We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very friendly...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #5 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not very friendly...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

OK we went to Myrtle Beach the week before labor day to take advantage of possible lean times as schools have started in Charlotte and other areas in carolinas. When we reached the hotel we really liked the indoor parking garage as most hotels here have it. The most disappointing part of our stay was not so friendly reception we got at front desk. We checked in at 4:45 on Aug 27th and there was no warm greeting or any smile by the person who checked us in. Also he did not let us know the location of the elevator for our room #720. Our room was located in the south tower but we had gone to the North tower and carrying all the luggage with a 20 month old and realize we were in the wrong place after 4 hour drive is very frustrating…

No hamptonality for sure !!

we had a 2 queen bed room.. It seemed very cramped and the hotel itself is very old as we see the bathroom door had the paint come off and saw rust spots on the door.. Another problem we had is there is no exhaust in the bathroom which was strange as this is now a requirement for most bathrooms. The closet seemed at a very odd location one side of the bed which was difficult to access and there was only 1 night stand in the middle for the 2 queen beds instead of two one on either side which is the norm..

Also the rooms have doors on each wall to the next door room and that really kills the insulation and we could practically hear every scream from the next door kids who checked in late on Friday evening...

Now some of the pros of this hotel is the obvious close proximity to the beach, the 5-6 pools are clean and kids friendly had 4 pools, 2 lazy river and 1 hot water spa… The best part is the breakfast which had nice hot fresh options and not the std cold cuts.. The bed was comfortable too.

The bad part about the beach is most of the space is occupied by the beach chairs set-up by the lifeguard for $35/day ( only from 9 am to 4 PM ) which is too short for a long summer days at that price and if you got your own chairs you have to find the space to place it as the rental beach chairs are spaced all along the width of the beach..

Also during the high tides there is not enough sand depth to enjoy like say Wrightsville beach in Wilmington, you have about 20 feet of sand at the most which is not much…

Overall we enjoyed our stay but the rooms are old, the check in staff at front desk definitely needed attitude adjustment and the bathrooms needs to have an exhaust.. The doors also needs to be repainted as the rust spots are clearly visible..

Room Tip: Look for better newer options on the beach..This hotel is old and lacks friendly service..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
4 Thank Neetal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at another resort in Myrtle Beach previously, we decided to give Hampton Inn a try. The indoor decor is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Even better than I had envisioned! Plenty of nice, comfy areas to sit overlooking the ocean. The outdoor area on the other hand...disappointing. The lounge chairs for the pool are located on a grassy/dirt area. Being near the pool or if it rains (which it does tend to do) your chair and personal items and FEET are now sitting in mud! I don't mind a little sand on my items...but mud? I strongly think the lounge chairs, and just pool area in general, needs some serious improvements. Maybe concrete or ANYTHING other than what it is now.

Grouper Gang kid camp-
--It was a free service to the hotel customers.
--Cute complimentary t-shirt for each camper.

--The magnet activity we signed our kids up for was basically a coloring book page that they colored and then attached a magnet to. We were envisioning some kind of beachy magnet since we are, after all, at the beach! But then...it WAS free.
--The camp staff interacted very little with the kids in their care. From what my children told us, the counselors spent the majority of the time talking to each other at a separate table. On the night of parents night out, my kids mentioned the counselors having a discussion regarding alcohol consumption amongst each other as well. I was NOT happy to hear that at all. I think the hotel needs to supervise their counselors a bit more.
My advice...keep your kids with you...skip the camp.

Additional PROS:

--The free breakfast every morning was WONDERFUL! A very nice variety of hot and cold items daily. Every day there was a different hot item. Items for the health conscious as well. Very clean. I do feel, however, the tables need to be wiped often during breakfast time.
--The front desk staff were always pleasant and helpful.

Other comments:
-There is a snack wagon outside by the pool area. Convenient but It is very expensive.
- we had an oceanfront room. As long as we didn't look down to the left or right on our balcony...we didn't have to see the mess of what was surrounding the hotel. Not much Hampton Inn can do about that. It's just the way it is.
- there was always enough parking. Never an issue.
- there is a representative in the lobby for a time share appointment with Hilton Grand Vacations. Do NOT get sucked in to see it unless you have over 3 hours to waste. It definitely was not the 90 minutes they promised it would be.

Overall...I think we definitely would consider this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
2 Thank beachwed04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We got a 2 room ocean front suite here for a week and had a great time. The kids enjoyed the multiple pools especially the river pool. There was a kitchenette for meals and plenty of room for a family of 5. Wonderful sitting on the balcony watching the waves and hearing them at night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
2 Thank babynurse57719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff was nice and very helpful. Breakfast was far from good the bagel toppers were terrible at best with nothing else warm to eat we went off site for breakfast. The room was a little small but do able. The hotel is not close to anything so expect to drive to eat
The lack of an onsite lounge was not the best idea nowhere within 2 or 3 blocks to get a drink if you are so inclined. The pool area was well taken care of as well as the city owned beach the only problem there was they put up chairs and umbrellas so there was really no place to sit on the beach unless you paid! I probably would not return unless the rates were much lower.

Room Tip: any thing on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank emanon441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

First I would like to mention Ginny at the frontdesk put customer service to the highest level. I have been to several resorts in Myrtle Beach. This place is right down the street from the boardwalk that has rides, attractions, putt putt golf, etc. Walking distance. I must say I was so impressed with the cleaniness of this waterfront resort, the staff couldn't of been any nicer. The 2 bedroom suite we had was exceptionally clean, the lazy river was very clean, all the lounge chairs were nicely cleaned and the pool area was clean every night. They serve you a wonderful breakfast that includes fresh hot items everyday. This place is overall just gorgeous and they really do take the time to make sure their guests are well taken care of. I even met a gentlemen in the elevator who stated they were being moved since their A/C had just gone out. The staff wasted no time getting his party relocated. I will return to this location and highly recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Must also include that with your sliding window closed you really can't hear anything from outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank Cecebrat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We went to the hotel and had such a good time we are going back next year with all the grandkids. The staff is friendly, the rooms are lovely and clean and the location is great. We enjoyed ourselves at the pool and wandered to the ocean everyday. It td a bit pricey but you do get what you pay for

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moseley, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here late July and could not be better. Hotel ,room , staff and breakfast could not be better. We have not visited myrtle beach in a number of years , while the kids went through college and from the reviews the locations we had always stayed before were now old and rundown. First visit to the Hampton Oceanfront and will be back next year. Free breakfast is great and hotel room, king oceanfront, was perfect for our week stay. Stayed here because of reviews and right across street from Spring House Restaurant a favorite breakfast location. Never went Spring House, free breakfast at Hampton too good to pass up. Not like most, they have a different main item everyday. The bar and grill next to pool was great stop for lunch and drinks. If not for my wife's shopping sprees and my couple days of golf almost no reason to leave hotel. Only thing missing is dinner restaurant and bar in hotel, like there is not plenty places to eat. Overall we'll worth the money and could not have been happier with stay . Thank you to all the staff . See you next summer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
10.0 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
7.6 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway at The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing