We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient to grand atlantic hotel”

Mako's Oceanfront Bar and Grill
Ranked #117 of 870 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“convenient to grand atlantic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

this was a handy little bar/grill right next to the grand atlantic hotel where we stayed. you could go there easily for a snack or a drink right on the beachfront. the food was very good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hallon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    96
    48
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stoughton,ma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good drinks, good wings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

On a recent visit we were staying closeby and were looking for quick bite and drinks in a v casual place that we could walk to. We arrived 1/2 hr before happy hour ended and our waitress came fairly quickly so we could take advantage of 4$ frozen drinks.(which were a bargain). If you sit outside on the decks, you'll be sitting at picnic table style seating, not the most comfortable, but again its a beach bar . As stated by other reviewers the deck is weathered and may not be the prettiest place, but the prices and views make up for it. We ordered buffalo wings which were very good, sandwiches and taco salads ( my taco salad had chicken and was very good). We never made it back but can imagine it would be a great place to pop up from the beach to get out of the sun and grab a cold one

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skier133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and View of the Ocean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were walking down the beach and saw Makos and thought we would stop in for some lunch and drinks!!! I'm glad we did! We sat outside on the upper deck....What a view!! The bar and outside eating area is rather small but it never seemed to get too crowded as people came and went at different times. There is also a large indoor seating area as well. We ordered lunch and it was really good. The salsa is homemade! Our waitress Jesse was extremely friendly and she gave us excellent service! She made our visit very enjoyable and we would definitely go back to see her. After lunch, we had a couple drinks at the bar....it was happy hour at that time. Every day 4-7. Great specials. We had the pleasure of meeting Ali and Heather at the bar. Great service from them as well! All around great place and we will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was connected to the hotel we stayed at and was very convenient for lunch and drinks. The food was superb and and the staff was very nice. The live entertainment was very fun while at the pool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inconsistent drinks. Great Fried Pickles.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We sought this place out due to the reviews on tripadvisor. Overall we were disappointed. The food was good and plentiful but they charge extra for any type of special requests. My daughter said the fried pickles were the best she ever had. My husaband ordered two margaritas. The first was good. The second one it tasted like they forgot to put in the tequila. They told us it was becuase they did not put a splash of OJ in the second one. I doubt this is true. We know what tequila taste like :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaD_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakosOceanfrontMB, Manager at Mako's Oceanfront Bar and Grill, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize that the drinks you ordered were inconsistent. I am making sure that all drinks by different bartenders are made to our high standards and consistency. I assure you that in the future if you return your drinks will be much better. I am glad you enjoyed all of your food and yes the fried pickles are awesome. Hopefully you will return in the future and thank you for your helpful criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mako's Oceanfront Bar and Grill also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mako's Oceanfront Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing