We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome for family, additional "resort" amenity suggestions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Ranked #27 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome for family, additional "resort" amenity suggestions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Of the numerous locations to stay on the beach in Myrtle Beach, this is an excellent location as it is far enough from the main strip that you avoid all the traffic and rowdy crowds. And it is close enough to numerous places to walk, eat and shop. Given that it is the last sizable property the beach offers plenty of room and space to play, relax and swim.

The facility is well maintained and clean. We stayed in a 2-bedroom angled room facing north. Huge living area and spectacular views, especially the sunrise.

We have twin 15-month old twins and the staff was accommodating providing us with two pack-n-plays. The indoor heated baby pool was perfect for them to play in.

As a "resort" we did expect a few more traditional and common services that were woefully lacking and disappointing:

1) No bell staff to help unload or load luggage. We never did find a self-service luggage cart when we arrived and unloaded, even after waiting 30 minutes. During our entire stay we never saw more than two carts available. It's a major hassle to unload as there are 6 places to park your car up front and the driveway is tight. A major hassle to unload and load, especially for a family.

2) Lack of food on site. Aside from the Tiki Bar food (more on that next), there is nothing on the property to eat other than heading to the more upscale restaurant next door or Starbucks across the street. We never ventured into the Yogurt place as we never saw any customers in it and it looked sterile and uninviting. For those times when you don't want to take a drive or long walk to eat, cook in your room or order pizza delivery, there are no other options.

3) The Tiki Bar is woefully lacking. It's basically an uninspired covered area at the far end of the pool (nothing "Tiki" about it other than in name only) with a very limited food and drink menu, long lines to order, long wait times to get your food. No poolside service of any type is available . The food is just above being non-eatable. How a menu on only a hot dog or hamburger could be that bad at a "resort" is beyond our comprehension. It would be so easy for them to upgrade the food and drink menu and significantly enhance the experience (and their profits).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Reed B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review of the Caribbean Resort and Villas. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the accommodations in your angled oceanfront condo in the Cayman tower, along with all of our many great amenities. I am sorry you experienced a few disappointments during your stay. We do have bellman and pool attendants outside to assist all guests, and I apologize that you did not encounter them. They should be visible, but if this ever happens please contact the front desk and we will immediately send them to help you.

Our team is also unsettled by your comments of our food on property, because our Food and Beverage Director and General Manager work very hard to formulate a plan that offers an appetizing assortment of food and refreshment options at the Caribbean. I understand our Tiki Bar does not offer a large amount of food products, but we do not usually receive complaints. I would like to mention that we offer grilled cheese sandwiches, and recently started serving chicken tenders at the Tiki Bar. We have also expanded our snack options at Whitecaps Yogurt Shop. There are many tasty treats, and I highly recommend trying them out next time! I am sorry you were not satisfied with the food at our resort, and we will continue to review your feedback as we discuss changes for the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    826
    326
    144
    144
See reviews for
1,658
451
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Like it but not a favorite
No complaints -:)
It is just that we were not so keen to come back for whatever reason!
But good deal and location and room overall.

Parking ok
Close to important stuff
Kids like amenities

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZPyramids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear ZPyramids,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Caribbean Resort and Villas. We appreciate your compliments of our resort. Our entire property is currently experiencing fantastic growth and change. I understand we did not "wow" you this time, but I hope you will return again soon so we can deliver an even greater Myrtle Beach vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We were here for 5 nights in a 3 bedroom condo. It was great! No complaints. We would stay here again! There was plenty of room for everyone and the pools were nice. I will post pictures later. This website is making me have at least 200 characters and I don't know what else to say! LOL. The location is close to boardwalk and broadway! Perfect

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmeme121078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear mmeme121078,

It is fantastic to hear about your wonderful vacation with us at the Caribbean Resort! We are pleased that you enjoyed all the accommodations and amenities that we have to offer. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and post pictures! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We could not agree more with the writer of the "Tale of two towers" review except we are not being offered a room over there - as they are telling us that no rooms are available. We did visit one before folks moved in and could not believe the difference. The room we have is in rough shape - the toilet moves off its base - the beds are terrible, moldy smell, loud noise in pipes and we found hairs on the pillows when we checked in. The rooms around my wife and I are full of kids in town for a baseball tourney and they slam the doors until late at night. - it feels like they are slamming your door it is so loud and they are yelling in the halls. The girls at the front counter are nice but have not been able to really help deliver us from this mess and it is making our vacation week a disaster - Dominican Tower a real big No - Cayman tower looks like a nice " yes " but I do not think we will actually ever find out..........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungrynow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Hungrynow63,

We are extremely sorry you did not love your accommodations in the Dominican Tower here at the Caribbean Resort. The issues you listed with your room are unacceptable, and they have been addressed with the necessary departments. I would love to find out if you contacted the front desk about the problems inside and outside of your room. We are here to help you in any way possible, whether it involves fixing any issues in the room or sending security to address the noisy neighbors that disturbed you in the evening. I recognize this is "Part 2" of two negative reviews regarding this tower. Our leadership team takes this very seriously and we are actively working to right all of the wrongs that have been mentioned. We want all of our guests to enjoy themselves at our resort, and it very disconcerting for us when we fall short of that goal. It is obvious we could have made your experience better, and I would like to make this happen for you in the future. Please contact me at the resort if you are ever interested in giving us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were booked in the Dominican side of this hotel which is old and outdated! My child actually cried upon entering the room.... It is old from the carpets to the bedding. I contacted the front desk to see if we could at least be moved to the more updated tower and was told they were all booked for the remainder of our stay....we are stuck unless we sleep in our car.... They were unwilling to refund our money even with our complete dissatisfaction. Do not stay at this resort unless they are able to assure you that you will be in the Cayman tower! One more night in this nightmare!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Tonya G,

We are sincerely sorry to hear about your poor experience with us at the Caribbean Resort. We are still in the process of updating the units in the Dominican tower. We truly do apologize that you were not satisfied with the room. In the future please contact the manager on duty anytime an issue arises in order for us to create a solution for you. Once again, I am very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. We do hope that you give the Caribbean Resort another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently took the grand-kids to the Caribbean for their Spring Break and they had a wonderful time but the one complaint we have is the internet service is terrible. If that problem could be corrected the stay would have been perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Lydia W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Caribbean Resort on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great spring break with us. However, I am very sorry to hear that the internet service was poor during your stay. We recently updated all four buildings with faster and more reliable internet service so I do apologize. I am not sure if you contacted the front desk but we would have been pleased to fix the issue for you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Caribbean Resort is super awesome. This visit makes the second time we have stayed there. Everyone goes out of their way to make your stay amazing. Check in is a breeze, room attendances are awesome and the view is breathtaking. We had access to unlimited free movies, hot tubs, lazy rivers, water slides and pools. Starbucks is across the street and the location of the Resort is within walking distance to eateries, shops and stores. We stayed in the Cayman Towers. Our suite was beautiful, clean and ready for us when we arrived as it was the year before. Leaving at check out was a little crazy due to many people leaving at the same time, but there was a very nice employee helping everyone to back up , go forward or whatever they needed to do to get out without hitting anyone. He smiled, helped to load cars, directed traffic and wished us a safe trip home. My only complaint about my stay is that I could only stay for three days. I would love to have stayed longer. We will defiantly stay again and again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan E, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Linda W,

WOW! Thank you very much for your five star review! We are delighted to hear about your great vacation with us at the Caribbean Resort. It seems that the accommodations and amenities we have to offer worked out very well for your group. We sincerely appreciate you mentioning the hard work of our staff members. We truly look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
3.8 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#30 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort And Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort And Villas

Property: Caribbean Resort And Villas
Address: 3000 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort And Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on ocean front, the Caribbean Resort & Villas is comprised of four separate buildings: the Dominican tower, the Cayman tower, the Chelsea Villas and the Jamaican building. Our Jamaican building is a four story structure that offers ocean view and ocean front rooms. Our Dominican tower features suites with two doubles or one king bed, an upgraded full kitchen, and living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa and a breathtaking ocean front view. Our Cayman tower offers two-three-and four bedroom condos with various bedding to suit your every need. Our Chelsea Villas our located across the street from the Cayman and Dominican towers. These villas feature two and three bedroom condos (Bedding varies in each unit.) Our guests will enjoy our spacious oceanfront pool deck with indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor lazy river, tiki bar, Jacuzzis and waterpark with an adult-size waterslide and silly submarine. During the summer children enjoy our supervised activity program where they can create crafts and take part in fun games. We are minutes from area golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Resort And Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort And Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caribbean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Carribean
Caribbean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing