We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be better if the maids did a good job...”
Review of Aqua Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Beach Inn
Ranked #49 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Would be better if the maids did a good job...”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here four days. Here is my summary.

The Front Desk
The front desk staff were a little slow with check-in but they're nice ladies, though. You can get more towels and toiletries at the front desk. Check out was fast, too.

The Room
The room itself is spacey and clean. The bathroom looks remodeled and the sheets and comforter look and feel similar to a Hampton Inn or Courtyard Marriott. The water pressure is good. The toiletries smell good.

All rooms come with a kitchenette that also looks modern and has dishes and utensils. I heard you get charged if they aren't cleaned though, even a glass. They have full fridges so you can load up on groceries but the only trash in the small one in the bathroom.

I think our room neighbors some hicks or teens, but I only heard them talking for about ten minutes. Maybe if we put a towel down by the divider it may help. They tried to open our connected door a few times. Jerks. There are a lot of reckless teenage boys here this week.

The room decor seems nice. The TV is a little small though and not placed central to the bed.

The "Ocean Facing View"
There is a balcony and you can see the ocean. By ocean view I think it meant ocean facing. Yes, all 60 guest rooms face the ocean, however most of the view I see is of buildings across the street but the low rises allow you to see some ocean. I get a gross view of the trash from the building in front and the roar of the air conditioner units causing extra heat.

The Atmosphere
At night there is a lot of noise outside until about 1AM because of the amusement rides, but the noise drops down considerably afterwards, but I'm here on a weekday. The area is densely populated. I didn't realize that when I made the reservation. This is definitely not the remote area I was thinking it could be.

The Rate
I actually am here on a Living Social travel deal for $99/night but didn't realize there is an add on resort fee that comes to about $42 every two days.

The Free Internet
Ah yes, and the spotty Internet connection leaves much to be desired. Tethering my phone is the best way to go here.

The Elevator
Another big downside is although I am at the end of the hall, I can still hear the murmur of the elevator every time it's in use. The walls aren't thick. Also, don't plan on using the elevator much. Since there is only one and 11 floors of people with 60 guest rooms, it won't be of use. Maids and guests alike share this so forget about it in the morning.

The "Minimal" Maid Service
On day two I noticed the maid service did a minimal job. They made the bed and put some towels together in the bathroom. I'm not sure what else. They didn't clean the toilet, sink surface or shower. They didn't vacuum. There were no new toiletries, still some trash, like the soap wrapper not thrown away and the tub had dirty cloths in it. I guess you have to make it super obvious if you want them to change your towels.

To get them to change the towels I had to pile them all in a heap outside my door. Otherwise, they'll leave them hanging, crumbled, whatever.

They'll leave trash left on the tub unless you throw it away yourself in the one trash can.

On the fourth day I finally asked the maid if she'll clean the toliets and the shower, and if she'd vaccum. She said if they really need it she can. So keep in mind this is not standard to clean your toilets and showers.

Also, they may forget to give you a full towel load. The last night we washed ourselves with hand towels because they never gave us wash cloths.


The Grounds
The grounds of the area aren't well maintained. My boyfriend stepped into a shard of glass washing his feet by the pool. There is a trash smell from the dumpsters behind the buildings near the overflow parking and people also leave trash everywhere. The location is in walking distance of many things, though.

SOME HINTS

Here are some hints if you stay here to enhance your experience.

1. Get an end unit room on the South side. Better view.
2. Leave a message if you want towels changed, toilet cleaned, tub cleaned, or any other service you may think should come with the room.
3. Wear sandals when washing your feet by the pool.
4. Run your AC to muffle the elevator.
5. Get a higher room to avoid elevator sounds but you need to be ok waiting awhile for the elevator or really like stairs; otherwise get an room lower down and don't depend on the elevator.
6. Know that this is a densely populated area with a lot of junk food and smoking, and trash, and be ok with that.
7. Wash all kitchen stuff thoroughly.
8. Keep in mind the resort fee.
9. Don't depend on their Internet.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevator on the south side. You'll still hear the elevator but not as ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jenssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. As we are centrally located in down town Myrtle Beach it is very populated in July, which is the middle of out busy season. We do apologize for any gap in the housekeeping service that you received and will look into the issues you have presented. We do not charge guests that leave one dirty glass in their room. Also, if towels are hanging up we do not change them as we have a notice in all units the if guest would like to help conserve resources if they hang their towels we will leave them and if you would like them changed just leave them on the floor and we will replace them. As for the dumpster, that is property of the city and is used by several business. We have contacted the city about the issues with it that you have brought up. We hope that you decide to visit the Aqua Beach Inn if you return to the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    199
    79
    19
    31
See reviews for
214
150
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our second and last stay. Room was dirty, no towels, had to ask for room service. Rooms and elevators have a musty smell. Had to ask for something to mask the smell in our room. Room service is horrible. Great location with poor service. Stayed July 22-28. Checked out early due to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Huneyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are so sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We have taken all of your comments and have passed them on to the correct department heads so that we can better our property. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed last June 22 2012 x 4 days.The first thing that my 15 yr old daughter said that she loved this hotel. This was our fourth time in Myrtle beach and so far this hotel was the best in location even though its not oceanfront. We were in 11th floor ,the hotel has only one elevator but we have no problem using the stairs.The room we had was so clean which was very important to me.We will go back again Otis hotel next time and I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank indring318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the central location of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We initially booked a room by the 2nd Avenue Pier but after check in discovered the room to be a total dump. Got our money back and the Aqua Beach Inn was recommended by the guys at Mammy's Kitchen. The rooms were 100% better for the same price. Thank you for accommodating my family and for making our trip a great one. We will stay here again the next time we come to the beach. Thank you!

Room Tip: Corner units have more space for larger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are so glad that we could help make your vacation an enjoyable one. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We were thrilled with our hotel selection for our first trip to Myrtle Beach (July 10-12)! We had taken advantage of a Living Social deal I had received for a quick getaway. The pictures from the website were what we got, which is defintely not always the case with hotels. The location was perfect, we walked everywhere! The staff was extremely friendly & the room was great. One downside was that the hairdryer was not functioning, possibly the outlet (room 305), but this was not a big deal. We did have a few noisy neighbors the first night, but kinda expect that at the beach. Would definitely stay here again, as we were sad to leave after only 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julemat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the central location of the property. We appreciate that you took the time to let others know of your experience. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Aqua Beach Inn from 6/23/12 through 6/29/12. We, consists of me, my husband and our two boys (ages 5 and 16). This was trip planned for our 16 year olds birthday. Typically, we stay on the north end, but we wanted to be in the middle of all the action for this trip. What a great pick! The prices at The Aqua Beach are very reasonable for this area. Our room was spotless, and comfortable. Robin (at the front desk) was awesome, and had lots of great advice for us. We were able to walk to everything that we were interested in. The beach was across the street, Boardwalk too. SkyWheel was awesome! Slingshot ride was on the corner, and of course Ripley's attractions and the arcade were just down the street. But, back to the hotel...The Good...price, location, cleanliness, friendly employees, free parking, clean pool area with BBQ and plenty of seating, kitchenette was well stocked, comfy beds, great view, fresh decor, and Snack Market...The Bad...One elevator for 60 rooms...The low down...The elevator might be an issue to some people, but it wasn't for us. We never had to wait for more than a couple of minutes. There are two parking lots, one is adjacent to the property across a small alley. It's well lit, and we had no problems in either lot. This hotel is not for the "Peace and quiet" crowd. It's in the busiest part of town, so you can expect a lot of noise from the street, but we enjoyed it! It was fun to people watch from our balcony (sometimes until 1am). Anytime I want to stay "in the thick of it" I will choose the Aqua Beach Inn. We loved it! P.S. Just for fun we counted out of state license plates in the front parking lot, there were 13 and 2 from Canada. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 604, so our pictures are all shot from that room. Executive rooms offer an additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginasettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Regina,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Aqua Beach Inn. The central location is very convenient and we are glad it was benificial to your stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Beach Inn and look forward to serving you on your next stay in the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I just got back from staying at this hotel. We book the so called Executive Suite. Upon opening the door to the "suite" we were greeted by a stained sofa and a very dirty and red stained carpet. Thank goodness the kitchenette, beds and bathroom were clean; however we couldn't get towels without hair or yellow and black spots to save our life. On our last evening there we got towels that were wet. I thought it was weird that when we brought the stained carpet to the attention of one of the ladies at the front desk she said, "I know exactly what room that is and we have been unable to get those stains out. We will probably have to replace the carpet, later of course" - really. We were also unable to turn on the back eye of the stovetop; the mattresses on the beds need to be replaced; and a tv in the room with the sofa would be nice (according to that same lady at the front desk "adding another tv would increase the room price"). I will say that the staff was nice and provided us with new towels or missing items once requested. It is also very close to the beach and boardwalk for the price, but we'll try another hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank talk2thehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will take all of your comments under advisement. We appriciate you letting us know where we are lacking so that we can better our property. We hope that you offer us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,788 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
682 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Beach Inn

Property: Aqua Beach Inn
Address: 1301 Withers Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Beach Inn is located in the heart of Myrtle Beach across from the 14th Ave Pier, the Boardwalk and the ocean. All guest rooms have spectacular ocean views, fully equipped kitchens and balconies. Enjoy our outdoor pool and hot tub, along with our Grille and Picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Groupon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing