We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Guided Myrtle Beach Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, your trusted, locally owned and operated Myrtle Beach watersports outfitter. It's time to experience the ride of your life! Fun for all ages and a perfect summer activity. Come surf, stand-up paddleboard, or kayak the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with the best instructors on the beach! We also offer Myrtle Beach surfboard, paddleboard, and kayak rentals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Great staff, had my 9 year old surfing in minutes and me and my wife as well,

This was our first time surfing and we are hooked, came back a couple days later and rented boards,

Relaxing atmosphere and excellent instruction.

1  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Right on! So stoked y’all picked up the the same passion as the rest of the Jack’s crew. Y’all were great out there and we hope to see you back in the lineup. Happy summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour lesson"
in 14 reviews
"private lesson"
in 13 reviews
"learn how"
in 11 reviews
"called jack"
in 5 reviews
"riding waves"
in 5 reviews
"great instructor"
in 10 reviews
"paddle board tour"
in 4 reviews
"learned how"
in 4 reviews
"sunset tour"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 14 reviews
"springmaid pier"
in 5 reviews
"waccamaw river"
in 8 reviews
"super fun"
in 6 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
"these guys"
in 4 reviews
"the east coast"
in 4 reviews
"bucket list"
in 4 reviews
Filter

189 - 193 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We book a 2 hour surf lesson for our two teens, 16 and 17. Although we had booked a photo package the photographer had to cancel but we were refunded that money immediately.
Jack (the owner) was the instructor.
Very patient, answered questions, gave lots of fun side information and very personable. My daughter was up and surfing in no time. My son took a bit longer but Jack kept encouraging him.
We would definately HIGHLY recommend. Great experience.

1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you guys for coming out and showing us some love. We had a spectacular time watching them pop up and ride that wave in to the beach. They did great out there so they better keep surfing. Enjoy your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

First of all when making initial reservation Jack worked with me to do a time that we thought would work around other plans for day. Then when time came for our lesson we were running an hour late due to our parasailing reservation running way over instead of telling me to bad no refund and have a nice day he called his guy who agreed to stick around and still give us our full lesson. Which made our day!! So i would recommend them if you want a surf lesson in Myrtle Beach! Instructor Lance was was cool and knowledgable also and a big thank you to him for sticking around even with all the jellyfish!!!

1  Thank fitz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

That’s awesome guys, we are stoked you had a great time and got to ride some waves. Y’all were amazing out there and surfed like naturals in no time. We hope to see you out again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016

My husband & son (11years) took a 2 hour lesson with Lance. He was great, very positive and upbeat!! My husband had surfed before years ago, but this was the first time for our son. Our son has had vision & coordination issues so he sometimes struggles with his confidence. Lance had him standing on the board in about 30 minutes and I think he was as excited to see him standing as we were. Our son wanted surfing lessons for his birthday present & Lance helped make it a super positive experience. I would HIGHLY recommend them. And, as a bonus our son was exhausted after 2 hours surfing.
The lessons are in about 5 feet of water so it's not too deep for kids. Definitely take your camera, sunscreen, and water. The instructors work for tips, so be generous. Lance definitely earned every penny.

2  Thank 880karyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

They did a fantastic job out there, surfed like naturals. We are so happy y’all had a great time and got to enjoy the stoke. We can’t thank you enough for taking your time to leave a nice review. Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic time my grandchildren have had for the last five summers surfing. Every summer they want to repeat their lessons. The team is awesome, and spend quality time with group lessons. They are always reassuring them, making them feel safe, and letting them know they are getting good at this. The prices are reasonable, and my grandchildren who never felt experienced enough to surf by themselves have now reached that confidence level, they now rent surfboards alot when we go to the beach. Thank you to Jack and your team. See you next summer. Thanks for being such a great part of lasting memories.

Debi , Skyler and David

Thank OnAir637901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to show us some love, our crew really appreciates it. We are beyond pumped that you guys love surfing and are keeping up with it. There’s not many better things to be doing. We hope to see y’all out here for many summer to come. Thanks again for coming out and having a blast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing