We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good but nothing to jump at”

Hana Teppanyaki House
Ranked #143 of 876 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Japanese Cuisine at affordable prices; everything is freshly prepared.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good but nothing to jump at”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I feel as though we may have hit up the Hana Teppanyaki House at the wrong time. We read wonderful reviews about their food however, it all seemed about average to me. The decor was very lovely as was the plating but nothing really jumped out at us. Service was nice. Our waitress kept our drinks filled & would check in on us regularly. The food was good but as said, nothing unique about the taste. Don't get me wrong, we would eat here again & hopefully if/when we do we will experience what everyone else has with them.

TLDR: Food was good, Service was nice. Overall an alright place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysLoveLorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    62
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second visit to this restaurant. We had a large group, but the food and service were outstanding. All the meals were timely served hot by friendly wait staff. The hostess was cordial and the food was ample in portion and tasty. The interior is not fancy and the location is a little tricky to find but is well worth the effort. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good oriental cuisine in the Myrtle Beach area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

While I reviewed this restaurant about 6 months ago, I wanted to say we returned and things were still as outstanding as they were on our first visit. The food was great, the staff was friendly and the price was very reasonable. It's comforting to see the rating is sustainable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Atmosphere, Reasonable Price. A True gem!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

finding a good Chinese Restaurant in Myrtle Beach is like a major crap shoot. Many are buffet style and in a word terrible. We gave up after trying five places in the past three years. We also love Japanese and read about Hana on this site. The raves are truly justified.

Finding this place on a GPS is not possible, even if you have a new one like we do. Hana has been in business more than three years. After two tries we found it by going to the intersection of Grissom and river Oaks. When you see the Food Lion Supermarket on your left you are there. We like to dine early so we got to take advantage of the early bird Terriyaki Chicken dinner for about $8.00. Couple this with the Happy Hour domestic beer of your choice deal for $1.50 and you eat well for $10.00 a head. This includes a choice of Soup or Salad. We opted for the salad with ginger dressing....YUM!

We walked out happily full. The place is as antiseptic as a hospital. Many places in Myrtle are not at all as clean. The Hana Teppanyaki House will be our choice for Oriental dining while in Myrtle Beach. If you choose to ignore my warning and use your GPS you will wind up in a nice housing development about five miles from Hana. Pull out of the development make a right and in 5 or so miles the Food Lion will appear on you right. Don't miss Hana when you are in Myrtle!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pcloverva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsy., VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great again this year!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited Hana last year because it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor and we loved it! This year we made a point to eat there again and It was just as good. There were four in our party and we ALL enjoyed our meals and our sever was great. It is so nice to know that a restaurant can be consistently great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy-in-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Teppanyaki House also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hana Teppanyaki House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing