We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best professional surfing lessons”

Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Guided Myrtle Beach Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, your trusted, locally owned and operated Myrtle Beach watersports outfitter. It's time to experience the ride of your life! Fun for all ages and a perfect summer activity. Come surf, stand-up paddleboard, or kayak the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with the best instructors on the beach! We also offer Myrtle Beach surfboard, paddleboard, and kayak rentals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic time my grandchildren have had for the last five summers surfing. Every summer they want to repeat their lessons. The team is awesome, and spend quality time with group lessons. They are always reassuring them, making them feel safe, and letting them know they are getting good at this. The prices are reasonable, and my grandchildren who never felt experienced enough to surf by themselves have now reached that confidence level, they now rent surfboards alot when we go to the beach. Thank you to Jack and your team. See you next summer. Thanks for being such a great part of lasting memories.

Debi , Skyler and David

Thank OnAir637901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to show us some love, our crew really appreciates it. We are beyond pumped that you guys love surfing and are keeping up with it. There’s not many better things to be doing. We hope to see y’all out here for many summer to come. Thanks again for coming out and having a blast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour lesson"
in 14 reviews
"private lesson"
in 13 reviews
"learn how"
in 11 reviews
"called jack"
in 5 reviews
"riding waves"
in 5 reviews
"great instructor"
in 10 reviews
"paddle board tour"
in 4 reviews
"learned how"
in 4 reviews
"sunset tour"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 14 reviews
"springmaid pier"
in 5 reviews
"waccamaw river"
in 8 reviews
"super fun"
in 6 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
"these guys"
in 4 reviews
"the east coast"
in 4 reviews
"bucket list"
in 4 reviews
Filter

193 - 197 of 356 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2016

Lance did a great job teaching my wife and teenaged daughter the basics of surfing. The weather was a bit rough for us noobies, but we all managed to get up at least once even if it was only for a few seconds. The lessons were for two hours but we were all exhausted after about an hour. LOL If you're over 40, then I would recommend doing lots of push ups for a couple weeks prior to doing this in preparation! It's a work out, but fun.

Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you guys so much for taking the time to show us some love. Y’all did great out there and we hope you keep up with it. Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We had a great time. We went out on the 2hr sunrises paddle board tour. I would recommend this, if you have a water proof camera I would bring it. Also when I called Jack was very helpful and the instructor was great.

Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

We are stoked y’all had a nice and peaceful time. The river is a great place to be to watch the sunrise, that’s for sure. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a nice review, it is much appreciated. The crew hopes you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

Johnny was excellent! Great experience for three 1st time surfers . My daughter (19), son (17), and I (49) all got up and road all the way to the beach. Johnny was getting stung constantly by jellyfish but he stuck it out for us. Highly recommend the two hour lesson. I went to Jacks based on the online reviews which are universally excellent.

1  Thank 773td1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Owner at Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

That’s awesome! We are pumped you got to experience the true stoke of riding a wave in for the first time, its an amazing feeling. Y’all did a great job and we hope to see you again if you’re ever back in Myrtle. Thanks for coming out and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Paddle boarding not an activity to book in advance. In the future I would only try on good weather day with calm winds and waves.

Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Jack's Surf Lessons and Board Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing