We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Horrible Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #7 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2006

This hotel almost lived up to the previous stellar reviews by other travelers--but we had three problems. First, they didn't clean our room the first night of our stay and by the time we came back to the room, all the housekeeping crew had left. They dropped off some towels and we had to stay in a messy room. Second, the hairdryer continued to short out and was not usable. We called maintenance and they came to fix it -but it broke again. Third the pool area was a mess. They never straightened the lounge chairs-they were all over, and while the pools were clean, the pool area itself was quite cluttery. All that said, the hotel was clean, the breakfast great for a Hampton Inn (hot eggs and sausages along with fruit, yogert, juices and an assortment of breads and pastries). But the real problem was the location of this hotel. Downtown Myrtle Beach is full of tatooed motorcyclers and lots of young kids walking around getting drunk. The traffic to get out of the area was unbearable. The hotel would be great if it were only in North Myrtle Beach. It is a shame-an oasis in the center of pretty shabby cheap hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank BKennedy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,879 - 2,885 of 3,001 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2006

Although I prefer accommodations located on the Northern end of Myrtle Beach and this hotel is located South, it is a quality hotel. Immaculately clean and the room we were given had a great view of the beach (oceanfront) on the 14th (really 13th) floor. The balcony had a rocking wicker loveseat which was a nice touch. They are currently advertising the new Hampton Bed and it is very, very comfortable. I slept better while at the hotel than I do at home. And I didn't even have to nudge my husband in the middle of the night to make him stop snoring. I think we need to purchase this bed!!! The staff was very friendly. There was ample parking in the parking deck. Occasionally there was a clog on the elevator and a long wait (well, we were on the 14th floor) but not anything major. This room had a microwave and small refrigerator which was a plus. Now if we could just move the hotel up the beach a ways.............

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites from 6-22 thru 6-25. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I got in a little early and they graciously let me check in--I was thankful because I was tired of driving. My room was spotless and the beds were so-o-o-o comfortable. They even had three pillows (one was decorative). I had an ocean view room on the third floor, and the view was spectacular! I have a SUV, so parking was a little tight but I could always find a space even when we came in late. The breakfast was good; they served something different every day.

This was my first time in Myrtle Beach and I really enjoyed it! I was so comfortable and relaxed at the hotel that I didn't really feel like going too many places. I was satisfied just sitting on the balcony and enjoying the beautiful view! I did see some attractions but I'm planning to return to see the rest. When I do, I plan to stay at this hotel--they made my first visit to MB wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ilandgyrl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Our family stayed at this hotel June 19 for 7 nights. We had a great experience. The staff was very friendly, from the front desk staff to the housekeepers. The property was very clean. The breakfast was good. We loved this hotel. We would definitly stay here again. I picked this hotel because of all the great reviews, I am so glad I did. They are true.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ilBeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

We had a King Suite with Sofa Bed. Having read the reviews about construction, we were a little concerned. We had called and the concern was noted - when we arrived they indicated that our location near the construction would not be a problem because the main part of the excavation was completed. They were 100% correct. It was very quiet and we had 2 balconies! Breakfast was excellent with a hot selection that varied - sometimes eggs and egg caserole, sometimes a quiche like thing baked on a bagel, sometimes sausage, etc. Additionally, they would bring out special items like cinnamon rolls and Krispy Kreme donuts occasionally, and we were lucky enough a few mornings to find these. Indeed it is crowded, but we are early risers so it wasn't a problem for us. The pool areas were well maintained, and the pools were kept warm. As others have said, the hotel is very clean (difficult at the beach!). The only complaint we had which is not the hotel's fault, is that some guests were go into the hot tub without rinsing off their feet. Overall this was an excellent experience and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Porky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristow VA
19
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Just got back this past weekend from a weeklong stay at Oceanfront Hampton Inn in Myrtle Beach. Located near 18 Ave South and Ocean Drive it is very quiet in the area. But is located close enough for a quick drive to the Pavillion or the 2nd Avenue Fishing Pier as well as Family Kingdom.

Each morning the breakfast featured hot and cold items. Each day from Monday to Saturday was different items. The only issue would be lack of seating so sometimes we found ourselves sitting on the couch but other couples left soon enough so we got to sit at a table.
My wife is 7 months pregnant and is a diabetic and we saved money by getting some apples and bananas as well as yogurts to go. Needed our snacks.

Hotel is very clean and plenty of garaged parking each day or night. Room was a King Oceanfront on the 7th floor and our view was beautiful.

This is a wonderful family hotel. My 4 year old loved the lazy river area and quick access to the beach.

No restaurant on site. But plenty close by.

Stayed: June 2006
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ravenswood, West Virginia
15
Reviewed June 23, 2006

I just got back from staying at Hampton Inn & Suites on Myrtle Beach. I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on an upper foor. Me, Wife, 3 boys & 1 mother-in-law with plenty of room. This was our first family vacation to the Myrtle Beach and it exceeded our expectations. The ocean view was wonderful and there is a sliding glass door in the master bedroom that my wife left open all night so she could hear the ocean sounds. The staff was very nice & the cleaning staff did an excellent job keeping everything clean. My boy's tried to put them to the test dragging in sand on their toys. We have decided to stay here again next year.
I had like most of you been reading these reviews before going and this place lives up to the great reviews. The only grip I have is the wait for elevators and the parking garage is bit tight for a larger SUV. That by no means changes my mind about coming back again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,358 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Myrtle Beach/Coastal Grand Mall
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,772 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $111 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Otel, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing