We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotels around this one are a bit seedy...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Hotels around this one are a bit seedy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Hotels around this one are a bit seedy. This hotel was great. We had two young kids and this hotel was perfect.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southsidemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,850
    590
    161
    56
    24
See reviews for
1,195
854
58
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn Oceanfront off and on for about seven years and can not find anywhere better to stay in Myrtle Beach. The news pools and rooms that were added have made the the hotel fresh and new. I will admit that there were times that we stayed at the hotel that it was really starting to show its age and we would go and find other places that were cheaper and newer but we always came back to the Hampton Inn. I have stayed in the Crown Reef, Ocean Creek, Grand Atlantic, Hilton,Sandcastle, and many others and none of these can compete with the Hampton Inn. They have completely changed the hotel giving it a new lobby, a new tower of rooms, remodeled the original rooms and suites, added a huge lazy river and bridge, more indoor pools and a new kiddie pool and hot tub. They have upped their pool area to that of the Breakers(Paradise Tower) and made a hotel that is relaxing and beautiful. We had an oceanfront suite in the older part and it looked updated and spotless. If you stay at this hotel you willl have the security of knowing that your room and the pool areas will always be clean. I have been coming to Myrtle Beach for sixteen years with my family and this is the only place I will stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed here with our two daughters for three nights on a family vacation. The hotel was consistently clean and well-run. Our standard, 2-queen room was quiet and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. We decided to splurge for an oceanfront room instead of staying an extra night, and I did feel that the cost was worth it. My husband especially loved being able to escape onto the balcony, sit in a rocking chair, and have a little quiet time to himself. I did wish that the room had an arm chair of some type, but that was a very minor complaint. The free breakfast was fairly well-stocked, but if you don't like crowds, go earlier than 8:30 or 9 am. The staff was helpful without being overbearing. It is hard to tell from the hotel website, but there are 3 normal pools (two under a shelter), 2 lazy rivers, 2 large whirlpools (both under the shelter), and 2 kiddie pool play areas (one under the shelter). There are two short walkways directly to the beach and very helpful shower areas where you can wash off your feet (or more) just inside the gates to the beach. The hotel will supply towels, but if you want beach chairs or an umbrella, bring your own (2 chairs & 1 umbrella cost $30 a day to rent from the city). The parking is tight, but not impossible, and there are tons of restaurants within a ten minute drive. The free Wi-fi was easy to use, and there was no moldy/sandy/beach feel like I have experienced at other beach area hotels. If we make a return trip to Myrtle Beach, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cspslp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max Meadows
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel was everything i expected . We had our twenty year old daughter, her friend and our 10 year old son, everyone had an excellent time . We have been home a few hours now and i feel homesick . The breakfast alone saved us no less than $40 a day . There was something everyone liked each day . The room was very comfortable and had plenty of space which was great since the two twenty year old girls who are like sisters decided to argue all day on Tuesday . Separate rooms and pools for a while was perfect. The seating areas were beautiful and I'm still not sure that we saw all of them. It was very quiet and we were able to sleep with our balcony door open without being disturbed . That is saying a lot since it seemed like there were about a million high school seniors in the area. We had the family suite with one bathroom. May get the one with two bathrooms next year. I have not one complaint our trip was wonderful and we will be staying there from now on when we take our yearly vacation to Myrtle Beach .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

All around this hotel went beyond my expectations. I was able to check in early to start. The staff was always so kind and helpful. The place was clean and the spacious. The veiw was wonderful, the breakfast GREAT! The pool area was relaxing and I had many pools to choose from. Location was great, it was in a quieter part of town. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom roomy. Free internet came in handy. I can't think of anything negative to say. I have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels, and this one was up there with them; I give it two thumbs up and 5 stars

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KShelly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Wife and I driving into Myrtle Beach checking our Garmin for hotels. Saw Hampton Inn...mmm..Had stayed in one at Daytona Shores and the way to the Keys. So nice we stayed at the same Hampton Inn on our return trip. Called, booked a reservation within 15 miles. Wonderful stay. Very nice place. We stayed in the south tower on the 4th floor. We like this place. Will be on our next trip...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I just returned from my first trip to Myrtle Beach. My sister and I met there for a long weekend. The hotel was very clean and decorated nicely. We loved the nautical theme... not tacky. The room was clean and stocked nicely. We stayed on the older side of the hotel. Our bathroom could use some updating, but it was fine. The beds and linens were very comfortable. Nice flat panel tv. The balcony was a nice size and the rockers are a great touch. We spent a lot of time out there watching the surf. The pools and hot tubs were a bit dirty but nice overall. The proximity to the beach is awesome.. a 1 minute walk. We talked to the pier every morning.. a great way to start the day.

Cons - no restaurant or bar on site. Would be nice if there was a cafe or something for sandwiches, salads, beachy drinks. I asked for a 1pm checkout because my flight didn't leave until 5pm. I was told noon is the latest they do. I was disappointed in that response.

We ate dinner at the Sea Captains restaurant the first night. Great atmosphere, live music, right on the beach. Drinks (especially wine) is overpriced.. $7 a glass for cheap wine that is most likely $10 a bottle. The food wasn't very good. The grouper was awful and the salmon was no better than I make at home in land locked Colorado. However our server Glenda was fantastic and even offered to take the grouper off our bill. We went to Manny's Deli up the street for lunch. Once you get past the dirt and grime inside the place, the sandwiches are out of this world.. perhaps we should have taken them to go. We also spent time at Broadway on the Beach and Barefoot Landing. Broadway on the Beach is a fun place with shops, theaters, restaurants. Barefoot Landing was nothing special to us but it may be to you if you're into seeing live shows at the Alabama theater.

Unfortunately we didn't have any idea we were staying during Bike Week. The town was very busy and LOUD. It took us an hour to drive 4 miles... each way. Not surprised since the reports said 150K people were there..

I most likely will not return to Myrtle Beach. This is because the area felt cheap to me. Lots of run down buildings and gas stations. Customer service at the stores and restaurants was darn near awful. There is a cheap beach wear store on every corner. Hilton Head is much nicer and more my style.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules72873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
5.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing