We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Autumn Week at Sandy Beach Resort”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our sixth trip to Myrtle Beach and first stay at the Sandy Beach Resort. We did our reasearch ahead of time and read other Trip Advisor reviews concerning this resort. We do agree that the Magnolia section (older part) of the hotel defintely does need some updating. The accommodation we had in Magnolia was an Oceanfront Efficiency which was generous in size and suited the two of us. Our biggest complaint would have to be the high pitched whistling type noise that seemed to be coming from the bathroom ceiling pipes. We did speak to the folks at reception; but, the problem wasn't fixed while we were there. The frig motor was quite loud and the microwave worked; but, defintely needs to be replaced. Some ceiling tiles were in rather bad shape and should be replaced as well. On the plus side the staff were always very pleasant. We always had a good supply of clean towels, shampoo, soap and tissue. Our tea towel and dish cloth were replaced daily, our bed was alway nicely made up, and garbage removed. I think the carpets could have been vacuumed more often. I did find a hairbrush and half a dried up sandwich under the bedroom dresser from a previous guest when I was looking for an item I had dropped.
We did make a point of checking out the same type of accommodation in the newer part of the resort and were much more impressed with everything from the layout to the stainless steel appliances that also included a dishwasher and the roomier bathroom with cupboard space. The new section also has more ample closet space.
We will definitely consider returning to the Sandy Beach resort -newer section for another autumn holiday!

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room in the newer part of the Sandy Beach Resort as the older Magnolia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smacOro_medonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

So we stayed here a while back and were completely appalled at the condition of this hotel. My husband and I had hoped to take a quick vacation at the end of summer and picked Sandy Beach Resort based on the Tripadvisor recommendation and reviews. I really cannot figure out how so many people think this is a nice hotel. The first room we checked into was filthy- stains on walls, dirty furniture, poorly cleaned. We switched rooms, hoping that room was an anomaly. It wasn't. We ended up in a third room, one that was smaller than we reserved. The microwave broke the minute we tried to use it, the coffee maker carafe was fused to the heating element and the oven barely held heat. The shower was dirty, with mold around the vents and floor. The hotel does not smell fresh and the clientele is troubling. We didn't feel safe with our car being parked in that part of town. I will never, ever stay in Myrtle Beach ever again based on this experience. The only, ONLY good thing about this hotel is the front desk employees- they were very nice and professional throughout our visit. Still, good service cannot make up for a truly gruesome level of accomodation. Wholeheartedly disappointing.

Room Tip: Pick another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stormycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

after coming to this area for a number of years, this has been the best find for me and will never get tired of the accommodation in this facility.The staff and management are very obliging and look after your concerns promptly, If your looking for a place to stay,go no further, this is the place you should try, you will not be disappointed,try it you will like it I'm sure

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I thought I would try a new property. Boy am I dumb. They advertised this hotel as new but I was placed in an old section that wasn't impressive at all. They lock all the back gates at 11pm so if you want to go out on the beach at night you have to walk clear around the hotel and go on the beach where the public access gate is. There are security guards galore that walk around and stare up at the rooms at night for 15 minutes at a time. It's pretty creepy. I am mid-thirties with children and this resort is borning with a capital B. Coral Beach Resort is close, near all the attractions, and a million times more entertaining. I will be going back there. This hotel offers zero entertainment and zero places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just got back from our wonderful trip to Sandy Beach Resort! Second time we have stayed both times in room 411! Great views and clean condo. Also, the security guard is the gem of this resort. Such a nice man, he even remembered us from our trip two years ago! If anyone wants suggestions about Myrtle Beach skip the front desk and ask him, he will help you with anything!! Also go fishing at the 2nd Ave pier wonderful

Room Tip: A room away from the elevator might have been nice but still wasn't that noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macbeth0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in a corner oceanfront 3bed. All updated decor inc granite counters very clean. Cleaning staff very friendly. Sue was wonderful!
Great value for families. We had stayed at Oceans One next door for 2years. After lots of quality and service issues last year we went to Sandy Beach and are so glad we did. We'll definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nixmom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Best place in Myrtle Beach for sure! Clean and modern rooms with reasonable prices. We are going back in two weeks! Stay in one of the suites! They are wonderfully comfortable and relaxing. I live in Charleston, so we go all the time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCFCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,267 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,051 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Oceans One Resort
Oceans One Resort
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#10 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $76 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing