We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals
from $55.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $174.90
More Info
from $56.42
More Info
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
467
18
2
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
467
18
2
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lesson learning how super fun awesome experience a lot of fun jacks instructor waves surfed blast kayak beginners session shore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 495 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We book a 2 hour surf lesson for our two teens, 16 and 17. Although we had booked a photo package the photographer had to cancel but we were refunded that money immediately.
Jack (the owner) was the instructor.
Very patient, answered questions, gave lots of fun side information and very personable. My daughter was up and surfing in no time. My son took a bit longer but Jack kept encouraging him.
We would definately HIGHLY recommend. Great experience.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank amymN3977DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you guys for coming out and showing us some love. We had a spectacular time watching them pop up and ride that wave in to the beach. They did great out there so they better keep surfing. Enjoy your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

First of all when making initial reservation Jack worked with me to do a time that we thought would work around other plans for day. Then when time came for our lesson we were running an hour late due to our parasailing reservation running way over instead of telling me to bad no refund and have a nice day he called his guy who agreed to stick around and still give us our full lesson. Which made our day!! So i would recommend them if you want a surf lesson in Myrtle Beach! Instructor Lance was was cool and knowledgable also and a big thank you to him for sticking around even with all the jellyfish!!!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank fitz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

That’s awesome guys, we are stoked you had a great time and got to ride some waves. Y’all were amazing out there and surfed like naturals in no time. We hope to see you out again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016

My husband & son (11years) took a 2 hour lesson with Lance. He was great, very positive and upbeat!! My husband had surfed before years ago, but this was the first time for our son. Our son has had vision & coordination issues so he sometimes struggles with his confidence. Lance had him standing on the board in about 30 minutes and I think he was as excited to see him standing as we were. Our son wanted surfing lessons for his birthday present & Lance helped make it a super positive experience. I would HIGHLY recommend them. And, as a bonus our son was exhausted after 2 hours surfing.
The lessons are in about 5 feet of water so it's not too deep for kids. Definitely take your camera, sunscreen, and water. The instructors work for tips, so be generous. Lance definitely earned every penny.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank 880karyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

They did a fantastic job out there, surfed like naturals. We are so happy y’all had a great time and got to enjoy the stoke. We can’t thank you enough for taking your time to leave a nice review. Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic time my grandchildren have had for the last five summers surfing. Every summer they want to repeat their lessons. The team is awesome, and spend quality time with group lessons. They are always reassuring them, making them feel safe, and letting them know they are getting good at this. The prices are reasonable, and my grandchildren who never felt experienced enough to surf by themselves have now reached that confidence level, they now rent surfboards alot when we go to the beach. Thank you to Jack and your team. See you next summer. Thanks for being such a great part of lasting memories.

Debi , Skyler and David

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank OnAir637901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to show us some love, our crew really appreciates it. We are beyond pumped that you guys love surfing and are keeping up with it. There’s not many better things to be doing. We hope to see y’all out here for many summer to come. Thanks again for coming out and having a blast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Lance did a great job teaching my wife and teenaged daughter the basics of surfing. The weather was a bit rough for us noobies, but we all managed to get up at least once even if it was only for a few seconds. The lessons were for two hours but we were all exhausted after about an hour. LOL If you're over 40, then I would recommend doing lots of push ups for a couple weeks prior to doing this in preparation! It's a work out, but fun.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 233DougR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you guys so much for taking the time to show us some love. Y’all did great out there and we hope you keep up with it. Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews