "creature comforts" and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Suz227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

On our first visit to Sandy Beach resort in the spring of 2012 i had no negatives except for not getting a 4rth chair for the balcony. Well we decided to go back for the christmas holidays and rented the same 3 bedroom condo palmetto side only this one was two floors up. Upon entering the room it was the exact same as before very nice, very clean well stocked all was good till we looked on the balcony again just 3 chairs.... This time when we appraoched the front desk they said they would see what they could do, lo and behold within an hour we had our fourth chair..Why we could not have this in the spring ,i dont know but the Sandy Beach resort redeemed herself and will now see us return again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family vacationed in Myrtle Beach during spring break in 2010 & 2012 and stayed at the Sandy Beach Resort both times. We love this hotel! The prices are great, the rooms spacious and very nicely done. Having a washer/dryer in the room is fantastic! You don't have to bring as many clothes, nor do you go home with suitcases full of dirty laundry. I would definitely recommend Sandy Beach, and will return there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here starting the Sunday before Labor Day. The prices were lower because of the time of year. The beach was also not as crowded. We stayed in a King Magnolia Suite. It was nothing fancy but the price was right. We weren't in the room that much anyway. The Boardwalk was pretty close and within walking distance. The kitchen light didn't work, the side of the refrigerator was dirty and the rooms could use a little updating but overall it wasn't too bad. I wish the bedrooms were in the front by the balcony so we could hear the ocean at night. There happened to be a security guard when we pulled in and told us where to park (which is across the street) and where to go for check in ( which was on the second floor) or we wouldn't have known where to go.

Room Tip: There wasn't a restaurant at the hotel and we didn't use room service. It was very quiet. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa_orcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the SBR the week of Oct 14-21st and this year was just as great as the last 3 years of finding this place. We stayed in the Magnolia side whiich is the older side with no problems at all We arrived early and had no problems with checking in and luckily our room was ready, the friendly staff is great, upon pulling into the loading area we were met by the security guard and found out he is orginally from our area, you could not ask for a nicer person Our room was very clean, well stocked with everything we needed for our stay, on one occasion we didn't get towels and we called and had them within 5 minutes. The pools were always clean and towels were there at all times, maybe a little sand here and there in them but lets face it people we are at the beach, Being right on the beach is a plus as we like to walk a few times a day and the boardwalk was just a few blocks away which we walked to get to the Skywheel.
The beds were wondeful and so comfy and the bedrooms being on the backside of the ocean
was a plus as you could sleep in if you wish. We never heard anyone in the halls when we were
in our rooms, the only time we heard anyone was when they opened the balcony doors.Yes the
rooms in the Magnolia section needs to be upgraded but overall we were really pleased with everything and will definately be going back next year. Thanks again to SBR for another great vacation!!! See you next year!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in September and our stay was excellent as always. We stayed in the newer side in a 1 bedroom and our room was clean and always we'll stocked. The staff was helpful and very nice, even the parking garage guy was nice and helpful! The pools were clean and we loved that its right on the beach, no walking! We had an amazing view of the ocean every morning. Loved that there is a friendlys just a block away which was nice with 2 young kids being that we could walk there for dinner. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an amazing place to stay in myrtle!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kutiebrina1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
4.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#19 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#30 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,657 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing