We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New South Brewing

New South Brewing
Ranked #16 of 116 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We have a big green fence out front. We now offer Draught Pours and retail sales on Tuesday - Friday 4:30-7:00ish. Due to production demand during our summer season, along with safety protocol, our full tour will run from Labor Day - Memorial Day. We will continue to run our virtual tour as well as random walking tours (after production) during our Draft Pour/retail hours.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gem!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We absolutely loved this place-- showed up before the opened, were greeted by the dog and one member of the friendly staff, explaining that we could come later in the day. We decided to return, and we are so glad we did. What a tour. The staff was so knowledgable and were able to break down the process to an understandable level. Not only that, but the beer was delicious. You can tell that the people working have a true passion for what they do. The operations manager was truly impressive!! This is a must-visit. We ended up staying for the second "tour", enjoying some pints, and leaving with some good six-packs and merch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank e_young1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    44
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best brewery in MB”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The best brewery in South Carolina. Roddy, Brock & Dave are the friendliest and most personable guys around. Stop in and see them; grab a growler (or 2) and six pack (or 4) while you're at the beach!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenNshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good beer at the beach”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love craft beer and enjoy touring breweries. We've been on several tours, and this was one of the best. Our tour guide, Rod, was knowledgeable, funny, and sober (which isn't a given based on other tours we've taken!). New South focuses on making beers that are tasty and true to style but also light enough for a day at the beach. The samples you get during the tour are pretty representative of their brews (White Ale, Nut Brown, and then we got a choice between porter, dry hopped lager which is their current specialty, red ale, or their IPA). Definitely worth the trip out here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pecanspin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best beer at the Beach”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I fell in love with this local beer a few years ago as it is served in many of the local restaurants, often as the restaurants own. Kept hearing the name New South when I would ask who brewed it. Was super happy to find out that they brew it right there in the heart of Myrtle Beach, and even happier when I took the tour this summer. The tour is about 45 mins., it is educational and a lot of fun. It is free and it is a tasting tour. The tours are currently offered Tues and Thurs @ 3:00, And you can buy souvenirs (beer) after the tour is over. Great fun for over 21's!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Beer”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great Tour & Amazing Beer! Awesome staff! Love the Red, Lily the Great, Dark Star Porter. Nut Brown & Pale Ale are available at most local grocery stores.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetScenePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New South Brewing also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to New South Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing