We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast & good. Service and food.”
Review of Nacho Hippo

Nacho Hippo
Ranked #61 of 894 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nacho Hippo is a Mexican style Cantina with full menu of unique nachos, tacos,Quesadillas and more. full bar service. live music with indoor and outdoor dining.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fast & good. Service and food.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Ate here while visiting Marketplace Commons and, overall, we weren't disappointed.

Limited menu but the portions aren't. The staff was friendly (Katelin was our server and she did a great job. Very attentive but not overly pushy. She made up for all of the negatives.) The atmosphere was what you would expect and decor traditional. It wasn't crowded the day we were there. The food was tasty and quick from the kitchen.

The only negative from this visit was the male host who brought us menus. He never spoke a word. No greeting, no mention that our waiter/waitress would see us momentarily, nothing. I guess that was better than being snarky.

Give this place a try and let us know what you think.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    275
    115
    62
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just ate at Nacho Hippo for the first time yesterday. Can't wait to go back today! The food was wonderful, and the $3 margaritas are a great deal. The place has a wonderful atmosphere and the service is fast and friendly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best nachos in the world!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nacho Hippo has the best nachos I've ever tasted. Hot, fresh, and crispy with your choice of toppings. You can make your entire meal off a platter of nachos, so unless you're super hungry, don't bother ordering an entree.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank will1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed big time”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We came here because all the reviews seemed so good. We left very disappointed. Ordered the guacamole chips to start with a side of salsa. It was ok. Salsa came in a tiny ramekin for $.95. Then I got the sloppy burrito with chicken. It was very big but chicken was very dry inside & hardley any sauce on top. We also got the hippo nachos. Chips were burnt hardley any cheese. My husband got 2 tacos . He asked for some more salsa 2 tiny ramekins later each $.95 again. We found ourselves picking through everything. A huge disappointment. Service was ok. We won't be back.i hate places that nickel & dime you. Really $2.85 total for salsa at a Mexican place- no salsa is included?
Skip this place!would rather spent $50 somewhere else. Mind you we didn't have any alcohol drinks & had a coupon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I and another couple tried this restaurant one evening during the week. It was not crowded at all. They had the garage doors open and we sat outside enjoying the Fall evening. Other reviewers have mentioned the portions are big and they are. The four of us ordered a plate of Nachos and two fish tacos. The Nachos alone would have been plenty of food for the four of us. I really enjoyed the place. I thought the Nachos were some of the best I had ever had. The bill with drinks came to slightly under $30.00 for the four of us. That is a pretty cheap meal for Myrtle Beach. I will definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nacho Hippo also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nacho Hippo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing