We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Ranked #26 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My family and I have stayed at the Caribbean several times and always enjoy it. This was our first year renting a condo from a private owner so we had no daily maid service. Although all the housekeeping staff and all staff in general were very friendly and courteous. We love the location (very close to Broadway). The pools are spread out which helps a lot during prime season. We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUfan1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,250 - 2,256 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

We came to Myrtle Beach for the first time last year and stop here to grab some info and one other hotel for next time looking at the outside and lobby appearances. When I went to book a room for this year I researched hte reviews and 'stars'. Unfortunatley, we had a BAD excperience. First, I booked what was suppose to be an Ocean Front room and wasn't. Our room over looked a shabby motel or store/resturant. If you stand on the balcony and look over the side then you can see our "Ocean View". Second, our room was all the way at the end of the hotel's ground in the 'Jamacan'. This end looks entirely different then the rest of the hotel, it's poorly lit, people hagging out all over, paint peeling, and the eleavator was digusting, it might have been cleaned last year? When we get to our floor it smelled of moldy carpet and stale salt water. When we get in to the room the a/c wasn't working and the room smelled like the hallway! Once we looked outside at our "view" that was it! We left and went to another hotel, that was absolutely amazing! When I called to tell them we were leaving and we wanted a refund, the Manager asked me what the problem was. So I told him all the above. He turned around asked me if I could see the ocean off the balcony, I said kind of. He said well that what you paid for, that is our ocean view. I said no I paid to the ocean right outside so I could look at it sitting on the balcony. He told me no ma'am that is a different room, that is an 'ocean front' room! Are you kidding me!!! I was even willing to switch rooms so we wouldn't have to try hunting down another hotel at about 11pm. He told me he was unable to switch me anything. after hanging up and finding our room I called the manager back and asked to have our money refunded since we have found another room with an actual OCEAN VIEW (facing full on) and will not be staying there, the 1st manger (more like assistant) said he is not refunding anything, so I asked who is over him, which would be the night manager... he stayed out 'walking the grounds' until his shift ended. So we obviously didn't get our money back! We did end up having a wonderful time at Island Vista Resort.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see what hotel building you are in and if be clear on what view you are booking. Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s3rngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribbeanManagment, Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear s3rngurl,

I would like to first thank you for taking a moment of your time to write this review about our resort. One of the best ways our resort can grow is by learning from our mistakes. I apologize that you did not receive the room location that you were expecting. In regards to our manager never addressing your situation when brought to their attention I can assure you that the managers here do not shirk their responsibilities, and I can assure you that the management team we currently have in place are very reasonable people who do all they can to ensure our guests have the vacation they anticipate. Again, my apologies for a less than satisfactory stay. Please contact me so that we may further discuss your concerns.

Jennifer Stahler,
Resort Manager
jennifer.stahler@caribbeanresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 7 nights. Checked in on a thursday and checked out the following thursday.

The Good-
Check in on a thursday afternoon was a piece of cake with no lines at all. Staff was very friendly, especially to our kids. In my opinion the location of this hotel is perfect. Its at the end of a chain of hotels so when the beach gets crowded you can walk north alittle bit and have tons of room. Traffic on Ocean Blvd is not as bad here either. Hotel is on the same road (29th) as Broadway at the Beach and you can be there in 5mins. We stayed in the Dominican tower which is the older of the 2 towers and you can tell it. I was alittle bit disappointed at first when we saw our room because of it being older, but once we got settled in, the room turned out to be very comfy and fit all we needed. Lots of pools, hot tube, lazy rivers and kiddie pools all which were clean.

Alittle Bad-
Try to avoid checking in on a saturday or sunday afternoon! It was absolute nuts during this time. Cars were jamed in the small parking lot and also lined out in the street. People were running crazy dodging each other and trying cram into the elevators with the luggage carts. It would not a good way to start out your vacation by getting into this mess. The only real complaint I have is that there is absolutely no supervision or lifeguard at all at any of the pools. This really needs to be changed. There are several staff workers that walk around and pick up towells but they pay no attention to how people are acting in pools. On friday and saturday the pool area was very crowded and very chaotic. Most all parents/adults were drinking beer after beer while standing in the pools. I even saw adults eating pizza in the pool. All the time while their kids run around like crazy plowing into people. They slam into you as they chase one another in the lazy river. I even saw several kids doing cannonballs into the hot tubs. We actually left the hotel that afternoon and went and did something else to avoid the out of control crowd in the pool area.
However, after sunday it was like night and day difference for monday tuesday wednesday and thursday. Very nice and peaceful during this time with adults and kids in complete control of themselves. So I don't know if its just a weekend thing or that all the weekend warriors checked out on sunday or what? but it was a vast improvement and made the hotel 100% more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Went on a family vacation in July 2012 and decided to stay at the Caribbean after reading reviews from this site. We were not disappointed. We arrived on Sunday and I walked into the lobby to find a long line, which we are used to at the beach. However it only took 30 minutes to check in, people behind the desk were very quick and helpful. There were plenty of baggage carts and employees in the parking lot helping people out of their cars. Very coureous. The room was VERY clean. Stayed in a 2 bedroom and it was immaculate. Beds were firm but not rock hard, couch was very comfortable. No HBO which was disappointing but nothing to get in a huff over. The pools were very nice and open until midnight. The pool bar was very refreshing and had very good food. Oh and they are a member of the Dunes Beach and Golf club, a private course. Played there and it was VERY nice. This was the first hotel/condo the family wanted to stay in again and we've been to more than a few over the years. We wont stay at any other play from now on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmsozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Some gals and I booked a room for a girls trip back in May. We began reading some reviews over the next following weeks..and I have to say I was a little worried. Upon arriving, we checked in smoothly on a Thrusday afternoon, and were greeted by wonderful employees all around! Special shout out to the bell hop Will who was so helpful! The room was exactly what we expected (the Dominican). There was an issue with the sliding glass door not openening and closing very easy, so we called maintainance. Some one came within minutes and took care of it!! Overall very pleased and will definetly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Went on a Buisness Trip, Nice Hotel. Good for Buiness Trips, quiet, except the Beach there was a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaw7002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Moved here in desperation escaping from the Seamist. What a wonderful experience. This place is all about customer service and the accommodations are awesome. What a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeniaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,080 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort And Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort And Villas

Address: 3000 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $72 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort And Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on ocean front, the Caribbean Resort & Villas is comprised of four separate buildings: the Dominican tower, the Cayman tower, the Chelsea Villas and the Jamaican building. Our Jamaican building is a four story structure that offers ocean view and ocean front rooms. Our Dominican tower features suites with two doubles or one king bed, an upgraded full kitchen, and living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa and a breathtaking ocean front view. Our Cayman tower offers two-three-and four bedroom condos with various bedding to suit your every need. Our Chelsea Villas our located across the street from the Cayman and Dominican towers. These villas feature two and three bedroom condos (Bedding varies in each unit.) Our guests will enjoy our spacious oceanfront pool deck with indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor lazy river, tiki bar, Jacuzzis and waterpark with an adult-size waterslide and silly submarine. During the summer children enjoy our supervised activity program where they can create crafts and take part in fun games. We are minutes from area golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Caribbean Resort And Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort And Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caribbean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Carribean
Caribbean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing