We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time at the Caribbean; could use a few 'resort' perks though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Ranked #27 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We love MB and have stayed in a lot of hotels there. The CRV was nice and clean. We were in Cayman which is the newer tower. The 3bdr was quite roomy and the beds slept great. No maintenance issues and the maids were great. Young kids will have a blast in the pools; we liked the North pool the best as it was the quietest!

Okay, now for some needed perks-- At $450 a night, most resorts would at least give a condo room a starter packet of coffee/creams and sugars, starter roll of paper towels, dish soap and laundry detergent. I was disappointed none of those things were offered (but we did get dishwasher packets) So bring all of those things with you, plus salt and pepper! . I just felt nickel and dimed by those omissions.

I also agree with another reviewer who commented about the 45-50 minute wait for a burger at the burger shack. That was unbelievable! I saw one person grilling maybe three burgers at a time. Now, this is a huge resort, with tons of people, and this shack is the only place to get something to eat! (unless you want to yank everyone out of the pool, get dry and dressed and go to Sea Captains next door. Unlikely, right?) So I asked the bartender why the wait was so long, and he said he had also asked his manager about this problem. So why hasn't the CRV management addressed this issue? The snack bar needs to be expanded and needs more staff to cook the food for the masses! Come on-- fix this! It's not as though you don't know how many people are in the 'resort' for the week. (Skip Sea Captains--yechh)

Last- we left a wallet in our room. The management did a great job finding it and getting it back to us--including the cash in the wallet! That speaks volumes! I would recommend this place and only hope the management will respond to my 'minor' issues!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachlover100Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Beachlover100ohio,

Thank you for reviewing your great stay at the Caribbean Resort & Villas! Comments from valued guests like you are one of our best tools for continuously improving our overall experience. We do offer complimentary coffee packets, cream/sugar, and dish soap that are all available by request at the front desk. We found that when each room was stocked at check-in, over half of those starter items were simply thrown away. Your feedback in regards to Skip Jacks and the Tiki Bar is important, and its certainly an issue we are addressing. Our management team is thrilled that we were able to recover your wallet and all that it pertained! Please know we will take your issues seriously. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,990 - 1,996 of 3,227 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first visit to the Caribbean Resort. We booked this trip at the last minute and stayed at the Dominican Tower. Loved the tropical vibe and the very helpful staff. Check in was friendly and efficient. Pool areas were always clean and having guest towels available for pool use was a nice touch. Housekeeping was excellent! We plan to book again next summer, but want to secure a larger condo in Cayman Towers. It would be a great spot for our family reunion. We will be back!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Request a upper floor, if you require less pool and tiki bar music
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Robert W,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, and more importantly, for staying at the Caribbean Resort & Villas! We're thrilled we could provide you and yours with a great vacation experience. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Caribbean almost every year for 12 years. We have been through its renovations and expansion with the Cayman. Continues to be best value on beach especially for families and those who must have oceanfront like us. We often stay off season and the resort is set up well with its covered pool and lazy river in off season. The rooms have become more dated the last couple years and are in need of a spruce up again. Make sure to ask for the Cayman as they are newer and more upscale. Grounds have always been well kept with excellent free parking across the street. Staff have been friendly and helpfull . Look forward to our stay next year.

Room Tip: Book Cayman tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Jayeblue,

Thank you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort, and more importantly, for staying with us 12 years! Comments from valued guests like you are one of our best tools for continuously improving the Caribbean experience. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Cayman Tower and it was Great. This is the second time we've stayed and we'll come back. The resort is very popular, so on Friday, Saturday and Sundays the check-in can be long but a little patience goes a long way. Staff was very friendly and helpful despite be overwhelmed with questions and people wanted things right now. We stayed in an oceanfront condo and it was great. Space was just fine and the room was clean and orderly. Room does show a little ware, marks on the hallway walls from luggage and sort, bathroom vent fans don't get cleaned but overall the room was just fine. We had to ask for some towels and washcloths a couple of days other than that, the hotel did great job of keeping room. The only down side to the whole experience is sand. Being on the beach, you'll bring sand back to your room and it's hard to clean the tile floors. Bring some sort of small vacuum or broom and that would solve this problem. The vacation was great and we'll stay here again!!

Room Tip: Bring a Bissell Perfect Sweep or a broom and dust pan to keep up with the sand that will be brought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GermanFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear GermanFD,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a superb review! Comments from valued guests like you are one of our greatest tools for continuously improving our guest experience. Your feedback in regards to some of the peak season issues you faced while staying with us is important and we will certainly address them. We truly hope to see you and yours back at the resort in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm not terribly impressed with any of the MB hotels, but I admit to being a hotel witch as you can tell by reading my other reviews. Housekeeping is a big deal for me and the state of the room when we move into it. I've had to let that go altogether at MB. I think it's just hard to service so many rooms (although Disney seems to do it and I always compare hotels to those on Disney property) and I think that while people are at MB they don't want to be thinking about taking care of their surroundings so the rooms suffer. So, that said, housekeeping is out of the way. The room was pretty much the same as those at the other hotels we've stayed at in the same price range. The staff was nice -- no one was rude. The pools and hot tubs were about the same as the other hotels. The beach is great. The bar at the pool is a plus. It serves hot dogs and hamburgers that we didn't try but I thought it was a good idea. The drinks were good, and there was music in the afternoon. This is not an amazing place to stay but it's perfectly fine. We've stayed in three beach front high rise hotels at MB this summer -- all in the same price range -- and there hasn't been a lot of difference in any of them. The location here is a bit further up the beach so if you're into the Boardwalk crazziness it's a long way to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Chapinite,

Thank you for choosing the Caribbean Resort & Villas for your vacation to Myrtle Beach. We're glad you enjoyed our water amenities and facilities! We hope to see back in the pools and lazy rivers in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the main bldg...I guess it had been recently renovated and was very nice. Room was spacious and clean. Had all we needed to make the trip great. (Be sure to bring your own paper towels though). Internet was nice to have, a little slow but no problem because we were on the beach or the pools. All the ppols, lazy rivers and Tiki bar were great. The food offered at the tiki bar was delicious. We were offered new towels and soap daily. We requested extra pillows...got them in no time! Parking deck across the street was not bad at all. Checking in and out was a breeze. Although people were lined up on the sidewalks waiting for spaces to become available to pull up cars and load. Really...that was the only downside and that was tolerable. We had a great family vacation! Would certainly recommend staying here!
We left some items in the room and I am currently working with the resort on this but I'm sure that will go as easy as every other part of the vacation!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had a great view. The elevators were occasionally slow so the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tkincaid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Tkincaid2,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a superb review! It sounds like you were able to experience all the Caribbean Resort has to offer - whether it be our outgoing and professional staff or wonderful water amenities and facilities. We can't wait to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this hotel on bookit.com and were not disappointed!!! This hotel was great.....from the moment we pulled in someone was helping us, check in was easy....we have 5 kids and the rooms were spacious enough for all of us!! Location was nice because it was more quiet than I expected. The mutliple pools/hot tubs/lazy rivers and the waterslide made it a never endless opportunity for entertainment. I have stayed at multiple hotels in many cities and I have to list this one in my top three ever!! The only issue was that 2 of the elevators broke down Saturday night but was fixed within the hour. I have friends staying at two different hotels down there last week and when we visited them I was glad we picked the Caribbean!! I would recommend this place in a heartbeat and will definately book in the future! Thanks for a great experience!

Room Tip: we booked a one bedroom oceanfront with the double beds and sofa bed & murphy bed with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Christy P,

Thank you for writing such an amazing review, and more importantly, for picking the Caribbean Resort! We are so happy you enjoyed the facilities and location. Our staff can't wait to welcome you back with a helping hand and a smile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort And Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort And Villas

Address: 3000 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $71 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort And Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on ocean front, the Caribbean Resort & Villas is comprised of four separate buildings: the Dominican tower, the Cayman tower, the Chelsea Villas and the Jamaican building. Our Jamaican building is a four story structure that offers ocean view and ocean front rooms. Our Dominican tower features suites with two doubles or one king bed, an upgraded full kitchen, and living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa and a breathtaking ocean front view. Our Cayman tower offers two-three-and four bedroom condos with various bedding to suit your every need. Our Chelsea Villas our located across the street from the Cayman and Dominican towers. These villas feature two and three bedroom condos (Bedding varies in each unit.) Our guests will enjoy our spacious oceanfront pool deck with indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor lazy river, tiki bar, Jacuzzis and waterpark with an adult-size waterslide and silly submarine. During the summer children enjoy our supervised activity program where they can create crafts and take part in fun games. We are minutes from area golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Caribbean Resort And Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort And Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caribbean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Carribean
Caribbean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing