We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would think long and hard before going here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would think long and hard before going here again”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Myrtle beach is a nice small town on the Atlantic coast in south carolina Most people here seem to be retirees and some college kids on spring break. Here on business though. The hotel has it's good points and bad points so my average rating. The new tower has better electronics than the old tower. This hotel has two towers. My colleagues room looked outdated and was in the old tower. No fancy gadgets in his room.The lobby area has alot of wood. Reminds me old coffee days in wyoming looking out at the ranch but here it is the beach. Nice lobby chairs and seating. Something you would not expect at a typical hampton inn. You can relax in the lobby if you get time and have free coffee or tea. Good stuff. The business center is randomly shut down without prior notice on the website or via email to customers which is a bit annoying if you planned to not bring your laptop and use the business center and printer. But they try to accomidate you for boarding pass printing and stuff like that. But the staff at the front desk really destroyed the experience. When nobody is waiting and I asked one front desk staffer to print he made a big deal out of it. What the hell am I supposed to do when your business center is closed and i want to print my boarding pass. And you are acting like I am a burden on your time. The reception desk has at least 2 to 3 computers and if nobody is line why not be nice to the customer and be helpful. The breakfast at the hotel is a hit or miss. If you are looking for a very basic basic meal. Mostly carbs and pretty same every day. Very bland. But with a hampton inn you cannot expect much. This is not five star but you would think with a top rating on trip advisor for the whole city the hotel would try to have some more healthy and balanced breakfast options or at least change the menu every few days. You can expect some potatoes, eggs, bread, cereal, juice, milk, water and tiny waffles and oatmeal. Which if your are staying for a longer time frame can get a bit boring and unhealthy.
The beach is located right infront of the hotel. It is a road called ocean street or something where all the beach front hotels in this town are. So you just walk out of the hotel and onto the beach which is nice as far as location and venue goes. Over all the staff is hit or miss. A lady called ginny was very helpful, gracious and friendly, she was at the front desk. A black lady at the front desk was kind of not very friendly and nervous all the time. Any time you asked her for anything she would not make a decision and say i will ask my manager and get back to you.but she would never get back to you. Very tentative, but not bad. A front desk staffer called andrew was the worst. This guy was really horrible. Very disrespectful and mean spirited and very very bad with customer service. I read another review on here and it is very accurate. He would give us every reason as to why something could not be done rather than solve problems. We called him mr. NO by the end of the trip. It is best to avoid him if you want anything. Unless he is related to management i do not get it why would you have him on payroll. The rooms are spacious in the new tower. The balcony views are good and it is a nice day outside you can really enjoy sitting in the balcony and watch the ocean. The towels near the pool exit/entrance area need to be stocked more frequently. Some times we could go and this big huge area right next to the door which was supposed to have at least 40 towels going by the space , we would see like one or two. Also the housekeeping staff need to be told that when a few customers are in the elevator, not to come in with the huge housekeeping cart but wait for the next available elevator. What is the hurry shees. So the hotel has its up and downs. So my average rating.

Room Tip: Avoid andrew at the front desk, get a new tower room, check if the business center is working in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank raphegardino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,873
    597
    168
    56
    25
See reviews for
1,214
868
58
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This Hampton Inn, unlike most, is a hi rise with beautiful views of the ocean, and an outstanding pool area. Definitely more upscale than all the normal roadside ones that I normally stay at when traveling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for families, great location.

Spotless, all rooms have ocean view.

Will stay again
Close to Opry and great shopping.
One the beach for lovely walks.
Four indoor and four outdoor pools with lazy river.
Quiet.

Breakfast includes hot and cold.

Helpful concierge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank kathles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My Family of 45 Stayed here in March. Too cold to swim, but the hotel has right on the beach and we had a awesome view of the beach/ocean from the 10th floor balcony. We splurged on 2 bedroom suite so my teenagers could have separate rooms - pricey but worth it for our situation. Carpet was a little worn in the halls but the room was fresh and new throughout. Beds were very comfortable and the floor was quite despite being two doors from the elevator. The Elevator it self was a little annoying as there were only two in each tower and they were rather slow and sure to stop two or three times on each trip. Hampton Inn typically has a pretty good free breakfast and this one is no different - waffle iron, eggs, potatoes, pastries. fruit, cereal, oatmeal, 24hr coffee etc. With separate breakfast rooms in each tower it was not over crowded in the mornings and the free breakfast helps make up for the cost of the room. We snagged some extra bagels and feed them to the seaguls from out balony. With 6 pools - indoor and out, some kiddy, some adult, and two "lazy rivers" this a really great place for families with kids. There is so much to do in Myrtle beach we didn't have time for swimmimg pools but they were clean and looked like fun. Staff was awesome and very helpful to get us batteries for our camera and directions anywhere we went. Parking garage is a huge benefit since parking near the beach is next to impossible. Even though the hotel was full we had no problem finding a parking space. We stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we go to Myrtle, we usually stay in North Myrtle to avoid the sketchyness that the boardwalk area has turned in to. We came for Spring break and chose to stay in Myrtle because it was closer to Broadway. The pictures made me weary, but the trip advisor reviews kept our reservation. We usually stay at Hilton property's but chose not to because of the daily parking charges and Internet charges. This hotel did not disappoint in any function. The rooms were extremely clean and modernized. The breakfast was more than fine for being free. The value is great and this hotel is much nicer than those that surround it. Wouldn't stay any where else if staying in Myrtle.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wow, there's a reason it's #1...talk about luxury!...everything is perfectly beautiful, from the decor in the lobbies, to the verandas, the guest rooms and the outside and inside hot pools and huge jacuzzis, it's like being in a spa, fresh linens if you like each day, plus they go green for lots of things too, nice people to meet, card players at night after supper, wine on the oceanfront balconies, people celebrating something, lots of stuff for kids to do as well, the breakfast area is fabulous with a huge variety available, I've never seen a free breakfast so good before, you'll never have to pay out again, biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, waffles, pastries, fruit salad, bananas, apples, 6 different cereals, yogurt, 3 juices, oatmeal which was delish with pecans and raisans and brown sugar on the side, bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and grits my favorite! haha And the nicest staff i think i have ever met, ever! the front desk, maintenance guys, porters, cleaners, so so nice! They are a credit to their manager Tom. Forget the Ritz, stay here and relax, walk the beach, get some nice shells, dolphin sightings too, and the dinner shows are very close by as well as the airport which is like, right up the street i liked that!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gailslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family and I always stay here for our trips to the beach and we always have a pleasant stay. The staff are great, the breakfast is good and there is free coffee all day. This is a beachfront property with great views from the balcony. Noise is very rarely an issue, but to be fair, we usually stay here during the off season. During our last visit we were bumped up from a room with two queen beds to a two bedroom suite with full kitchen at no extra charge because we are Hilton Honors members. The only reason I would not give this an excellent rating is because there is some evidence of wear that should be addressed soon.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosslindsa, Owner at Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We love having you as our guests, and thank you for noting the "wear" on some of the guest room furniture. Maintenance on an oceanfront resort is a 24-7 job, but we are on it! We try to have all routine maintenance, including replacing any worn furniture, completed by June 1 of each year, the kick-off of our peak season and occupancy. BTW: April and May and September and October are the best kept secrets in Myrtle Beach. The ocean is warm enough to swim in, and the weather is perfect; but the rates are half price! Come again soon. BTW, we hope to break ground May 1 on a new Homewood Suites Resort and Conference center next door to the Hampton, so we will have even more rooms and amenities to serve you.

Buddy Lindsay, Co-Owner
Hampton Inn & Suites Oceanfront Resort
Homewood Suites Resort & Conference Center (Opening June 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,649 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,044 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
5.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing